Author Topic: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber  (Read 13166 times)

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #30 on: June 18, 2014, 10:50:22 AM »
Abbey - YES if this placement of that tile is the 9th (complete cloister with 9 tiles)

Your answer seems to make it contingent on it being completed with the placement of the abbey.

But, you can place an abbey into less than 9 tiles, even as few as 4. It is still like a cloister even if it isn't completed immediately. Wouldn't you still be able to enter it from the City when it is completed?
I just drew the perfect tile for my MonKnighThieFarmer!

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #31 on: June 18, 2014, 10:56:24 AM »
Abbey - YES if this placement of that tile is the 9th (complete cloister with 9 tiles)

Your answer seems to make it contingent on it being completed with the placement of the abbey.

But, you can place an abbey into less than 9 tiles, even as few as 4. It is still like a cloister even if it isn't completed immediately. Wouldn't you still be able to enter it from the City when it is completed?

The rule of the Count of Carcassonne:

"from the cathedral to a just completed cloister"

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #32 on: June 18, 2014, 11:01:31 AM »
The rule of the Count of Carcassonne:

"from the cathedral to a just completed cloister"

Yes, but that doesn't mean that the cloister tile is the last tile placed in that feature.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #33 on: June 18, 2014, 11:05:12 AM »
The rule of the Count of Carcassonne:

"from the cathedral to a just completed cloister"

Yes, but that doesn't mean that the cloister tile is the last tile placed in that feature.
A cloister is only then finished for scoring if there are 9 tiles (8 tiles around the cloister - here Abbey)
-----------------
Edit:
Sorry Carcking,
I think I am tired... YES the Abbey tile don't need the last tile.
I was always thinking you mean the just placement of the Abbey tile - then it need the 9th tile.
But if the Abbey tile was already placed some game rounds before, then it only need one of the 8 surrounding tiles for finishing the cloister / Abbey.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2014, 12:19:56 PM by kettlefish »

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #34 on: June 18, 2014, 12:59:10 PM »
So do we have it officially from HiG then that the Cloister, the Shrine and the Abbey are all the same as far as the City of Carcassonne is concerned?



And maybe off-topic, but is the Shrine able to challenge an Abbey, and vice versa?

Also, does the Abbey get the benefit of the Vineyards?


Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #35 on: June 18, 2014, 01:18:11 PM »
Quote
Also, does the Abbey get the benefit of the Vineyards?
I've called with HiG - 20 05 2014: YES

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #36 on: June 21, 2014, 06:53:37 AM »
I seem to recall that a shrine can't challenge an abbey, but I can't prove it.

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2451
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #37 on: June 21, 2014, 07:23:14 AM »
I seem to recall that a shrine can't challenge an abbey, but I can't prove it.

CAR v7.0 which is the only source for me regarding the Abbey and Shrine together I found these footnotes quotes:

208: The rules that restrict placement of cloisters next to already placed shrines also restrict the placement of Abbeys.

213: A shrine can challenge an abbey, and vice versa, because abbey is also a cloister.

Mayhaps already read this, but figure I post regardless.  :(y)
World record holder for a single game of Carcassonne using 10 007 tiles!

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #38 on: June 21, 2014, 07:24:41 AM »
I stand corrected.

Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Expansion#6 The Count, The King and The Robber
« Reply #39 on: July 06, 2014, 08:15:42 AM »
Okay, all of the various clarifications from this thread have been incorporated into the new CAR.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
The Count of Carcassonne - Count Robber and King Expansion 6 deployment

Started by JoeSesquipedalian

4 Replies
3234 Views
Last post September 07, 2015, 04:49:49 AM
by JoeSesquipedalian
xx
6th expansion Count, King and Robber (German edition) for new edition is on sale

Started by ozgurceylan

24 Replies
6876 Views
Last post July 17, 2017, 08:27:58 AM
by Just a Bill
xx
King and Robber icon bug

Started by forumisto

2 Replies
1271 Views
Last post January 28, 2016, 01:07:51 PM
by farin
grin
The King & Robber Baron – Element of the Week #5

Started by whaleyland

26 Replies
9482 Views
Last post January 15, 2017, 09:14:20 AM
by thodekey
xx
Count, King & Consorts 2.0

Started by oosie

0 Replies
660 Views
Last post July 13, 2017, 02:01:56 PM
by oosie