Author Topic: Questions  (Read 13185 times)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #225 on: April 21, 2020, 10:22:51 AM »
[202.] I recently picked up Expansion 10 - Under the Big Top.

When you place a tile adjacent to an Acrobat tile does this allow you to place a meeple on ANY Acrobat tile?

Hi Babycathannahthomas!

Congrats for your first post. Hope you enjoy the forum and all its contents about official rules, fan expansions, playing online... You name it.

Back to your question...

No, when you place a tile adjacent to one one more Acrobat tiles, you may only place a meeple on those adjacent acrobat tiles.

You can revisit the rules here - please check the sentence before Example 2):
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Under_the_Big_Top#2._Placing_a_meeple_2

Cheers!

PS: Whaaat?? This is my 1500th post. Can't believe it.  :o
First off, thank you for for responding. Also, congrats on achieving your 1500th post.

Second, I love Wikicarpedia.com. I have been using since I first picked up the base game. It has helped so much. So a BIG thank you to everyone who has worked on it, contributed to it, and maintains it.

Hi Babycathannahthopmas!

Thank you for your kind words on behalf of the whole team. Much obliged! ;D

We are always looking for feedback to improve its contents.

As you may have seen, this topic has become great source to validate an interesting number of interactions lately...  O0

Thanks for participating.

Cheers!
« Last Edit: April 21, 2020, 10:25:15 AM by Meepledrone »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #226 on: April 21, 2020, 11:24:01 AM »
[203.] Lastly, I do want to clarify what happens in a certain situation:
There are 2 meeples already on an Acrobat tile and I place a tile adjacent to that Acrobat tile. This new tile fills in the last empty space surrounding the Acrobat tile. I choose not to finish the pyramid. Are the meeples on the Acrobat tile now stuck there until the end of the game?

In short, can I trap an opponent's meeples on the Acrobat tile?

Yes, you can trap meeples in an incomplete pyramid if no tiles can be placed adjacent to the acrobat tile. This would mean those acrobats would stay in the pyramid until the end of the game...

...unless you play with any of the following expansion that would allow you to:
* Add a new meeple to a pyramid by other placement methods:
   - Magic portals (C1/C2 Exp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon)
   - Flying machines (C1/C2 Mini #1 - The Flier (Flying Machines)
* Remove a meeple from the pyramid without scoring it:
   - Use the dragon (C1/C2 Exp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon) - all meeples in the tile removed
   - Capture an acrobat (C1/C2 Exp. 4 - The Tower)
   - Use a festival (C1/C2 The Festival)
   - Use the plague (C1 The Plague)
   - Use the Pest sector in the Wheel of Fortune (C1 The Wheel of Fortune)
   - Use a Knock out token (C1 The Catapult)
   - Use the Vodyanoy tile (C1 Russian Promos) - all meeples in the tile trapped by can be retrieved one at a time
* Exchange a meeple in a pyramid for another meeple:
   - Use a Seduction token (C1 The Catapult)
   - Swap followers with La Porxada (C1 La Porxada)
* Score and remove a meeple from the pyramid
   - Receive Message 8 (Mini #2 - The Messages (C1/C2 Dispatches)

After all, it seems you have some options to recover your meeples trapped in a pyramid with the right expansions. ;)

You can revisit the acrobat placement rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Under_the_Big_Top#2._Placing_a_meeple_2

[There are 2 meeples already on an Acrobat tile and I place a tile adjacent to that Acrobat tile. This new tile fills in the last empty space surrounding the Acrobat tile. I choose not to finish the pyramid. Are the meeples on the Acrobat tile now stuck there until the end of the game?

In short, can I trap an opponent's meeples on the Acrobat tile?
Oh yes!

(I'm sure there'll be an exception if you're using The Druid expansion and place a Phoenix Egg or whatever, but I'll let MeepleDrone cover those edge cases.)

