Author Topic: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread  (Read 22552 times)

Offline whaleyland

  • Great Khan
  • Authors
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2497
  • Merit: 79
  • Toulouse: Carcassonne's insignificant neighbor.
    • View Profile
    • Derek R. Whaley | Historian & Writer
Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
« on: February 13, 2013, 01:56:22 PM »
Please post your questions for Hans im Glueck on this thread. kettlefish will periodically take the questions to her contacts at Hans im Glueck for formal clarification. The responses will be published in the next edition of the Carcassonne Complete Annotated Rules.

Furthermore, kettlefish requests that questions and clarifications be asked IN COLOR.

Questions for Hans im Glueck should be written in BLUE.

kettlefish will strive to find answers to all questions and report them in GREEN.

If the question has already been addressed and is printed or pending printing in the current CAR, a reply will be in TEAL.

If kettlefish is unable to obtain an answer from Hans im Glueck or from the Spielbox, she will reply in RED.

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=57.0
« Last Edit: September 20, 2013, 12:37:24 AM by kettlefish »

Offline whaleyland

  • Great Khan
  • Authors
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2497
  • Merit: 79
  • Toulouse: Carcassonne's insignificant neighbor.
    • View Profile
    • Derek R. Whaley | Historian & Writer
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 01:57:41 PM »
Q: When playing with The Messages and The Robber, can a player's Robber follow either Messenger?
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 06:59:18 PM by whaleyland »

Offline danielbrie

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2013, 04:21:02 PM »
Q: What is the follower included with The Messages depicting? Is it a female meeple?
I can answer at this one since it's in the the official German rules from Hans Im Gleuk:
"... 8 messages, 6 female followers." when referring at what's in the box.
 :meeple:
« Last Edit: February 13, 2013, 05:11:23 PM by danielbrie »

Offline whaleyland

  • Great Khan
  • Authors
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2497
  • Merit: 79
  • Toulouse: Carcassonne's insignificant neighbor.
    • View Profile
    • Derek R. Whaley | Historian & Writer
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2013, 04:23:46 PM »
Q: What is the follower included with The Messages depicting? Is it a female meeple?
I can answer at this one since it's in the the official German rules from Hans Im Gleuk:
"... 8 messages, 6 female followers." when referring at what's in the box.

Interesting. The RGG instructions don't mention that: they just say "6 followers". My wife will be disappointed that meeples are once again being genderized.

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2013, 05:13:01 PM »
Thanks for that danielbrie - and welcome to the CC forum!
I just drew the perfect tile for my MonKnighThieFarmer!

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4562
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2013, 03:09:57 AM »
question from whaleyland:
Quote
Q: When playing with The Messages and The Robber, can a player's Robber follow either Messenger?

Chrisof Tisch contacted me,
so in a short time, I will have the answer.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4562
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2013, 12:40:50 PM »
Q: When playing with The Messages and The Robber, can a player's Robber follow either Messenger?

Answer:
The Robber can rob points from both scoring figures - from the follower and from the Messenger (woman follower). If there are more than one scoring figure at the same space as the Robber and multible scoring take place - the Robber can only rob from one scoring figure for one scoring.

Telephone call with HiG - Georg Wild - 03 05 2013

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4562
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2013, 05:07:37 AM »
Here are some questions from Mr. Numbers:
And the answers from HiG - Georg Wild - Telephone call 10 05 2013:

Robber and Messages:

1. Robber stands near one particular counting figure and robs only it's points. In this situation it is possible that robber will stand on the scoreboard till the end of the game, if the player will decide not to move this particular figure.

Yes, it is possible that the robber would stand till the end of the game.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2. Robber stands near any counting figure and robs any points that this player will receive regardless what figure player will move forward. In this situation robber stands near "virtual" counting figure and receive first available points (of course, according the rules).

No, the robber can only rob the points from the counting figure which is on the same space as the robber.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Robber and other expansions:

Part 1: Will the robber receive Wheel of Fortune or Fairy's (1 point) points? This action is performed before "place the tile" phase, so robber can receive this points.

Yes, the robber can rob the points.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Part 2: OR: robber can wait till the end of the whole turn and receive all points that this player will receive in this turn including Wheel of Fortune points at the start of the turn. The same applies to Catapult points.
No, the robber must always rob the next points that are scored. The robber can't wait for a scoring with more points. Each scoring is separated - that means for example each feature is scored individually. The same is with the Fairy-Point or with the Catapult points or points from the Wheel of Fortune.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2013, 10:00:40 AM »
Has this been asked and answered?

A Robber stands next to a counting figure on the scoring track. The counting figure scores mulitple features triggered by the placement of the current tile. The multiple features score different amounts of points. Does the Robber get to choose which score he will "rob"? Or does the scoring player decide which of his features to score first, and thereby dicate which feature the Robber will rob?

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4562
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2013, 10:04:38 AM »
Has this been asked and answered?

A Robber stands next to a counting figure on the scoring track. The counting figure scores mulitple features triggered by the placement of the current tile. The multiple features score different amounts of points. Does the Robber get to choose which score he will "rob"? Or does the scoring player decide which of his features to score first, and thereby dicate which feature the Robber will rob?

I have three examples. I need some more time and then the thrid is finished.
Please look at the thread
Robber and Messages - Examples
« Last Edit: July 04, 2013, 09:53:03 AM by kettlefish »

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2013, 10:06:19 AM »
Ah, yes...thanks for that kettlefish.  :)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4562
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2013, 01:38:21 PM »
to this point all questions and answers from HiG are included in the CAR 6.3.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4562
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2013, 02:39:00 PM »
Two more questions from Carcking:

The Goldmines and the Castle

I have finished my comments for all the pictures. I modified all the postings where the pictures are included.
The results are the information which I have got from Christof Tisch (graphic artist for HiG).


Here comes the link:
The Goldminers: Gold Removal Question

« Last Edit: June 03, 2013, 05:54:40 PM by kettlefish »

Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2013, 02:05:48 PM »
Okay, I have questions about things that should not be duplicated in the double-turn. See the link here.

Are there things that should be added to that list? Things that should be removed?

Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2013, 09:26:38 AM »
Here's a question about The Phantom and the Wheel of Fortune.

In brief, the rules say that the phantom is played to the tile that was just placed, but footnote 363 in S-CAR 6.3 states that "You can do whatever you can do with a follower." Thus: Can you play the Phantom to areas such as the Wheel of Fortune or a tower, or is the Phantom restricted to placement on the tile just placed?


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
News from Hans-im-Glueck-Verlag (HiG)

Started by kettlefish

11 Replies
5719 Views
Last post November 28, 2013, 07:57:52 AM
by kettlefish
xx
Hans Im Glueck Trademarking Meeple

Started by Decar

16 Replies
2919 Views
Last post November 02, 2018, 09:19:52 AM
by Squiffything
xx
English translation from Hans im Glueck-Almanac 2008

Started by tuckerr

5 Replies
2312 Views
Last post September 11, 2015, 07:22:52 AM
by tuckerr
xx
Carcassonne South Sea - rules questions

Started by Khonnor

6 Replies
5525 Views
Last post December 11, 2013, 05:57:06 AM
by Khonnor
xx
Couple of expansion rules questions!

Started by DaFees

3 Replies
1826 Views
Last post February 16, 2014, 10:17:30 AM
by DaFees