Author Topic: Question about Castles and the Abbott.  (Read 666 times)

Offline Piancol

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Question about Castles and the Abbott.
« on: April 02, 2020, 08:24:56 PM »
I can't find this clarification in either of the rules, so here's my doubt:

Would removing your Abbott from an incomplete monastery or garden (thus scoring it incomplete) trigger a nearby castle?

I think that it would not cause the Castles rules state that it's triggered when a feature is completed and legally you wouldn't be completing the feature cause you're scoring it incomplete but I'm not completely sure...

What are your thoughts?  :blue-meeple:

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4578.0

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 159
  • Merit: 2
  • Cathedrals in Germany in New Edition
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2020, 01:19:19 AM »
The castle earns points only for completed features.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2440
  • Merit: 162
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2020, 01:58:54 AM »
The abbot, when removed, is scored in phase 2. Placing a meeple and the castle scoring is triggered by completed features scored in phase 3. Scoring a feature. So both actions happen in different phases and are unrelated.

You can check the consolidated Order of Play here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play
Questions about rules? Check WICA: www.wikicarpedia.com

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 159
  • Merit: 2
  • Cathedrals in Germany in New Edition
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2020, 02:11:25 AM »
What happens if you remove the abbot in the turn in which you complete the monastery? Do you receive points for vineyards?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2440
  • Merit: 162
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2020, 02:27:35 AM »
If you remove the abbot you don't get the vineyard points. It would be a weird move unless you are interested because you want to get a message or something.

You can check the interaction of the abbot with vineyards here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Hills_%26_Sheep#Vineyards_2

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 159
  • Merit: 2
  • Cathedrals in Germany in New Edition
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2020, 03:32:44 AM »
Or if there is a big meeple in The cathedral from City of Carcassonne.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 2440
  • Merit: 162
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2020, 05:00:10 AM »
Or if there is a big meeple in The cathedral from City of Carcassonne.

What sequence are you thinking of?

Removing the abbot and then deploying the meeple to the monastery just abandoned by the abbot? If so, you don't need a large meeple as the monastery would be empty so you would be alone... Unless some other player may want to compete for the monastery points.  >:D


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Quick question about Castles

Started by WGFizban

10 Replies
379 Views
Last post October 22, 2020, 04:11:16 AM
by Vital Pluymers
clip
Carc - Bridges, Castles & Bizzares - Castle Question

Started by robnhill

3 Replies
1504 Views
Last post February 06, 2017, 01:54:32 PM
by robnhill
xx
Abbott as regular meeple?

Started by HeyJude01

1 Replies
861 Views
Last post September 01, 2019, 10:49:15 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?

Started by IrrationalDesign

8 Replies
2338 Views
Last post December 23, 2017, 06:58:15 AM
by IrrationalDesign
xx
PSA: Cundco now stock alt coloured abbotts (also: WTB Grey abbott)

Started by ooh_jim

10 Replies
5083 Views
Last post February 15, 2016, 02:10:36 AM
by ARabidMeerkat