Author Topic: Questions  (Read 3477 times)

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Questions
« on: February 19, 2020, 04:59:23 AM »
1. If you remove a knight with the princess, can you place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne?
2. If you remove a knight with the princess, can you place a meeple in the Markets of Leipzig?
3. If the fairy is placed on the same tile with a non-meeple, (builder, pig, shepherd etc.), do you receive the „1 point at the beginning of your turn” and „Additional points when scoring”?
4. Can you fly with a big meeple, builder, pig, wagon, shepherd or ringmaster?
5. Can you move a meeple from cathedral to an abbey, garden, castle from Germany, monastery from Germany or japanese building?
6. Can you place the abbot in a castle from Germany, monastery from Germany or japanese building?
7. Bridges, Castles and Bazaars: Do you receive points with the castle if in its 6-tile area a garden is finished?
8. If you have a normal meeple placed on a hill, in a city, and another player has a big meeple placed on the same city, who receive the points?
9. If there are 3 or 2 meeple of same colour in a pyramid or on the same tile, all 3 or 2 meeples receive points with the big top?
10. The messages: (2) Smallest City: The same as Message 1, but for cities, instead of roads. If you score a city without cathedral and Coats of Arms, composed from 5 tiles (example), dou you receive 5? Or 10?
11. The messages: (3) Smallest Monastery: The same as Message 1, but for monasteries, instead of roads. Can you score shrines, abbeys, gardens, castles from Germany, monastery from Germany or japanese building?
12. The messages: (3) Smallest Monastery: The same as Message 1, but for monasteries, instead of roads. If you have a meeple place as an abbot on a monastery from Germany or japanese building, can you score it?
13. Can you place the mage or the witch in a castle from Germany?
14. Can you place the mage or the witch in a castle (Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)?
15. Do you receive points with the robber if the flock of sheep is scored?
16. Can you place a meeple on a tile and place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne in the same turn?
17. If you remove a knight with the princess, can you grow the flock (of sheep)?
18. If you place the tile with the volcano from River II, can you grow the flock (of sheep)?
19. What happens with the starting tiles if you play with The River, Count, King and Robber and The Markets of Leipzig simultaneously?
20. The Markets of Leipzig: If you play with other expansions that contain meeples, do you need the extra meeple („If possible give an extra meeple to each player as meeples might run low easily in this variant.”)?
21. In this image (http://wikicarpedia.com/images/1/14/Markets_Of_Leipzig_C2_Example_01.png), the road with Lipsia score 2 or 3 points?
22. Count, King and Robber: In this image (http://wikicarpedia.com/images/1/19/Inns_And_Cathedrals_C2_Tile_I.jpg), if you have the robber, do you receive 2 points?
23. In the Example 2 (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Robbers#3._Scoring_a_feature), can you follow the red meeple with the yellow robber (the yellow robber followed the blue meeple)?
24. Can you place the Abbey in a place in wich is surrounded by 8 tiles (to be finished in the same turn)?
25. How many cities are there in this image (http://wikicarpedia.com/images/8/8b/Abbey_And_Mayor_C2_Abbey_Example_02.png)?
26. Can you place the red mayor in a city that contains other red meeples („A mayor may only be placed in a city containing no knights or mayors.”)?
27. Can you place red meeples in a city that contains a red mayor („A mayor may only be placed in a city containing no knights or mayors.”)?
28. What happens if there are 2 meeples in a castle (Bridges, Castles and Bazaars) like in this example1 (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier#2._Placing_a_meeple).
29. If you choose to fly, and you have where to place the meeple, are you forced to place the meeple on that tile or you can choose to do not place a meeple in this turn?
30. The Messages: Do you receive a message tile if you pay (or lose) points (The Tower or Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)?
31. The Messages: Do you receive a message tile if you receive 1 point from the fairy or points from the robber?
32.  The Messages: In the same turn: You have the meeple on 0. You score a city with 10 points. Now you have the meeple on 10. Then, you score 2 points for a road. Now you have the meeple on 12. Do you receive a message tile?
33. The fairy has effect for a castle?
34. You have a road with inn. It also have the mage and the fairy. You receive 21 points (6 tiles (6p.), 6p. for inn, 6p. for magae and 3 for fairy). The acstle receive 21 points?
35. You receive 22 points with a city. You receive 22 points with a castle. Can you receive the points for the city with the meeple and the points for the castle with the messenger?
36. A player A pay 3 points. In this case you receive -2 points with the robber (you have the robber on player A)?
37. A player receive 1 point with the fairy and pay 3 points in the same turn. How many points do you receive with the robber (you have the robber on player A)?
38. Crop Circles: Can you place a red meeple in a city where are 1 red meeple and 1 blue meeple?
39. Three cloister are finished in the same turn. Player A receive 12 points (Leipzig). Robber B is placed on player A. How many points receive robber B?

