Author Topic: Clarification of rules (Castles, wagons and abbeys) - with HiG - 01 02 2021  (Read 197 times)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3097
  • Merit: 189
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
In early February, I asked a new batch of questions on the HiG Discord server. So far we only got answers for a few of them from  Johannes (HiG). I include them below while waiting for more.

Following Kettlefish's tradition...

Question in BLUE

Answer in GREEN

Still open in RED

My own comments in  MAROON

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5079.0
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3097
  • Merit: 189
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Castles and wagons

[Q1] Can a wagon placed in a castle move to a neighboring unoccupied feature after scoring?

[A1] Yes, the wagon can move to a neighboring unoccupied feature after scoring.

This is a step forward in adapting mechanics to the castle fief or vicinity. As a result German castles should follow the same lead when a wagon placed in a completed German castle is scored and moved. The wagon should be able to move to any valid unoccupied incomplete feature on the German castle tile or any adjacent tile.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3097
  • Merit: 189
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Abbeys at the end of the game

[Q2] The rules in Big Box 2 and Big Box 3, included the following action regarding the remaining abbeys at the end of the game:

"If one or more players have not yet placed their Abbey tiles when the last landscape tile is drawn and placed, they may now do so, if possible, in clockwise order starting from the left of the person who placed the last tile. Then, the game ends."

Does this extra round with abbey tiles still apply?


[A2] No, this extra rule does not apply anymore.

Since this extra rule to allow players to place their remaining abbey tiles has not been not included in C2, players will not be allowed to place their remaining German castles or Haflings either. The rules for these expansions do not mention this possibility.

Therefore, once the last tile from the general tile supply is placed, the game is over for good, no matter if some players may still have some tiles left in their  supply.

Offline corinthiens13

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 456
  • Merit: 30
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Castles and wagons

[Q1] Can a wagon placed in a castle move to a neighboring unoccupied feature after scoring?

[A1] Yes, the wagon can move to a neighboring unoccupied feature after scoring.

This is a step forward in adapting mechanics to the castle fief or vicinity. As a result German castles should follow the same lead when a wagon placed in a completed German castle is scored and moved. The wagon should be able to move to any valid unoccupied incomplete feature on the German castle tile or any adjacent tile.

Thanks for those clarifications Meepledrone  :yellow-meeple:

This confirms a castle has 6 adjacent tiles and could be applied to goldmines too ?

We could also consider a German castle is stuck between two spaces (like a "normal" castle) and has 6 adjacent spaces  ;D ;D ;D Just kidding !
Order of play in french with every major expansions, minis and promos:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=346

Divider cards for CI & CII both in French & English:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=535

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 839
  • Merit: 5
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Castles and wagons
This confirms a castle has 6 adjacent tiles and could be applied to goldmines too ?


I guess yes.
Previous clarificaiton will also add possibilities for ringmaster on Castle to get bonus if rules will be changes. HiG (Johanes) told that they will consider change of this rule. (Currently Ringmaster can get only bonus when placed on Road/City/Basic Game Monastery and Field on all other features will not get his bonus when scores).
« Last Edit: February 24, 2021, 12:20:07 AM by Bumsakalaka »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3097
  • Merit: 189
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Castles and wagons

[Q1] Can a wagon placed in a castle move to a neighboring unoccupied feature after scoring?

[A1] Yes, the wagon can move to a neighboring unoccupied feature after scoring.

This is a step forward in adapting mechanics to the castle fief or vicinity. As a result German castles should follow the same lead when a wagon placed in a completed German castle is scored and moved. The wagon should be able to move to any valid unoccupied incomplete feature on the German castle tile or any adjacent tile.

Thanks for those clarifications Meepledrone  :yellow-meeple:

My pleasure.

This confirms a castle has 6 adjacent tiles and could be applied to goldmines too ?

Absolutely... Check the examples referenced in my post below.

We could also consider a German castle is stuck between two spaces (like a "normal" castle) and has 6 adjacent spaces  ;D ;D ;D Just kidding !

 :o

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3097
  • Merit: 189
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Issues with goldmines and castles? Please check these posts with examples and clarifications...

>> C1 Goldmine examples with castles

Several interesting posts in the following thread:

- (Post #11) Example 2 - Castle:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=279.msg2148#msg2148

- (Post #12) Example 1 & 3 - Castle:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=279.msg2149#msg2149

- (Post #15) Clarification: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=279.msg2152#msg2152

You can check the same examples on CarcF:
https://www.carcassonne-forum.de/viewtopic.php?f=101&p=5463#p5463

Also check the response from Christof Tisch about this matter (translated from German):
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=279.msg2180#msg2180


>> C1 Goldmine examples with monasteries (cloisters)

Several interesting posts in the following thread connected to castles too:

- (Post #26) Example 1-4 - Cloister:

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=279.msg2166#msg2166

- (Post #27) Example 4a-4b - Cloister:

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=279.msg2168#msg2168

Offline Vital Pluymers

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 149
  • Merit: 2
  • The King
    • View Profile
Quote from: corinthiens13 link=topic=5079.msg75110#msg75110
[b
Castles and wagons[/b]
This confirms a castle has 6 adjacent tiles and could be applied to goldmines too ?

I guess yes.
Previous clarificaiton will also add possibilities for ringmaster on Castle to get bonus if rules will be changes. HiG (Johanes) told that they will consider change of this rule. (Currently Ringmaster can get only bonus when placed on Road/City/Basic Game Monastery and Field on all other features will not get his bonus when scores).

That would be nice!   :D

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3097
  • Merit: 189
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Regarding German castles and ringmasters, there is a loophole in their reasoning IMHO: With the current rules, the ringmaster cannot receive bonus points if placed on a German castle because it is placed on a feature other than a road, a city, monastery or field.

But what happens if you place the ringmaster on a road, city or field on the German castle tile itself? The ringmaster is complying with the requirements stated in the rules in order to get bonus points, however the geometry of the tile is different. Can HiG dismiss these cases? Ooops!

I agree the ringmaster rules need a revision, or at least a clarification, regarding castles and German castles. The current decision seems so counterintuitive.

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 839
  • Merit: 5
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Regarding German castles and ringmasters, there is a loophole in their reasoning IMHO: With the current rules, the ringmaster cannot receive bonus points if placed on a German castle because it is placed on a feature other than a road, a city, monastery or field.

But what happens if you place the ringmaster on a road, city or field on the German castle tile itself? The ringmaster is complying with the requirements stated in the rules in order to get bonus points, however the geometry of the tile is different. Can HiG dismiss these cases? Ooops!

I agree the ringmaster rules need a revision, or at least a clarification, regarding castles and German castles. The current decision seems so counterintuitive.

I found better texting for Ringmaster. If ringmaster stays not on regular tile, it get bonus from adjacent tiles of his placement depends on its feature.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Clarification of rules (ringmasters) - with HiG - 27 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

36 Replies
757 Views
Last post January 31, 2021, 11:56:24 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Clarification of rules (peasant revolts - part 2) - with HiG - 12 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

17 Replies
458 Views
Last post January 27, 2021, 04:31:35 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Clarification of rules (fields & magic portals) - with HiG - 29 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

9 Replies
248 Views
Last post January 31, 2021, 11:21:18 AM
by tp10053
xx
Clarification of rules (Sending meeple to Carcassonne) - with HiG - 29 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

15 Replies
421 Views
Last post February 11, 2021, 06:19:00 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Clarification of rules (roads, bridges, inns & tollhouses) - with HiG - 05 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

4 Replies
300 Views
Last post January 06, 2021, 04:21:09 AM
by Meepledrone