Author Topic: Questions  (Read 3480 times)

Offline DrMeeple

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 321
  • Merit: 11
  • Meeples are meeples.
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #120 on: March 26, 2020, 01:17:08 PM »
I have a question... Why are meeples meeples?...

Enviado desde St. Meeple Hospital

'Connected field segments are called farms'  - The Weed Guru

Offline Luijosep

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #121 on: March 26, 2020, 01:21:27 PM »
[171.] I got a quick question. I noticed that the rules in Wikicarpedia for C2 'The Princess and the Dragon' changed the turn sequence for the Dragon movement to 2B, Why? Physical rules say it happens at Phase 1B.

Sent from my HMA-L29 using Tapatalk

Hi Luijosep,

Welcome to the forum. Bienvenido al foro... para que veas que aquĆ­ hablamos de todo.  ;)

If you check the rules for the dragon tile, first you place the tile (action belonging to phase 1. Placing a tile) and then you may place a meeple (action belonging to phase 2. Placing a meeple). Right after that you move the dragon. So even if HiG misleadingly number the dragon movement as phase 1B, it is actually phase 2b as it happens after finishing phase 2. Placing a meeple and before phase 3. Scoring a feature.

That's why we renamed the dragon movement as phase 2b in the dragon rules (unwinding the rules to make them clearer) and in the Order of Play:
* The dragon tile rules: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#The_dragon_tiles
* Order of Play: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play

As you can see HiG is inconsistent in their rules and sometimes mislead players. Hope this helps.

Cheers!
Yes, now I get it. The rules are kind of confusing since it says 1b, but the instructions claim that first you place the tile, then a Follower and after that the game will be interrupted to move the Dragon.

By the text it's clear that the Dragon moves at Phase 2b, I see that now. Thanks.

Sent from my HMA-L29 using Tapatalk


Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #122 on: March 26, 2020, 01:57:34 PM »
Your welcome! Glad to help.

And welcome to my world  ;)


Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #123 on: March 27, 2020, 07:30:26 AM »
Can you fly on a tower?

Offline DrMeeple

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 321
  • Merit: 11
  • Meeples are meeples.
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #124 on: March 27, 2020, 12:00:12 PM »
Can you fly on a tower?
Only Supermeeple ;)

Enviado desde St. Meeple Hospital


Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #125 on: March 27, 2020, 05:04:09 PM »
[173.] Can you fly on a tower?

This case is not covered in the rules or existing clarifications. The interpretation of the rules lead to the conclusion that meeples can be flown to any incomplete feature even if it is occupied except for fields, this means that the feature should be able to be completed and scored. A tower cannot be claimed, completed or scored, so it should be discarded as a valid destination for a flier.

Note: If flying meeples to a tower was allowed, you would have a new conundrum to solve: how to deal with more than one meeple on top of a tower. Not a big deal, but it is something not covered in the rules either.

I understand you would prefer to land a flier to a tower as a last resort instead of removing a figure due to the luck of other options in the destination tile but, if your initial intention is to place your meeple on a tower, why don't do it directly instead of pushing your luck (if it was allowed).

You can check here the placement rules for a flier and for a meeple on a tower:
* The flier rules: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier#2._Placing_a_meeple
* The placement of meeples on a tower: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Tower#2._Placing_a_meeple_or_a_tower_floor

Offline wolnic

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 738
  • Merit: 87
  • Ummm and Ahhh! Can't decide!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #126 on: March 28, 2020, 07:26:11 AM »
Maybe the question was meant to be "fly from a tower" - could be a house rule/variant - add extra distance depending on the height of the tower  ;)
Complete: Catch Of The Day (C1/2/WD), Cliffs&W'falls (C1/2), Coast (C1/2), FishHuts (C2), Fluvium (C2), NewForest (C2), Harvest (C1/2), Stone Circles (C1/2), Wells (C2), Jordan River 2 (AotC)
Development: AutumnForest/Sakura (C2), WinterEdge (C1), WinterCoast (WD/WE) and others

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #127 on: March 28, 2020, 05:49:33 PM »
How many points do you receive for a road that starts and ends on a same double-tile? You receive 1 point or 2 points for the double-tile?
Can you place the tollhouse on a road occupied by other tollhouse?
Can you place the phantom in a turn in which you place the tollhouse?
"You resolve step 1A for message 4. (It's a full turn)". Where is written that?
Can you place a meeple and the phantom on the labyrinth-tile in the same turn?
Can you place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne  if you receive points for big top?
« Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 04:24:34 AM by Carcassonne93 »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #128 on: March 29, 2020, 06:14:50 AM »
Maybe the question was meant to be "fly from a tower" - could be a house rule/variant - add extra distance depending on the height of the tower  ;)

Ha ha ha!