I think we all agree here!  ;D
« Last Edit: April 21, 2020, 11:26:33 AM by Meepledrone »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #227 on: April 21, 2020, 12:36:23 PM »
[204.] We are still playing Mega Carcassonne with a lot of expansions so it made some questions:
1. When you score Acrobats and active player have in pyramide Phantom, is allowed play with Phantom Step2B-2?
2. Dragon is eating all meeples on tile? So if there is for example Big Meeple on Field, Meeple on Road and Phantom on City?
3. When player play Tower, how many meeples can catch, one and decide which one, on all of them on Tile?
4. In Watchtowers is written, when you have Meeple on Watchtower, it means, if it's in City or Road on a tile connected to Watchtower. When I have it on City and city is finished
a) got player with meeple on watchtower extra points by watchtower symbon evan if player have no majority?
b) when city is finished, and all meeples from city is given to their players, player lost watchtower - just confirm
c) is it possible to go to watchtower by magic portal if City or road is not finished and it's not accupied by other meeples?
5. Can eat Dragon meeples in Bathhouse (Barber-Surgeons)

My answers with pure knowledge of rules was during game
1. Yes
2. Everyone with are not on diet
3. Here I'm not sure
4a) yes
4b) yes
4c) yes
5. Yes even if not only one meeple on tile (look at question 2)

Thanks

1. Yes, you can place your phantom again right after the acrobat pyramid is scored since this evaluation takes place in Step 2B-1 (step for first figure (or token ;)) placement). The meeples in the pyramid are returned to their owners in this step, so that active player could retrieve their phantom and place it again in Step 2B-2.

You can check the order of play here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play



2. Yes, the dragon will eat any meeple on a tile, no matter its location or type. If a meeple is located on a castle overlapping the tile, the meeple will be safe as the castle is not placed in a particular tile.

You can see the dragon's menu and diet plan and the features providing protection in full detail here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#2b._The_dragon.27s_menu_.28what_the_dragon_eats.29



3. You can capture one meeple per tower piece placed. You can choose any meeple in range. So, if you add a third tower piece to a tower, you may capture one meeple on any tile with distance 0 (the tower tile), 1, 2 or 3 horizontally or vertically from the tower.

You can review the rules and examples here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Tower#2._Placing_a_meeple_or_a_tower_floor



4.a) Yes, the player on the watchtower tile in the city scores the bonus, no matter if the player has the majority or not.

You can review the watchtower scoring rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Watchtowers#Scoring_a_feature



4.b) Yes, you may not score the watchtower again for that particular city.

However, there are tiles with multiple feature segments sharing the same watchtower. This is one example with two city segments and one road segment: 

With the right expansions, you could place multiple meeples on those tiles and therefore score the same watchtower multiple times:
* Exp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon: you may use a magic portal to place a meeple on a city or road segment with a watchtower on an unoccupied city.
* Mini #1 - The Flier (Flying machines): you may place multiple meeples on the same tile and even on the same feature segment, allowing you to score the same watchtower from the same feature. Each meeple would score the same watchtower once even on the same feature segment. This is not in the rules (remember the disclaimer: at your own risk  ;)), but watchtowers are scored by figures on the watchtower tile. It the meeples share the same feature segment, each meeple should be scored individually, the same as they would be placed on separate features.
* Mini #7 - The Crop Circles: you may place an additional meeple next to a another meeple located on a watchtower tile. So each meeple (even on the same feature) would score individually (see previous bullet about Mini #1)
* The Phantom: You may place a second meeple on the same watchtower tile, allowing you to score the same watchtower multiple times.

You can review the watchtower scoring rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Watchtowers#Scoring_a_feature



4.c) Yes, you can deploy meeples with different methods to a watchtower tile, for example a magic portal, a flying machine or a crop circle. Please check my comments in the previous response.



5) Yes, the dragon will eat any meeples on a tile it is placed, no matter what feature they are on. Just as a reminder, there are some features that will protect meeples because they are not assigned to a particular tile: castles, the school, the City of Carcassonne, the City of Leipzig and the Wheel of Fortune.

You can check what's on the dragon's menu and what's not here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#2b._The_dragon.27s_menu_.28what_the_dragon_eats.29

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #228 on: April 21, 2020, 12:39:37 PM »
[205.] "Exp. 4 - The Tower: If you capture an acrobat with the tower, you can choose any meeple in the pyramid (regardless of its position)."