Thanks!



Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4526.0
« Last Edit: February 21, 2020, 01:29:53 PM by Carcassonne93 »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2020, 03:15:22 PM »
Hi Carcassonne93,

Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy all the stuff available here.  ;D

See my answers below for questions 1 to 5. I will continue tomorrow.

1. If you remove a knight with the princess, can you place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne?

Short answer: No, there is no relation between princess tiles and the City of Carcassonne.

Long answer:

Placing a meeple in the City of Carcassonne requires you to complete a feature scored by another player while you get no points. The removal of a knight has no direct relationship with the completion or the scoring of a feature, so no meeple could be deployed to the City of Carcassonne as a result of this particular action.

Another case is that you completed a city with the princess tile (removing a knight as a side effect) but you scored no points. This action of completing the city for other players would allow you to deploy a meeple to the City of Carcassonne.

You can revisit the rules here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#2._Placing_a_meeple_in_the_City_of_Carcassonne

2. If you remove a knight with the princess, can you place a meeple in the Markets of Leipzig?

Short answer: No, there is no relation between princess tiles and the Markets of Carcassonne.

Long answer:

The scenario that allows you to send a meeple to Leipzig is the following:
(i) You complete a road connected to Leipzig
(ii) You have the majority on the road
(iii) You decide to send one of your meeples on the road to Leipzig (the scoring depends on your meeples on the road and the destination district)

You can revisit the rules here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Markets_of_Leipzig#Scoring_a_feature

The princess tile has no direct connection to the scenario described above. There are two princess tiles with road segments that can help you close a road leading to Leipzig, but the removal of a knight will have no impact on the the reason to send meeples to Leipzig. 

3. If the fairy is placed on the same tile with a non-meeple, (builder, pig, shepherd etc.), do you receive the „1 point at the beginning of your turn” and „Additional points when scoring”?

Short answer: No, the fairy only affects meeples.

Long answer:

The fairy can only be assigned to meeples, so special figures such as the builder, the pig, the shepherd or the barn cannot benefit from the additional points provided by the fairy.

You can revisit the rules here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#2._Placing_a_meeple_4

4. Can you fly with a big meeple, builder, pig, wagon, shepherd or ringmaster?

Short answer: A big meeple, a wagon and a ringmaster can be fliers. Builders, pigs and shepherds cannot fly.

Long answer: Only meeples can be fliers (regular meeples, large meeple, mayor, wagon, ringmaster, abbot, phantom). Special figures cannot be fliers (builder, pig, shepherd, barn). Regarding mayors and abbots, these figures can only land on valid features our to their placement restrictions. Additionally, the phantom used as a second figure, can only be a flier if the first figure did not use the flying machine.

You can find more detailed information here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier#cite_note-1

5. Can you move a meeple from cathedral to an abbey, garden, castle from Germany, monastery from Germany or japanese building?

You can deploy a meeple from the cathedral district in the City of Carcassonne to any monastic building, that is, monastery, abbey, shrine, German monastery, Dutch & Belgian monastery, Japanese building or Darmstadt church. Gardens, German castles and German cathedrals are not monastic buildings and are not considered as possible destinations.