That would be something new... Are you creating tower tiles with flying machines? This would be an fan-expansion thing.  ;D

I think I came across with something similar with cliffs. :o

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #129 on: March 29, 2020, 08:56:32 AM »
[174.] How many points do you receive for a road that starts and ends on a same double-tile? You receive 1 point or 2 points for the double-tile?

The tile is counted only once, as any regular tile. You would get 1 point for the double-sized tile as per the normal rules.

You also can see here that a road starting and ending at a German castle only gets the 3-point bonus once, that is, the double-sized tile is considered only once in all respects:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Castles_in_Germany#cite_note-3

[175.] Can you place the tollhouse on a road occupied by other tollhouse?

There is no limitation in the rules in this regard. The only limitation is that the crossroads you choose to place your tollhouse has to be free.

So, you may place a tollhouse on a free crossroads at the end of one road even if the other end is another crossroads already occupied by another player's tollhouse.

You can revisit the rules here (I added a clarification as a result of your question):
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Tollkeepers#Placing_a_meeple

[176.] Can you place the phantom in a turn in which you place the tollhouse?

Yes, you can place your phantom after placing or moving your tollhouse. The tollhouse is placed instead of one of your meeples as first figure, but you can place your phantom as second figure on your turn.

You can revisit the whole turn sequence here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play 

[177.] "You resolve step 1A for message 4. (It's a full turn)". Where is written that?

I haven't found it in any clarification but it is the interpretation of the rules you can make after noticing you can have a double turn when resolving a Message 4 tile. If so, there is no reason to perform a full turn and follow a normal turn sequence as described in the Order of Play.

You can see the clarification about Message 4 and the builder double turn here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#cite_note-16

You can revisit the whole turn sequence of the Order of Play here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play 

[178.] Can you place a meeple and the phantom on the labyrinth-tile in the same turn?

You can place only one of them as you are occupying one feature only, you can place either one of your wooden meeples or your phantom on the labyrinth tile.

Take also into consideration the occupancy rules for the labyrinth:
* Basic rules: you can only occupy the labyrinth tile if no meeple is placed on the connected roads.
* Advance rules: you can occupy the labyrinth tile no matter the meeples placed on the connected roads.

You can revisit the Labyrinth rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Labyrinths#Placing_a_meeple

[179.] Can you place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne  if you receive points for big top?

As per the rules, after placing a tile, you can place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne if you received no points for features scored in phase 3. Scoring a feature but at least one other player did. This includes the big top.

So if you get points for the big top, you will not be able to deploy a meeple to then city of Carcassonne. On the other hand, if you place a circus tile and get no points from the scoring the big top (or any other completed feature) and at least one player does, then you would be allowed to place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne.

You can revisit the rules about meeple deployment to the city of Carcassonne here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#2._Placing_a_meeple_in_the_City_of_Carcassonne

Offline cicerunner

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 64
  • Merit: 4
  • native C2 speaker (but still a toddler)
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #130 on: March 29, 2020, 11:24:37 PM »
[178.] Can you place a meeple and the phantom on the labyrinth-tile in the same turn?

You can place only one of them as you are occupying one feature only, you can place either one of your wooden meeples or your phantom on the labyrinth tile.

Take also into consideration the occupancy rules for the labyrinth:
* Basic rules: you can only occupy the labyrinth tile if no meeple is placed on the connected roads.
* Advance rules: you can occupy the labyrinth tile no matter the meeples placed on the connected roads.
Surely you can place one meeple (normal or phantom) as a highwayman on the labyrinth itself and one as s farmer on one of the thin fields on the edges of the tile?


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
JCZ V4.01 Questions

Started by rfielder

3 Replies
893 Views
Last post December 14, 2017, 01:35:23 AM
by MrNumbers
xx
A few odd questions...

Started by Christopher

3 Replies
1899 Views
Last post November 04, 2016, 07:58:25 AM
by ny1050220
xx
Two questions C I

Started by tp10053

13 Replies
1277 Views
Last post July 23, 2018, 06:17:06 AM
by tp10053
question
Castles - 2 Questions

Started by Carcassebs

9 Replies
5118 Views
Last post February 25, 2013, 10:11:22 AM
by Carcassebs
xx
School questions

Started by MrNumbers

10 Replies
4222 Views
Last post May 05, 2014, 01:09:09 PM
by kettlefish