Yes, you can choose the acrobat in a pyramid you want to capture with a tower.

Please check this interaction clarified in the rules between expansion 4 and 10:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Under_the_Big_Top#Acrobat_tiles_and_acrobats

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #229 on: April 21, 2020, 01:10:54 PM »
[206.] "1 point for each tile showing at least one road". Wooden bridges?

Bridges are considered as printed road segments, so the watchtower scoring for road segments would consider bridges too.

This is not in the rules of the The Watchtowers, as they are written with the base game in mind, but the rules for Exp. 8 - Castles, Bridges and Bazaars explain that:
* "...You can place your meeple (or another figure) on the bridge as if it were a road."
* "Bridges are scored like tiles with a road on them."
This means they are equivalent for all purposes.

You can review the rules and clarifications for bridges here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Bridges,_Castles_and_Bazaars#2._Placing_a_meeple



[207.] You place a tile, which finish a road occupied by blue and a city occupied by your ringmaster, which is placed on a watchtower tile. Which is the correct order?
a) 1. You score the watchtower; 2. the city, the road; 3. the ringmaster;
b) 1. You score the road; 2. (the watchtower, the city and then the ringmaster)/You score 1. (the watchtower, the city and then the ringmaster); 2. the road;
c) 1. You score the watchtower; 2. the road, (the city, the ringmaster).

Option b) is correct. You score each feature with the associated bonus individually.
Feature 1 - Blue's road: road feature scoring
Feature 2 - Your city: watchtower bonus + city feature scoring + ringmaster bonus

As the active player, you may decide the order of evaluation of the features according to your preference:
Option 1: Feature 1 + Feature 2
Option 2: Feature 2 + Feature 1

The order may be unimportant unless you are playing with any of these expansions:
* Mini #6 - The Robbers: the order of evaluation affects the points stolen by players.
* The Barber-Surgeons: the order of evaluation decides the meeples to be trapped in empty bathhouses.

You can check the Order of Play to check how features are scored individually:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play

Edit: Renamed option to avoid confusion with two sets of a) and b) enumerations.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2020, 11:31:17 AM by Meepledrone »

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #230 on: April 21, 2020, 01:14:32 PM »
2. Yes, the dragon will eat any meeple on a tile, no matter its location or type. If a meeple is located on a castle overlapping the tile, the meeple will be safe as the castle is not placed in a particular tile.

You can see the dragon's menu and diet plan and the features providing protection in full detail here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#2b._The_dragon.27s_menu_.28what_the_dragon_eats.29


What about tile with German castle? This is standard "tile" in meaning for Dragon expansion, but only difference is that double sized?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #231 on: April 21, 2020, 01:24:15 PM »
[208.] "You may only reposition a ferry only once per turn." Can you move the ferry from the first position to the second position?





Yes, the rules have only one restriction: you may only move a ferry connected to the road you are extending. There is no restriction about the ends allowed to be connected after moving it. For example, there is no restriction forcing you to move just one end and maintaining the other connected to its previous road (like pivoting on one end).

You can revisit the annotated rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Ferries#1._Extending_a_road_with_a_ferry_on_it_.5B4.5D

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #232 on: April 21, 2020, 01:31:12 PM »
(204.)2. Yes, the dragon will eat any meeple on a tile, no matter its location or type. If a meeple is located on a castle overlapping the tile, the meeple will be safe as the castle is not placed in a particular tile.

You can see the dragon's menu and diet plan and the features providing protection in full detail here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#2b._The_dragon.27s_menu_.28what_the_dragon_eats.29


What about tile with German castle? This is standard "tile" in meaning for Dragon expansion, but only difference is that double sized?

German castles do not protect meeples on the castle itself or any feature on the tile. The castle is located on a tile, even if it is a double-sized tile. Only castles from Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles & Bazaars protect the meeples in them.

You can check the clarification about this case here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#Dragon


Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • Posts: 5431
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Questions
« Reply #233 on: April 21, 2020, 02:16:15 PM »

German castles do not protect meeples on the castle itself or any feature on the tile. The castle is located on a tile, even if it is a double-sized tile. Only castles from Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles & Bazaars protect the meeples in them.

