Author Topic: Carcassonne II: When can i get abbot back?  (Read 4130 times)

Offline sunnychan16

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Carcassonne II: When can i get abbot back?
« on: August 17, 2016, 07:34:24 AM »
According to the rule, does this mean I can ONLY get it back if:

I place a monastery or garden tile and not place a meeple
OR
I place any tile and not place a meeple

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2876.0

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: Carcassonne II: When can i get abbot back?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2016, 08:21:16 AM »
I place any tile and not place a meeple

This is the only correct option.

And, BTW, welcome to the forums! :D
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline sunnychan16

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne II: When can i get abbot back?
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2016, 07:33:39 PM »
I place any tile and not place a meeple

This is the only correct option.

And, BTW, welcome to the forums! :D


Thanks for the welcome and reply  :D

Well, the rule does indicate the following as action 2

Quote
2. Placing a meeple OR your abbot
When placing a tile with a monastery or a garden, you may place either a meeple or your abbot. The meeple is placed as usual whereas the abbot must be placed on the monastery or garden you’ve just placed.

And the rule for taking back abbot is stated as the following:

Quote
The abbot also has another special ability. On your turn during action 2 (Placing a meeple), if you decide not to place a meeple, you are allowed to take back your abbot.

which, to understand in context, it is referring to the action 2 that it just stated earlier.

So, to my understanding, abbot should only be allowed to return "When placing a tile with a monastery or a garden..." and not placing any meeple.

Offline Astargoth

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Merit: 3
  • I've updated my profile a bit!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne II: When can i get abbot back?
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2016, 08:50:03 PM »
As this is done during action 2 (which I take to be the deploy a follower phase), does that mean you could take back your abbot and then deploy your phantom? :)

Offline Fritz_Spinne

  • Authors
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 672
  • Merit: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne II: When can i get abbot back?
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2016, 11:19:32 AM »
As this is done during action 2 (which I take to be the deploy a follower phase), does that mean you could take back your abbot and then deploy your phantom? :)
I think YES


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?

Started by IrrationalDesign

8 Replies
2746 Views
Last post December 23, 2017, 06:58:15 AM
by IrrationalDesign
xx
You can move back a tile ?

Started by jma03

4 Replies
2706 Views
Last post March 03, 2015, 03:11:44 AM
by jma03
xx
You can't always get what you want...

Started by Danci

3 Replies
1614 Views
Last post January 11, 2017, 03:54:00 PM
by Danci
xx
can I get a Dispatch, please?

Started by aenima

3 Replies
1064 Views
Last post October 14, 2017, 12:02:33 AM
by aenima
xx
Where can I get old fan-expansions

Started by Den Ozzy

9 Replies
870 Views
Last post June 10, 2020, 01:09:32 PM
by Murphy013