The meeple can only be placed as a monk even if the destination is a German monastery, a Dutch & Belgian monastery or a Japanese building. The reason is that the destination feature is supposed to have been just completed. Meeples placed as abbots do not consider the feature completed even if surrounded so they stay on the feature (even if surrounded) until the end of the game, when they are evaluated.

You can review the rules here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#The_city_of_Carcassonne_and_the_count_of_Carcassonne


Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2020, 05:22:14 AM »
Ha ha ha!!

More and more questions... Love it.

One thing, if you want to show an image inline, use the IMG tag instead of the URL tag. Don't know if you wanted to do this or just included the raw URL on purpose.

URL:

http://wikicarpedia.com/images/1/14/Markets_Of_Leipzig_C2_Example_01.png

IMG:

« Last Edit: February 21, 2020, 05:25:17 AM by Meepledrone »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2020, 03:22:59 PM »
Some more answers...

6. Can you place the abbot in a castle from Germany, monastery from Germany or japanese building?

You can place an abbot on a German monastery (also on a C1 Dutch & Belgian monastery)  or on a Japanese building as they are monasteries (no matter they have special rules). Just to drive you crazy, these special monasteries would allow you to place your abbot as a monk (standing) or as an abbot (on its side):
* If placed as a monk, the abbot meeple would follow the regular rules, that is, you can evaluate the monastery when completed or you could score the monastery early by removing the abbot before completing the monastery. 
* If placed as a abbot, the abbot meeple would stay on the special monastery until the end of the game, when it can be evaluated. 

Please check here for a clarification about the placement covering the special monasteries:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Abbot#cite_note-5

Regarding German castles, the abbot cannot occupy them. The same happens with Baba Yaga's Hut. Both features have a scoring mechanism more or less similar to monasteries but they are not proper monasteries.

For more info:
* Monasteries in Germany (C2) / Japanese Buildings (C2): http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Monasteries
* Monasteries in Germany (C1) / Monasteries in the Netherlands & Belgium (C1): http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Monasteries_(1st_edition)
* Castles in Germany (C2): http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Castles_in_Germany
* Castles in Germany (C1): http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Castles_in_Germany_(1st_edition)
* Baba Yaga's Hut (C1): http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Russian_Promos_(1st_edition)

7. Bridges, Castles and Bazaars: Do you receive points with the castle if in its 6-tile area a garden is finished?

Let's separate the question into two parts:
1) Does a completed garden trigger a castle scoring?
2) Can your castle lord score points for the completed garden?

And here you are the answers:
1) If a garden in one of the 6 tiles of your castle fief is completed, it would trigger the scoring of your castle.
2) If you have a meeple other than a mayor occupying the castle, you will score the points for the garden. The mayor cannot score points if placed in a castle as the castle has no coats of arms.

More info here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Bridges,_Castles_and_Bazaars#Castles_2


8. If you have a normal meeple placed on a hill, in a city, and another player has a big meeple placed on the same city, who receive the points?

The large meeple get the points. The hill is only taken into account if there is a tie which is not the case here (regular meeple vs. large meeple).

You can revisit the rules for scoring with a hill here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Hills_%26_Sheep#3._Scoring_a_hill

9. If there are 3 or 2 meeple of same colour in a pyramid or on the same tile, all 3 or 2 meeples receive points with the big top?

Each meeple on the circus space tile or on any adjacent tile meeple receives points individually from the big top when scored. The rules do not specify any restrictions, so it does not matter if several meeples share the same tile such as when placed in an acrobat pyramid. Thus no majority is aplied either. 

You can revisit the scoring rules of the big top here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Under_the_Big_Top#3._Scoring_a_feature

10. The messages: (2) Smallest City: The same as Message 1, but for cities, instead of roads. If you score a city without cathedral and Coats of Arms, composed from 5 tiles (example), dou you receive 5? Or 10?

