Author Topic: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen  (Read 8999 times)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
obervet gave me 13 questions.

In the next reply I will post the questions 1-4.

Each of the next questions will get an own reply (question 5 to 13)
And later I will give also the answers in these replies.

Questions are in BLUE
Clarification of the rules are in GREEN
No Answer or no Clarification or still not clear cases are in RED

During my posting I will change here and there some replies.

When obervet put the clarification into the CAR he uses TEAL.


Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=531.0
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 04:28:03 PM by kettlefish »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 01:41:01 PM »
1. Does the Plague affect player figures that are not followers (pig, builder)?

2. Does the Plague affect a barn?

3. When the Plague is in play, can any follower take flight, or does it have to be a follower in a feature that is affected by the Plague?

4. Can the Plague affect the tiles that make up the outside of the Wheel of Fortune or the City of Carcassonne? Can it affect the tiles of the School?

I didn't get an answer from Spielbox at Spiel 2013 in Essen.
So the questions 1-4 are still open.


But I have found an answer for question 2 from Christof Tisch (graphics artist for the rules at HiG and he works also for Spielbox) - more follows...
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 04:28:57 PM by kettlefish »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2013, 02:18:55 PM »
5. What happens when a tile that is added to a feature with a builder also triggers the drawing of a Dispatches tile, and the player draws Dispatch No 7?
Does the Dispatch extra tile come before the builder double turn?
If so, and the extra tile from the Dispatch gets put on the builder's feature, does that create 2 double turns?


Does the Dispatch extra tile come before the builder double turn?
Yes

If so, and the extra tile from the Dispatch gets put on the builder's feature, does that create 2 double turns?
Yes - one builders double turn during the action for the dispatch No 7 and after the action from the dispatch - the second part from the originally double turn of the builder take place
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 02:25:31 PM by kettlefish »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2013, 02:35:51 PM »
6. In brief, the rules say that the phantom is played to the tile that was just placed, but footnote 363 in S-CAR 6.3 states that "You can do whatever you can do with a follower." Thus: Can you play the Phantom to areas such as the Wheel of Fortune or a tower,
or is the Phantom restricted to placement on the tile just placed?


Thus: Can you play the Phantom to areas such as the Wheel of Fortune or a tower,
Yes

or is the Phantom restricted to placement on the tile just placed?
No
- but be careful with features like the magic gate and the hill from the flying machine when the first follower went through the magic gate or was flown with the flying machine - then the second follower (the phantom) can't use these features.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 02:45:20 PM by kettlefish »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2013, 02:48:22 PM »
7. Are there things that should be added or subtracted from the following lists regarding the builder's double turn?
Things that happen only ONCE: Bonus point from fairy, prisoner buyback, tunnel token placement, flight from Plague, Plague spread.
Things that may or must happen TWICE: Draw and place tile, resolve special symbols on tile, follower/figure placement, scoring.


It's all correct what you have written there.
prisoner:
ONCE: buyback (3 Points)
TWICE or more: exchange prisoners
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 04:29:25 PM by kettlefish »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2013, 03:10:30 PM »
8. Does a bridge spanning a tower foundation prevent growth of the tower higher than can fit under the bridge?
Does a tower that is present prevent bridge placement if the tower is already too tall for the bridge to fit?
(I assume the answer to these is YES based on previous clarifications regarding placement of 2 bridges on the same tile.)


The tower pieces can be moved on that tile (in such a case the tower pieces don't stand anymore at the tower foundation symbol) and the tower is able to grow up - so the bridge and the tower have no more conflict together. Both expansions don't work against to each other.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 03:14:03 PM by kettlefish »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2013, 03:56:13 PM »
9. There was a previous clarification stating that a mayor could be placed on a cloister but would score no points because there are no pennants. Since the rules specifically state that a mayor can only be placed in a city, shouldn't this clarification be reversed?

The feature cloister isn't the feature city - so the mayor can't be placed on a cloister.

(I rember that confusion to allow the mayor more than the rule stated - so we all decided the mayor can't go into the cloister)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2013, 04:08:31 PM »
10. If the Festival is used to remove a follower, can the Phantom still be placed on that turn?
Or does the use of the Festival prevent use of the Phantom?


Yes it is possible to use the phantom.

