Author Topic: When is a city considered "complete"  (Read 3861 times)

Offline Governor

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
When is a city considered "complete"
« on: December 29, 2013, 03:08:56 AM »
Good day to you all!

Over Christmas my family and I got into a little discussion (as I believe is customary while playing games over the festive period) over the complete / in-complete status of a city.  Although I have seen on other websites it states "a city is complete if the wall around it is complete."  My argueme, however, is this.  How can you have a complete city if there is a square missing in the middle of it?  It is possible to have a situation where you could have 4 single city edged squares around an empty space.  In this scenario the wall is complete but the city is lacking.

So, is anyone able to enlighten me?  Preferably Klaus-J

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=556.0

Offline quevy

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1820
  • Merit: 105
    • View Profile
Re: When is a city considered "complete"
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2013, 03:16:47 AM »
A city is considered complete if all the items inside are complete and the walls surrounding it. Any missing element means that the city is incomplete.
A knight is sworn to valour.
His heart knows only virtue.
His blade defends the helpless.
His might upholds the weak.
His word speaks only truth.
His wrath undoes the wicked.

 :white-meeple: My works.

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 33
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: When is a city considered "complete"
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2013, 07:27:38 PM »
Good day Governor! Welcome to our CarcC Forum! It's good to have you along!

If you haven't already found it, I would invite you to check out our CAR (Complete Annotated Rules) of Carcassonne. You can find it in our Downloads section of the Forum. Look for V6.4. It should answer all of your questions and is a nearly perfect coordination of the base rules and all expansion rules. If you can't find an answer in there for any of your questions we would like to know about it so it can be researched. We've almost run out of questions to ask  :o

The answer to your question is addressed on page 11 in the basic rules of the game. There are differences (sometimes minor, sometimes major) between some of the English rules (English publishers) and the original German rules from HiG.

You can find the CAR Here.

Enjoy!
I just drew the perfect tile for my MonKnighThieFarmer!

Offline Governor

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: When is a city considered "complete"
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2013, 11:12:28 AM »
Thank you very much for this clarification.  I would like to say a this juncture that I was right and my missus was wrong.  This proves that men aren't always wrong.

Offline Andrew the Ambo

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 354
  • Merit: 26
    • View Profile
Re: When is a city considered "complete"
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2013, 08:08:23 PM »
And I am guessing she doesn't read this forum. ;-)

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: When is a city considered "complete"
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2013, 12:18:35 PM »
I suspect he has already informed her and won't let her forget it.  ;D

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 33
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: When is a city considered "complete"
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2014, 01:42:43 PM »
Haha - I thought I was wrong once...but I was mistaken.  :o


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Escape from besieged city missing from CAR's "Order of Play"

Started by JT Atomico

2 Replies
2706 Views
Last post September 12, 2013, 12:34:45 PM
by obervet
xx
A copy of "Die Belagerer" for either "Die Katharer" or "Die Kornkreise I"

Started by Hylian87

3 Replies
4678 Views
Last post September 11, 2013, 03:04:52 PM
by Hylian87
xx
Differences "1 tile city"

Started by quevy

10 Replies
3100 Views
Last post October 20, 2015, 02:15:31 PM
by Decar
xx
RGG "Princess" rule change a case of wrong trsl. or established for "retheming"

Started by Hounk

0 Replies
1997 Views
Last post July 09, 2015, 01:30:40 AM
by Hounk
clip
Exhibition "modell-hobby-spiel" in Leipzig, Germany - 03.-05.10.2014

Started by kettlefish

28 Replies
9839 Views
Last post October 09, 2014, 12:01:20 AM
by kettlefish