You would get 5 points. The rules specify, that you score the feature "as you would during final scoring".

You can revisit the rules here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#The_Messages_Tiles

11. The messages: (3) Smallest Monastery: The same as Message 1, but for monasteries, instead of roads. Can you score shrines, abbeys, gardens, castles from Germany, monastery from Germany or japanese building?

This message would apply to any monastery version, that is, regular monasteries (or cloisters as in C1), shrines, abbeys, German monasteries, Dutch & Belgian monasteries, Japanese buildings and Darmstadt churches. German castles, gardens and Baba Yaga's Hut are not proper monasteries so they are not considered.

More info here:
* Clarifications for Message 3: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#The_Messages_Tiles
* Darmstadt churches: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Darmstadt_Promo_(1st_edition)#Church_Tiles

12. The messages: (3) Smallest Monastery: The same as Message 1, but for monasteries, instead of roads. If you have a meeple place as an abbot on a monastery from Germany or japanese building, can you score it?

This is a good question. The rules for Messages were created before Monasteries in Germany was released so the authors could only assume monasteries with a meeple as a monk evaluated ant the end of the game. In this case you are thinking of special monasteries with a meeple as an abbot which only can be evaluated at the end of the game.

There is no official clarification (none is expected either for the time being) regarding this interaction already discussed back in 2016 in the German forum:

https://www.carcassonne-forum.de/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=3434

There is no incompatibility or limitation in the official rules to force players not to consider special monasteries with a meeple placed as an abbot. It will have to be agreed at the beginning of a game one of the following house rules:
* Messsage (3) considers special monasteries with a meeple placed as a monk or as an abbot.
* Messsage (3) considers special monasteries with a meeple placed as a monk only. Special monasteries with a meeple placed as an abbot are not taken into consideration.

More info here:
* Clarifications for Message 3: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#The_Messages_Tiles


13. Can you place the mage or the witch in a castle from Germany?

No, the mage and the witch can only be placed on roads and cities.

Revisit the rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Mage_and_Witch#1._Placing_a_tile
 

14. Can you place the mage or the witch in a castle (Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)?

No, the mage and the witch can only be placed on roads and cities. A castle is not a city but a different feature, so no magic figure can be placed on it.

Revisit the rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Mage_and_Witch#1._Placing_a_tile

15. Do you receive points with the robber if the flock of sheep is scored?

Yes, you may steal points from flock of sheep being scored .

In general you may steal points generated from any scoring meeple or messenger moving forward except when those points are rogue points (points already stolen).

If your robber is next to a scoring meeple or messenger moving backwards (such as from a tower ransom or bazaar payment ), your robber will move with the figure but you won't lose points.

More details here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Robbers#3._Scoring_a_feature

16. Can you place a meeple on a tile and place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne in the same turn?

Yes, you can.

The actions mentioned happen in different phases of a player's turn. The sequence would be as follows:
* 1. Placing a tile: You place a tile and complete a feature controlled by another player, let's say in a city.
* 2. Placing a meeple: You place a meeple on a different feature, let's say on a road.
* 3. Scoring a feature: The other player scores the city thanks to you and you get no points. You are entitled then to place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne.

You can revisit the rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#2._Placing_a_meeple_in_the_City_of_Carcassonne

17. If you remove a knight with the princess, can you grow the flock (of sheep)?

Yes, you can.

The "Grow the Flock" action happens after the usual actions in phase 2. Placing a meeple take place. These usual action would include placing a meeple or removing a knight.

You can revisit the rules here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Hills_%26_Sheep#1._Placing_a_tile


Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2020, 04:06:19 AM »
Thank you!

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2020, 07:54:31 AM »
Some more answers...

18. If you place the tile with the volcano from River II, can you grow the flock (of sheep)?

Yes, the rules for extending a field with your shepherd would apply during the placement of the river and during the normal game. Therefore, using the volcano tile form River II to extend a field with your shepherd will allow you either to extend your flock or to score it.

