Author Topic: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013  (Read 6726 times)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« on: February 14, 2013, 05:26:01 AM »
I called with HiG - Georg Wild - about the questions and clarifications of rules - 14 01 2013:

I had posted most of the following at the old forum. But I think it is interesting, because this is all coming up in the next S-CAR 6.3:

The Flyer:
The Flyer can land outside the City of Carcassonne (outside of the walls).
The Flyer can also land outside the Wheel of Fortune and outside the school.

The important news are:
The Magic Portal:
The follower who comes through the magic portal can deployed outside the City of Carcassonne (outside of the walls) and can also deployed outside the Wheel of Fortune and outside the school.

The Phantom and the magic portal
When the first Follower goes through the magic portal, then the Phantom can't go through as a second follower. The Phantom can only place at that tile.
The reason: The magic portal is a feature like a street.
The rule of the Phantom says that that figure is a follower.
A follower can placed at a open not claimed feature.

The Abbey as a second tile
At the beginning of playing sometimes a tile can't be placed. The player has the choice then to draw a new tile and places it or to places the Abbey tile.

The river II
The tile: GFluss5
That is a tile with a great bridge over the river and joined the city segment to one city feature.
The question at BGG was: How many fields are at the tile? Is the city-bridge separating the fields or is only the river separating the fields?

The answer:
Only the river is separating the field. At that tile are two different features of fields.

Dragon - Mage & Witch
At BGG was the question:
Does the Dragon move on a tile where the Mage or the Witch stands? Does the Dragon eat the Mage or the Witch?

The answer:
The Dragon can move on a tile where the Mage or the Witch stands. Theese figures are having an other purpose than the Fairy.
The Dragon doesn't like to eat neutral figures. The Mage and the Witch are neutral figures, too.

The CornCircles I + II:
The next... That was also a question at BGG:
Does the corn field separate the roads or the green fields?

The answer:
Yes the corn field is a separate feature. The corn field (CornCircle) separates roads and also the green fields.

The Builder and the Dispatches:
Quote
Question 2:
When I finish, for example, a city with a builder, and the counting follower lands on a dark number field, is only then the dispatch to the use (and possibly even more dispatches at favorable scoring) and then the turn because of the builder of the second tile?
In other words:
Which of the rules
A (dispatch): ?The active player (and only that player) gets a Dispatch tile if one of his two counting followers lands on a dark number field (0, 5, 10, 15,...).?
B (builder): ?On the next turn or a later turn, whenever the player places a tile that extends the road or city (with the builder), he then immediately draws a second tile and places it (this is the double turn and can only be performed once).?
takes precedence?
----------

Answer to Question 2: Builder - double turn - Dispatch
The BigBox4 says the following about the double turn by builders:
Whenever a player places a tile that extends the road or city which includes his builder, he may take a double turn. Here, after performing the usual steps of deployment and scoring, the player draws another land tile, places it appropriately, and may then deploy another follower and carry out any necessary scoring. Then his turn ends.
BigBox4 has the following comment about the dispatches:
For each scoring round, the player gets only one dispatch ....
From the builder you have two scoring rounds.
If after the first scoring round a scoring figure of the active player lands on a dark field, he receives a dispatch. The active player performs the action of the dispatch.
Only then does the double turn happen.
As a more practical example, the player should first draw the second tile of the double turn immediately after the first scoring round, place the tile face down in his supply, then perform the dispatches-action, then turn over the face-down tile and place it. Then move wood and perform scoring. If the scoring figure is on a dark field again, the player again obtains a dispatch and performs its action.
Anyhow, that is it what I'm reading by the rules - so far, the question is not asked, so I still have not inquired further (at HiG)

obervet03 helped me with the translation
Now it is official (telephone call with HiG- Georg Wild)

There are two scoring rounds through the double turn with the builder. After each scoring round you can get a dispatch and then perform the dispatches action. In this case are two Dispatches possible.

If you play with the fairy. Then you can get after scoring the 1 point for the fairy a Dispatch and can perform the dispatch action.

I like more the name Dispatches than Messages. The name dispatch is near the German word (Depesche) than message (Nachricht).


Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=64.0
« Last Edit: February 15, 2013, 12:51:08 PM by kettlefish »

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2013, 03:18:36 AM »
The river II
The tile: GFluss5
That is a tile with a great bridge over the river and joined the city segment to one city feature.
The question at BGG was: How many fields are at the tile? Is the city-bridge separating the fields or is only the river separating the fields?

The answer:
Only the river is separating the field. At that tile are two different features of fields.

As I already posted in previous version of forum, this one is in contradiction with earlier published by Matt.
http://carc.mjharper.de/page8/page8.html

Code: [Select]
Odd tiles
Does this tile have four farms or two? John's guess: Four. Otherwise people will start arguing about every bridge in the game!

