Poll

Will the C2 rules for Halflings consider the clarifications provided by Georg Wild in 10/2015?

Yes, HiG will solve all the issues
6 (27.3%)
No, a layout upgrade of the C1 printed rules is good enough
5 (22.7%)
No clue, HiG will surprise us once more
11 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 22

Author Topic: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)  (Read 7431 times)

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3299
  • Merit: 198
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #75 on: January 23, 2021, 05:07:52 AM »
* Bridges (Exp. 8 ) and halflings:
Maybe tiles should not be allowed across halflings...  :o

After reading rules, I think so.

You can place bridge to:
1. on the tile you placed
2. on a tile adjacent to the tile you placed

So there is no possibility in rules of bridge to place
1. on halfling you placed - because it has to be also placed to already placed halfling
2. over two already placed halflings which are adjacent to the tile you placed - this is against rules

In this case there will be tricky situation placing bridge like on image.
Update: I made 2 turns to show hat it can happend



If allowed, this would be awesome...  :o
But breaking the tile grid is a NO GO in this case... Let's ask about this and have fun  >:D >:D >:D
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • Posts: 5850
  • Merit: 259
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #76 on: January 24, 2021, 01:36:41 AM »
Does the crop circle tile even have to be there?  :o

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3299
  • Merit: 198
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #77 on: January 24, 2021, 01:48:56 AM »
It is possible if you placed the vineyard and the crop circle tiles first... The bridge was placed on an "adjacent" tile.

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • Posts: 5850
  • Merit: 259
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #78 on: January 24, 2021, 01:51:40 AM »
Imagine a board without the crop circle tile on it

Offline Whaleyland

  • Great Khan
  • Authors
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2596
  • Merit: 85
  • Toulouse: Carcassonne's insignificant neighbor.
    • View Profile
    • Derek R. Whaley | Historian & Writer
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #79 on: January 24, 2021, 02:05:12 AM »
I’ve always taught the rules that if there is one Halfling, then the space is occupied and anything that can happen to a space can happen. Therefore a Bridge could cross a Halfling tile, even if only half the space is filled. Therefore, if this strange and unlikely scenario is possible, then leaving out the Crop Circle should be allowed.

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 3299
  • Merit: 198
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #80 on: January 24, 2021, 03:10:21 AM »
Here you are an example of various issues we would like to clarify with HiG (Decar is gonna love it  >:D):

If halflings are considered individually as stated in the clarifications from 10/2015, how should be consider the actions affecting halfling with the bridges?
- Those bridges are considered as 2 tiles? Does the bridge counts as two tiles in this case?
- Is the position of meeple on the bridge relevant for the protection of the fairy and the movement of the dragon? Can the fairy protect only one half of the bridge? Can the dragon eat the meeples of only one half of the bridge?

At least we know the hill would affect both halflings so the red meeple has the majority in the road...  ;D

Maybe the solution is that bridges can only span across one single tile: a square tile or double-sized tile (across the short side). If so, this discussion was pointless from the start... But it was fun indeed.  ;)

Offline corinthiens13

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Merit: 35
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #81 on: January 24, 2021, 04:45:35 AM »
I’ve always taught the rules that if there is one Halfling, then the space is occupied and anything that can happen to a space can happen. Therefore a Bridge could cross a Halfling tile, even if only half the space is filled. Therefore, if this strange and unlikely scenario is possible, then leaving out the Crop Circle should be allowed.

According to the bridge's rules:
Quote
When placing a bridge, you must place both ends in a field
So even if we're not talking about halflings here, placing a bridge on a space filled with only one halfling doesn't meet the requirement that both ends have to be in a field  ;)
Order of play in french with every major expansions, minis and promos:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=346

Divider cards for CI & CII both in French & English:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=535

Offline corinthiens13

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Merit: 35
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #82 on: January 24, 2021, 04:50:54 AM »
I'm using those rules:
  • A space occupied by a single halfling is considered as filled with a tile
  • A space occupied by two halflings counts as two different tiles (each halflings counts for the evaluation of a city or road; the dragon, plague and tower affect only one halfling at a time for example), except for the evaluation of an area completed by its adjacent tiles (monasteries, abbeys, cult places, German Castles, Castles...), for them we count each space, no matter if they're filled by one or two halflings
  • A bridge on two halflings is virtually split in two for actions and evaluations (place the pawns on a distinct side of the bridge)

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
  • Merit: 5
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: Carcassonne - Halb So Wild (neue Edition)
« Reply #83 on: January 24, 2021, 09:07:33 AM »
According to @Meepledrone's Image called: Halflings_Bridges_Dragon_v1.png
My previous example was devil question: what if.

But. Is it possible this situation. I'm not sure.

I'm going back to my logical thinking about rules:

You can place bridge to:
1. on the tile you placed
2. on a tile adjacent to the tile you placed

So there is no possibility in rules of bridge to place on Halfling because:
1. on halfling you placed - it has to be also placed to already placed halfling or empty space - nor are allowed
2. over two already placed halflings which are adjacent to the tile you placed - this is against rules

But Halfling ruins a lot of traditional rules ;-)


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
WTB Belagerer and old Halb so Wild II

Started by Drodo

5 Replies
459 Views
Last post July 14, 2020, 05:23:29 PM
by Drodo
xx
Neue Landschaftskarten - New Tiles, by Guido Kämmer

Started by Murphy013

1 Replies
789 Views
Last post October 07, 2019, 11:16:51 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Meeple in The Wild

Started by Decar

14 Replies
5360 Views
Last post July 13, 2018, 09:53:55 AM
by Decar
xx
[The Barbarian Report] Halflings I/II: Twice As Fun, Half As Wild

Started by Whaleyland

7 Replies
4716 Views
Last post December 01, 2014, 06:05:43 AM
by SRBO
xx
Clarification of rules-Talk with HiG-Georg Wild at Spiel 2013 in Essen

Started by kettlefish

22 Replies
9157 Views
Last post December 05, 2013, 06:21:44 PM
by Carcking