You will find here a list of possible actions when placing a volcano tile not related to meeple/special figure placement:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#cite_note-3

Form that list, only a subset will be available when placing the volcano tile of River II, since some feature will not be present yet on the board. The available ones may be the following, depending on the expansions used:
* Fairy action (C1 & C2 Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon): move the fairy (as indicated in the rules).
* Shepherd actions (C1 & C2 Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep): grow the flock, guide the flock to the stable.
* Wheel of Fortune actions (C1 The Wheel of Fortune): place a meeple on the Wheel of Fortune.
* Abbot actions (C2 The Abbot): remove your abbot and score its points.
* Little building actions (C1 Little Buildings): place a little building on the tile just played.
 
19. What happens with the starting tiles if you play with The River, Count, King and Robber and The Markets of Leipzig simultaneously?

There is no official ruling about combining all these starting tiles, so it is up to the players to arrange them to their liking.

You may find various rules on combining
* River I and River II into one long river: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/River#Combining_The_River_and_The_River_II
* River I and/or River II and the City of Carcassonne (not recommended in C2): http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/River_(1st_edition)#The_Count_of_Carcassonne
* The base game start tile and the The School:

So my suggestion would be to have a look a the setups for mega-Carcassonne games and pick what you like and/or suits your needs..

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Mega-Carcassonne#Starting_expansions

20. The Markets of Leipzig: If you play with other expansions that contain meeples, do you need the extra meeple („If possible give an extra meeple to each player as meeples might run low easily in this variant.”)?

The rules of Markets of Leipzig are written only with the base game in mind and there are no clarifications about the interactions with other expansions. In this regard, when combining this expansions with others, it would be up to you to decide if you want play with 8 regular meeples (if possible), as recommended in the rules, or if you apply a house rule and go back to 7 regular meeples if other expansions incorporate new meeples to the game.

21. In this image (http://wikicarpedia.com/images/1/14/Markets_Of_Leipzig_C2_Example_01.png), the road with Lipsia score 2 or 3 points?

The road going from the village at the crossroads to Lipsia is worth 2 points.

As indicated in the rules: "The road on the double Land tiles counts merely as one road in a road scoring." So even if the road segments on the Markets of Leipzig double-sized tiles are longer than usual, they count as 1 point. Additionally, there is no line splitting the tiles in half to indicate there are two road segments on each tile.

You can review the scoring rules (third bullet under "Take note"):
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Markets_of_Leipzig#Scoring_a_feature

Other double-size tiles such as the German castles also behave as single tiles too for all purposes. However, you will find 2x3 tiles in the C2 version of The Count of Carcassonne or a 4x4 tile in the Wheel of Fortune that show dividing lines for the outer features, so the visual cue leads you to interpret them as individual tiles although they are part of a single "large tile".

You can see more here:
* Castles in Germany:  http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Castles_in_Germany
* The City of Carcassonne: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#The_city_of_Carcassonne_and_the_count_of_Carcassonne
* The Wheel of Fortune: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Wheel_of_Fortune_(1st_edition)#Starting_tiles_.5B9.5D

22. Count, King and Robber: In this image (http://wikicarpedia.com/images/1/19/Inns_And_Cathedrals_C2_Tile_I.jpg), if you have the robber, do you receive 2 points?

Good question!

I have been looking for a clarification on this matter to no avail. My take on this would be that, since short roads on various tiles like this one cannot be claimed or scored, they shouldn't be considered for the Robber Baron bonus either. Following this rationale, you would get 0 points for those two roads.

This would be the case for the tile you refer to from I&C and another one from The Festival:

I&CThe Festival

EDIT: So far I have found this discussion on this matter:
https://videogamegeek.com/thread/818886/scout-scoring-small-roads-ic-tile

23. In the Example 2 (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Robbers#3._Scoring_a_feature), can you follow the red meeple with the yellow robber (the yellow robber followed the blue meeple)?

