Author Topic: Builder and roads  (Read 253 times)

Offline Carcassonne0123

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 84
  • Merit: 0
  • :)
    • View Profile
Builder and roads
« on: September 18, 2020, 07:15:34 AM »
Ok, so let‘s say I draw a road, place it down with a meeple on, next turn I draw another road I place so it continues my road and I place my builder on it, do I draw another tile or do I have to expand it again in order for me to darw a tile?

In other words, does the builder take immediate effect?
Please clarify this, thanks.


Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3075
  • Merit: 189
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Builder and roads
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2020, 08:07:19 AM »
I moved this question to a new topic.

The answer to your question is that you have to expand the road once the builder is placed on it, so the effect is not immediate.

So on your next turn, if you add a new tile to the road, you will get a double turn for the builder, even if the tile placement completed the road.

You can revisit the rules here:

Some additional info on particular cases you may find interesting:

1) If you close one end of a road with your builder with an abbey tile (from Exp. 5 - Abbey & Mayor), you will not get a double turn, since you are not actually extending (adding a new tile) to the road.

More info on abbeys and the builder in the following clarification:

2) If you move a ferry on a lake connected to the road with your builder and you extend the road as a result, you will not get a double turn from the ferry movement as you are not actually adding a new tile to the road.

More info on the interaction of Ferries with Trader & Builders here:
Questions about rules? Check WICA:

Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
The Builder..

Started by Reggie777

4 Replies
Last post February 02, 2015, 03:42:17 AM
by Durbs
The Dragon and the Builder

Started by DLloyd09

11 Replies
Last post January 15, 2015, 02:04:25 PM
by obervet
Kingdom Builder

Started by Lord_Wishmaster

7 Replies
Last post August 21, 2013, 12:26:14 AM
by Whaleyland
Do roads end in Wheel of fortune?

Started by loki

1 Replies
Last post August 28, 2015, 02:36:10 PM
by Paul
Scoring quiz with roads

Started by Meepledrone

69 Replies
Last post August 28, 2019, 02:53:20 PM
by Meepledrone