Author Topic: Clarification of rules (roads, bridges, inns & tollhouses) - with HiG 05 01 2021  (Read 225 times)

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
  • Merit: 182
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Hi all,

I had a brief exchange with Christof Tisch of HiG about some rules questions. This time we discussed roads, bridges, inns and features affecting tollhouses. I will summarize the answers in following posts.

Following Kettlefish's tradition...

Question in BLUE

Answer in GREEN

Still open in RED

My own comments in  MAROON

Cheers!

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4971.0
Questions about rules? Check WICA: www.wikicarpedia.com

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
  • Merit: 182
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Bridges & Inns

[Q1.] Inns affect those road segments they are on, that is, directly adjacent to. So a bridge placed on a tile with an inn would not be affected by the bridge, since the inn would not be accessible from the bridge. Is this correct? See tile examples from Exp. 8 below.



[A1.] Yes, that is right, the Inn only counts for road which are printed next to it.
But a bridge could count as part of an »inn road« if it is linked to it.

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
  • Merit: 182
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Bridges & features affecting tollhouses

[Q2.] If we apply the same principle as in Q1, bridges placed on tiles featuring farmhouses / sheds / highwaymen / gardens would not consider those features when scoring a tollhouse bonus. Is this correct? See tile examples from Exp. 5 and Exp. 8 below.



[A2.] Yes, that is also right.

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
  • Merit: 182
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
[Q3.] Inns only affect those road segments they are on, that is, directly adjacent to (the same principle as in Q1). As per the wording of the Tollkeepers rules, the same principle should be applied to farmhouses, sheds,gardens and highwaymen symbols when scoring a tollhouse bonus. Is this correct? Please check the tile examples below, just to check if there is any additional consideration for any of the tiles. Road segments considering features for tollhouse bonuses are marked in green, otherwise in red.

[A3.] As I see it, the marks on the roads are all correct.

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
  • Merit: 182
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Example with inns, gardens, tollhouses & bridges

As an additional note, Q1 and Q2 address the scoring question presented in the third image attached:
[Q4.1] Does the road occupied by Blue consider the inns under the bridges? I would say no.
[Q4.2] Do the tollhouses at both ends of the road occupied by Blue consider the garden under the bridge with the Blue Meeple?


[A4.1.] No, the inn under the bridge clearly does not belong or lay beside the road of the Blue Meeple.

[A4.2] In line with the previous answers, the garden does not count for the tollhouses at the end of the road occupied by Blue.


As some may notice, this was a scenario prepared for the Advent Calendar MMXX that I didn't publish, just in case the answer was not the expected one. Finally, this was not the case. ;D
« Last Edit: January 06, 2021, 04:29:55 AM by Meepledrone »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Bridges, Castles & Bazaars - Clarification

Started by Teapotcosy

2 Replies
1385 Views
Last post March 30, 2016, 07:43:23 AM
by Teapotcosy
xx
Clarification of rules v6.2 pdf

Started by Tyroq

4 Replies
4654 Views
Last post April 04, 2013, 09:43:56 AM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules - with HiG 24 11 2020

Started by Meepledrone

23 Replies
919 Views
Last post January 05, 2021, 11:01:36 AM
by DrMeeple
xx
Clarification of rules - Wagon

Started by kirby2003

19 Replies
9567 Views
Last post August 21, 2013, 12:53:36 PM
by obervet
xx
Clarification of rules - with HiG - 08 10 2015

Started by kettlefish

140 Replies
47885 Views
Last post July 12, 2016, 06:53:12 AM
by claudio_ferra