Correct. Bridges are considered to be roads.

[Thanks to John Sweeney for this! - Matt]

What do you think about that? Should we trust the new interpretation of the rules?
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2013, 04:16:52 AM »
Tile GFluss5

It was a hard discussion between HiG - Georg Wild and me.

The city-bridge is not separating the field.

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2013, 04:48:11 AM »
The city-bridge is not separating the field.

OK, so be it.

Other clarifications seem to be reasonable.

Offline Carcassebs

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2013, 05:02:05 AM »
The Flyer:
The Flyer can land outside the City of Carcassonne (outside of the walls).

A flyer cannot land inside of the City of Carcassonne? Outside the walls would be the farms and roads attached to the city?

Also, are the meeples inside protected from the Dragon?

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2013, 06:29:55 AM »
Fields go under bridges.

I don't think the Flyer should be allowed to land in places where he is safe from the Dragon, Tower, etc.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2013, 07:53:18 AM »
If you like, then I will translate the original German post from the Carcassonne-Forum.

This is in German:
http://carcassonne-forum.de/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=429

(Edit: the bing translator says only nonsense.)

The questions were about the landscape areas around the walled City of Carcassonne:
What does the Dragon eat, if followers can not be moved there? We cannot admit of course that, or? Should our beloved Dragon go around without any food?
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 10:01:50 AM by kettlefish, Reason: changed the link to CarcF »

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2013, 10:27:20 AM »
Code: [Select]
Odd tiles
Does this tile have four farms or two? John's guess: Four. Otherwise people will start arguing about every bridge in the game!

Correct. Bridges are considered to be roads.

[Thanks to John Sweeney for this! - Matt]

What do you think about that? Should we trust the new interpretation of the rules?

IMHO the John Sweeney interpretation is to be discounted, with all due respect. It never settled correctly in my mind that the fields did not pass under the bridge. It is a bridge, not a road. (By the way, if you inspect John Sweeney's site he also states that pigs and builders are still followers.) I believe his site has old information included and should be considered a reference only.
I just drew the perfect tile for my MonKnighThieFarmer!

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2013, 11:25:36 AM »
The Flyer:
The Flyer can land outside the City of Carcassonne (outside of the walls).

A flyer cannot land inside of the City of Carcassonne? Outside the walls would be the farms and roads attached to the city?

Also, are the meeples inside protected from the Dragon?
The flyer cannot land inside of the city walls of the City of Carcassonne. The flyer can only land outside the city walls of the City of Carcassonne. The usual rules take place for the flyer.

However, the landscape areas around the walled City of Carcassonne are sort of landscape tiles.

The followers inside the city walls of the City of Carcassonne are protected from the Dragon because the Dragon cannot operate within the city walls of the City of Carcassonne.





« Last Edit: February 15, 2013, 11:27:08 AM by kettlefish »

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2013, 12:34:35 PM »
If the flyer is allowed to land outside the walls, then the rulings about what is allowed on the city tiles needs to be revised so that the dragon, towers, magic portal, etc. can also interact with those tiles provided they only affect the area outside the wall.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2013, 12:52:34 PM »
Here again:
Quote
The Magic Portal:
The follower who comes through the magic portal can deployed outside the City of Carcassonne (outside of the walls) and can also deployed outside the Wheel of Fortune and outside the school.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2013, 01:15:33 PM »
If the flyer is allowed to land outside the walls, then the rulings about what is allowed on the city tiles needs to be revised so that the dragon, towers, magic portal, etc. can also interact with those tiles provided they only affect the area outside the wall.

The dragon:
please look at my thread
The result of my meeting with HiG at Essen 2012
« Last Edit: July 04, 2013, 09:55:10 AM by kettlefish »

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2013, 04:15:53 PM »
Ah ok, everything has been sorted out already then. Just need to update the CAR and re-educate the players.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2013, 05:21:20 PM »
obervet03 has already updated all the information.
That is all included in the next coming S-CAR 6.3.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2013, 01:44:44 PM by kettlefish »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015

Started by kettlefish

22 Replies
7322 Views
Last post March 13, 2015, 12:40:08 PM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen

Started by kettlefish

22 Replies
7301 Views
Last post December 05, 2013, 06:21:44 PM
by Carcking
xx
Clarification of rules v6.2 pdf

Started by Tyroq

4 Replies
3673 Views
Last post April 04, 2013, 09:43:56 AM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules - Wagon

Started by kirby2003

19 Replies
7757 Views
Last post August 21, 2013, 12:53:36 PM
by obervet
xx
Clarification of rules - with HiG - 08 10 2015

Started by kettlefish

140 Replies
38993 Views
Last post July 12, 2016, 06:53:12 AM
by claudio_ferra