Author Topic: Completing Roads and Cities that have not got any pieces in  (Read 3238 times)

Offline Nerdio

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Completing Roads and Cities that have not got any pieces in
« on: January 02, 2016, 10:20:15 AM »
We have played Carcassonne for a number of years but never been sure on the rules around completing something which does not have a piece already in it. (See the attachment).

What I mean here is, if there is a city, which has no knights in it, and you pick up a piece to complete it, can you complete the city, and take the points (effectively putting your piece in it as you lay it)? Similarly, and not so likely, you place a monastery in a ring of 8 pieces, can you take the 9 points? The same sort of things applies to roads.

We have always played the rule, if there are no pieces already assigned to the road, or city, and you complete it, then you cannot just take the points. But today for the first time we had the scenario with a monastery, and this did not quite fit with our 'rule'.

Does anyone have a clear view on this? Thanks in anticipation.



Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2296.0

Offline danisthirty

  • (not thirSty!)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6702
  • Merit: 264
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: Completing Roads and Cities that have not got any pieces in
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2016, 10:40:54 AM »
Hi Nerdio, welcome to the forums.

In answer to your question: YES!

Cities, road and cloisters are all scored after the tile has been placed which means you always have the opportunity to place a meeple in a feature you just completed with your current tile, unless of course it's already claimed by someone else (or yourself).

Hope this helps!

Dan

Offline jungleboy

  • Viscount Chevalier
  • ****
  • Posts: 3040
  • Merit: 89
  • Nine points!
    • View Profile
    • English in 10 Minutes
Re: Completing Roads and Cities that have not got any pieces in
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2016, 12:28:22 PM »
This rule also leads to everyone's (not really) favourite move, when you draw a useless FRRR tile that doesn't help you in any way: the old 'I'll just take the two-point road' trick.

I do think it's very interesting that this rule is not in force in the spin-off game Carcassonne: the City (i.e. you're not allowed to finish a feature and claim it with the closing tile). In the City, this is important because wall-building begins when someone scores points, so it means that you can't just sit back and take that two-point road whenever you want in order to start (and thereby control) wall-building. It's a really interesting aspect of the City because you need to plan your potential completions in advance, if that makes sense. I really like it for the City, but despite my partner's repeated attempts to get us to introduce this rule into Carcassonne proper, I have not cracked yet. 

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Completing Roads and Cities that have not got any pieces in
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2016, 01:36:17 PM »
In the BigBox 5 rule book you can find a frame with the rule - page 6 text in the frame:

Quote from: 'rule from zman games'
It is possible for a player to place a follower, score a road, a city or a monastery and see this same follower return into their supply on the same turn.
The order must always be as follows:
 1. Complete a road, a city or a monastery with the new tile.
 2. Place a thief, knight or monk.
 3. Score the completed road, city or monastery.
 4. Return the thief, knight or monk to its supply.

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2482
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Completing Roads and Cities that have not got any pieces in
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2016, 02:45:59 PM »
And with the phantom you might get a chance to claim and score two cities using the ccff or cfcf tile with separate city segments.  :(y)
World record holder for a single game of Carcassonne using 10 007 tiles!

Offline Nerdio

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Completing Roads and Cities that have not got any pieces in
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2016, 03:13:08 AM »
Thanks everyone for your reply, and for the link to the comprehensive rule book.

First time on this forum, and impressed with the quick replies. Cheers


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
plague source tile and completion of cities and roads

Started by drone2

4 Replies
1519 Views
Last post February 14, 2017, 08:33:40 AM
by dirk2112
xx
Back to the basics - scoring roads and cities

Started by SxN

8 Replies
652 Views
Last post January 03, 2021, 08:53:22 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Have any expansions been released as C1 & later as C2?

Started by Kirk Sellman

7 Replies
872 Views
Last post September 01, 2020, 07:20:11 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
One of the reasons I have not been around much

Started by Bixby

2 Replies
1740 Views
Last post October 22, 2014, 04:01:56 PM
by Bixby
clip
Finally got to try German Cathedrals, Tunnels, Darmstadt and Labyrinth tiles +++

Started by JoeSesquipedalian

3 Replies
2729 Views
Last post May 08, 2016, 08:57:03 AM
by JoeSesquipedalian