Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - kettlefish

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
136
Official Rules / The result of my meeting with HiG at Essen 2012
« on: February 13, 2013, 02:25:13 PM »
From the HiG-Chat - Marion, 21.10.2012 06:56:

@ CARCASSONNECENTRAL

The meeting with HiG - Georg Wild and Christof Tisch – was on Thursday, 18.10.12 - 10:40 to 11:30am at the Spiel 2012 in Essen:
The interview was successful. Here comes the result:

Carcassonne clarifications - October 2012

The Catapult: (the rule)
Knock out - remove followers
The aim is to hit, if possible, other players' followers on the playing field.
The playing field includes the normal tiles and "starting tiles". This means that followers within the "school", "City of Carcassonne", and "Wheel of Fate" can be hit and removed. The special characters such as the count or the teacher stay in their area.
We have agreed that followers on the scoring board should not be taken. This is chaos. So, the scoring board here does not belong to the playing field.

The Festival: (the rule)
Return one of one's own figures from the entire playing area to his or her supply.
The entire playing area behaves as described for the Catapult above.
Thus, a player's own figure (noting that the barn is a figure, as well as pig, builder, etc.) can be taken out of the "City of Carcassonne" and also the "Wheel of Fate". This also applies to the "City of Carcassonne" even if the count is in the same area as the player's own figure.

The Princess and The Dragon
The Dragon: (the rule)
The dragon always moves six tiles, irrespective of the number of players... He may not move onto a tile twice...
The statement "He may not move onto a tile twice" did not clearly define whether the tile that the Dragon started on is also meant or not.
Joint decision - the Dragon can't move back to the tile that he started on.
(Note my part: the Dragon is feeling quite bad when he turns only in circles - also, it makes no sense, since he has eaten it all up on this tile.)

The robbers:
The rules do not explain what happens with the robber when the last tile is placed on the playing field. The question is, can the robber steal points at the final scoring.
Christof Tisch has stated the following for that (in my own words):
When the last tile is placed, scoring for finished features takes place as usual - because the robber can still steal points.
Then all robbers still remaining on the scoring board are returned to their owners (without robbery of points).
After that the actual final scoring begins.

Abbey and Mayor
Barn: (the rule)
Scoring when a farm is connected
No farmer may be deployed to a farm with a barn. If the placement of a tile results in a farm with farmers is being connected to a farm with a barn, the farmers are scored immediately. However, the player with the majority of farmers scores only 1 point for every completed city (with a pig: 2 points instead of 1.) These farmers are then also returned to their owners after scoring.
Concerning the following case:
Blue has the barn on a farm with two finished cities. Through the newly placed tile (by Red), the farm with the red farmer is connected to the farm with the barn on it (Blue).
The question here is, can Red put his pig on this farm?
There was confusion about the following excerpt from the rule:
"..the farmers are scored immediately"
What is the intent of the word "immediately"?
The principle of a turn is as follows:
1. to draw a new land tile and place it
2 to move the wood
3. to score
I asked whether this "immediately" interrupts the principle of a turn.
Clear answer ? NO
This "immediately" means that the farmer does not remain until the final score for the farmers takes place in the usual way, but instead is scored at the end of this player's turn and then removed.
There is no word in the rules that the pig may not stand on the farm with a barn on it. Thus, the pig can stand on the farm with the barn on it.
Red can put the pig (move the wood) on the newly placed tile, and then the scoring takes place - 2 cities, each worth 2 points (instead of only 1 point each without the pig). Then, Red takes back his follower (farmer) and his pig. Of course, the pig cannot stand without a farmer on the farm.
Again to the "move the wood"
A section of a road is shown on this newly placed tile. Red has the ability to place a follower on the road instead of the pig, of course.
(As a basis for this example the corresponding picture of this rule - please look at it.)
________________________
Thanks to HiG - Georg Wild and Christof Tisch (for the interview) and Chris/obervet03 (for helping with the English grammar)

Greetings
kettlefish / Marion

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]