This year I only talked with Georg Wild. He knows all about the rules from the older expansions. Christof Tisch knows all about the rules for the newer expansions. I never played with the phantom...

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2013, 04:10:40 PM »
11. Is the dragon allowed on the School tiles?

Yes, but not inside the school building and the dragon can't eat the neutral figure the teacher.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2013, 04:15:23 PM »
12. When does the scoring of the 3 points for a Wind Rose occur?
Is this before the Move Wood phase?


This year I only talked with Georg Wild. He knows all about the rules from the older expansions. Christof Tisch knows all about the rules for the newer expansions.
The time for talking about the rules was over at Spiel 2013... So I haven't an official answer yet.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2013, 04:20:36 PM »
13. Since the 3 Wind Rose points seem to be scored apart from anything else, could this trigger the taking of a Dispatch tile (like the fairy 1 point)?

This year I only talked with Georg Wild. He knows all about the rules from the older expansions. Christof Tisch knows all about the rules for the newer expansions.
The time for talking about the rules was over at Spiel 2013... So I haven't an official answer yet.

I personally would like to go with the fairy 1 point to trigger the taking of a Dispatch, because there is a scoring on the scoring board and when a scoring figure lands on a dark field - the active player receives a Dispatch...

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2013, 04:26:27 PM »
I have finished for now my 13 questions and answers.

For question 2 I have found an answer from Christof Tisch. He answered some questions in the Spielbox forum two years ago.
I have to translate it. I will do it tomorrow.

obervet,
we should put a link from the original threads (with open questions) here in each of the replies and also a link from this thread into each of the different threads.
(I hope you could understand what I mean...)
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 04:36:18 PM by kettlefish »

Offline Fritz_Spinne

  • Authors
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 658
  • Merit: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2013, 10:59:36 PM »
10. If the Festival is used to remove a follower, can the Phantom still be placed on that turn?
Or does the use of the Festival prevent use of the Phantom?


Yes it is possible to use the phantom.

This year I only talked with Georg Wild. He knows all about the rules from the older expansions. Christof Tisch knows all about the rules for the newer expansions. I never played with the phantom...

And the other way: If the festival tile is played and you placed a follower on it, can you remove a phantom on that turn?

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 752
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2013, 04:47:15 AM »
well done!  :)
so the questions for the plague are still opened!

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 752
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2013, 05:17:57 AM »
5. What happens when a tile that is added to a feature with a builder also triggers the drawing of a Dispatches tile, and the player draws Dispatch No 7?
Does the Dispatch extra tile come before the builder double turn?
If so, and the extra tile from the Dispatch gets put on the builder's feature, does that create 2 double turns?


Does the Dispatch extra tile come before the builder double turn?
Yes

If so, and the extra tile from the Dispatch gets put on the builder's feature, does that create 2 double turns?
Yes - one builders double turn during the action for the dispatch No 7 and after the action from the dispatch - the second part from the originally double turn of the builder take place

so, in this way, from the beginning of my tour I can drow 4 tiles... right?
1) It's my tourn... I drow a tile and add it to a feature with my builder... with this add I take also some points... my follower go on a black tile of the scoreboard so I drow a dispatch... it's the 7th, so...
2) I drow my second tile, the one form the dispatch 7, and add it to a feature with my builder so...
3) I drow my third tile and play my first "builder double turn" that was from the point 2) (and I can't use anymore the builder ability now), then...
4) I drow my fourth tile and play my second "builder double tourn" that was from the point 1) (and I can't use anymore the builder ability now)
?


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Spiel 2013 at Essen

Started by kettlefish

91 Replies
37764 Views
Last post December 31, 2013, 12:24:46 PM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013

Started by kettlefish

13 Replies
8552 Views
Last post February 15, 2013, 05:21:20 PM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules (abbot, Spiel tiles, peasant revolts) - with HiG - 24 11 2020

Started by Meepledrone

23 Replies
1117 Views
Last post January 05, 2021, 11:01:36 AM
by DrMeeple
xx
German Rules at HiG Homepage - new Version 2013

Started by kettlefish

24 Replies
7380 Views
Last post December 18, 2013, 07:24:07 PM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules v6.2 pdf

Started by Tyroq

4 Replies
4770 Views
Last post April 04, 2013, 09:43:56 AM
by kettlefish