In this case the yellow robber followed the blue scoring meeple since blue scored 3 rogue points (stolen points) and robbers cannot steal stonen points.



When you ask "can you follow the red meeple with the yellow robber?," do you mean instead of following the blue meeple or after the final scenario with all the figures on space 19? Please advice.

24. Can you place the Abbey in a place in wich is surrounded by 8 tiles (to be finished in the same turn)?

Yes, you can. You ca do it with an abbey, the same as with any other monastic building or even a garden.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2020, 12:26:07 PM by Meepledrone »

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2020, 08:43:40 AM »
When you ask "can you follow the red meeple with the yellow robber?," do you mean instead of following the blue meeple or after the final scenario with all the figures on space 19?
I want to say „after the final scenario with all the figures on space 19”.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2020, 09:28:45 AM »
Some more answers...

25. How many cities are there in this image (http://wikicarpedia.com/images/8/8b/Abbey_And_Mayor_C2_Abbey_Example_02.png)?

There are five cities in the image:



The abbey closes the edges of two of them but it is not part of any of them. As a side note, the abbey completed a one tile city (to the right of the abbey tile) and it also completed the 3-tile road occupied by the blue meeple.

See more info here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Abbey_and_the_Mayor#cite_note-7

26. Can you place the red mayor in a city that contains other red meeples („A mayor may only be placed in a city containing no knights or mayors.”)?

No, the mayor, as any other meeple valid in a city (abbots are not considered), can only be placed in an incomplete unoccupied city. The wording of the rules is a rather misleading hence, the following clarification:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Abbey_and_the_Mayor#cite_note-8

27. Can you place red meeples in a city that contains a red mayor („A mayor may only be placed in a city containing no knights or mayors.”)?

No, all meeples (including the mayor) can only be placed on an incomplete unoccupied features. This applies to any meeple placed in a city. See previous answer.

28. What happens if there are 2 meeples in a castle (Bridges, Castles and Bazaars) like in this example1 (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier#2._Placing_a_meeple).

Castles are not located on a particular tile so they cannot be reached by a flying machine or a magic portal:
* Flying machines can deploy a meeple to an incomplete feature located on a previously placed tile.
* Magic portals can deploy a meeple to an incomplete unoccupied feature located on a previously placed tile.

Castles are not cities so:
* You cannot use a crop circle with the shield symbol to deploy a meeple to a castle.
* You cannot deploy a meeple from the castle district in the City of Carcassonne to a castle.

More info:
* Using magic portals: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#2._Placing_a_meeple_3
* Using crop circles: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Crop_Circles#4._Crop_Circle_Action
* Deploying from the City of Carcassonne: http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#3._Scoring_a_feature_-_Moving_meeples_from_Carcassonne

29. If you choose to fly, and you have where to place the meeple, are you forced to place the meeple on that tile or you can choose to do not place a meeple in this turn?

As per the rules, once you decide to use the flying machine, you have to proceed all the way through. If the outcome is not one suiting you, you will have to accept it, even if your meeple is back to your supply when no valid placement is possible (there is no valid feature for your meeple or no tile in the location designated by the die).

30. The Messages: Do you receive a message tile if you pay (or lose) points (The Tower or Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)?

No, paying or losing points during your turn are not considered as events triggering messages. Check this clarification:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#cite_note-19

Actually, please have a look at this section that lists all the possible events that may produce scoring rounds triggering messages when combining various expansions:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#Rounds_of_Scoring

As you can see, bazaars and the tower are nor present in this list.

31. The Messages: Do you receive a message tile if you receive 1 point from the fairy or points from the robber?

Yes to both parts of the question:
* Fairy points: As commented in the previous answer, the 1-point fairy bonus generates a scoring round triggering messages.
* Robber points: During a scoring round, your scoring meeple or your messager may score stolen points and trigger a message. Check the interaction with The Messengers after Final Scoring (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Robbers#Final_scoring)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2020, 09:34:34 AM »
When you ask "can you follow the red meeple with the yellow robber?," do you mean instead of following the blue meeple or after the final scenario with all the figures on space 19?
I want to say „after the final scenario with all the figures on space 19”.