You can check the clarification about this case here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#Dragon

...sigh...

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #234 on: April 21, 2020, 02:34:39 PM »
[209.] serious one, sorry :)

I was playing on Jcloisterzone and I am having doubts on this case.

An unoccupied monastery was finished next to my incomplete shrine and I was awarded 0 points and my follower was removed. I thought it was just about challenge and meeple on both structures but seems like I was mistaken

I tried to read wikicarpedia several times but couldn't find answer

This seems a bug in JCZ.

A challenge requires a monk and a heretic on adjacent features. So no meeple on one of them means no challenge.

If you check the rules, there may be several outcomes:
* The challenge is interrupted (ends without resolution) if one of the figure is removed (a dragon, a removed abbot,... you name it)
* The challenge ends and one of the meeples wins: one meeple scores 9 points, the other scores 0 points, and both meeples are removed.
* The challenge ends with a tie: both meeples score 9 points and then they are removed.

Normally the challenge is declared with the direct placement of a figure on a newly placed tile. When a challenge is interrupted, it can be restarted with the placement of a new meeple on the vacated monastery or shrine by means of a magic portal or a flying machine.

In a nutshell, a challenge needs the presence of meeples on both features. If one is missing, no challenge can be triggered or, if started, it ends without resolution.

You can review the rules here:
* Basic challenge rules: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#2._Placing_a_meeple_as_a_heretic
* Additional interactions: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#The_cultists_2

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Merit: 134
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #235 on: April 21, 2020, 02:35:16 PM »

German castles do not protect meeples on the castle itself or any feature on the tile. The castle is located on a tile, even if it is a double-sized tile. Only castles from Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles & Bazaars protect the meeples in them.

You can check the clarification about this case here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#Dragon

...sigh...

I know, I know... you are in pain.  O0

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 109
  • Merit: 1
  • Cathedrals in Germany in New Edition
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #236 on: April 21, 2020, 04:47:51 PM »
"2 points for each meeple". What happens if you score before scoring the watchtower a road on which there is a meeple situated in watchtower's area?

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #237 on: April 22, 2020, 12:43:32 AM »
"2 points for each meeple". What happens if you score before scoring the watchtower a road on which there is a meeple situated in watchtower's area?

Please describe this situation, becaouse scoring by watchtower is befor scoring of finished features (roads, cities, ...)

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 109
  • Merit: 1
  • Cathedrals in Germany in New Edition
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #238 on: April 22, 2020, 12:48:55 AM »
Quote
Option b) is correct. You score each feature with the associated bonus individually.
Feature 1 - Blue's road: road feature scoring
Feature 2 - Your city: watchtower bonus + city feature scoring + ringmaster bonus

Offline DrMeeple

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 462
  • Merit: 12
  • Meeples are meeples.
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #239 on: April 22, 2020, 02:06:17 AM »

German castles do not protect meeples on the castle itself or any feature on the tile. The castle is located on a tile, even if it is a double-sized tile. Only castles from Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles & Bazaars protect the meeples in them.

You can check the clarification about this case here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#Dragon

...sigh...
Hahahaha me too

Enviado desde St. Meeple Hospital

'Connected field segments are called farms'  - The Weed Guru


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
JCZ V4.01 Questions

Started by rfielder

3 Replies
1036 Views
Last post December 14, 2017, 01:35:23 AM
by MrNumbers
xx
A few odd questions...

Started by Christopher

3 Replies
2079 Views
Last post November 04, 2016, 07:58:25 AM
by ny1050220
xx
Two questions C I

Started by tp10053

13 Replies
1545 Views
Last post July 23, 2018, 06:17:06 AM
by tp10053
question
Castles - 2 Questions

Started by Carcassebs

9 Replies
5599 Views
Last post February 25, 2013, 10:11:22 AM
by Carcassebs
xx
School questions

Started by MrNumbers

10 Replies
4466 Views
Last post May 05, 2014, 01:09:09 PM
by kettlefish