Yes, in this case the yellow robber will be able to follow the red meeple or the blue meeple if any of them scores rogue points. 

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2020, 12:09:30 PM »
And some more answers...

32.  The Messages: In the same turn: You have the meeple on 0. You score a city with 10 points. Now you have the meeple on 10. Then, you score 2 points for a road. Now you have the meeple on 12. Do you receive a message tile?

Yes, the idea of the scoring round and using two scoring figures is that maximize your odds to land on a dark space. In this case, your regular scoring round comprises the scoring of two features. The order you follow to score them grants you one landing on a dark space. Once you finish the scoring round you receive a message and proceed with it, maybe landing on a new dark space and receiving another message.

If you had scored 10 for your city and 5 for your road, you would still receive one message even after landing twice on dark spaces because both landings happened in the same scoring round.

As I commented in a previous post, please review all the clarifications provided in this section to better grasp how HiG addresses messages with multiple expansions grouping scoring events in scoring rounds.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#Rounds_of_Scoring

You may also find interesting this thread:

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4246.msg62474#msg62474

33. The fairy has effect for a castle?

No, the fairy gives 3 bonus points to a meeple on a feature being scored but the castle would only get the points scored for the feature. The castle is not aware of any bonus points scored by meeples on the feature.

I know this is a subtle matter. You can find a detailed discussion here in the forum:
* http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4051.msg60809#msg60809

34. You have a road with inn. It also have the mage and the fairy. You receive 21 points (6 tiles (6p.), 6p. for inn, 6p. for magae and 3 for fairy). The acstle receive 21 points?

No, the castle will receive only 18 points. The castle does not get the 3 points for the fairy. Let me explain...

There are three layers of scoring here so to speak:

1. A road:
    - 6 tiles (1 point per tile)
    - 1 inn, modifying the core feature score (1 point --> 2 points per tile)
    - The mage, providing bonus points --> +1 point per tile
    - 1 meeple: we assume it is alone and you have the majority

2. The fairy:
    - Assigned to the meeple on the road --> provide 3 points to the meeple's player when the feature is scored.

3. The castle:
    - The road overlaps the castle fief.
    - The castle lord is a meeple different from a mayor (so the points can be scored).

So the scoring goes as follows:
1. Road: 6 tiles x 2 points per tile (base score + inn) +  6 tiles x 1 point per tile (mage) = 12 + 6 = 18 points. You get 18 points.
2. Castle: scores the same points as the road, that is, 18 points. The player occupying the castle gets 18 points (resolved right after the road as per the rules).
3. Fairy: 3 points (the meeple is on a feature being scored). You get 3 bonus points.

And you may wonder, why I am separating the fairy bonus from the road.

Well, let's modify a bit the scenario. Let's assume that:
* The road has two of your meeples and a third one from another player.
* The fairy is assigned to the meeple of the other player.

In this new scenario:
* You have the majority and you will still score 18 points.
* The castle scores the same points as the road again, that is 18 points (resolved right after the road as per the rules).
* The 3 fairy bonus points go to another player.

As you can see, the fairy points are independent from the feature, they go to the meeple the fairy is assigned to. And I think that, in this case, there cannot be any doubt the castle gets the correct points.

You can follow the same reasoning with other examples involving other meeple-related bonuses, such as, the ringmaster points, to understand why the a castle sometimes seems not to get all the points it should, like in your previous example.

Please let me know if this explanation helped you undertand all the subtleties hidden in the rules.

35. You receive 22 points with a city. You receive 22 points with a castle. Can you receive the points for the city with the meeple and the points for the castle with the messenger?

Yes, each feature can be scored by a different scoring figure.

It would be not allowed, for example to split the scoring for one feature between the two figures. For example: score 8 points for the city with the scoring meeple and the remaining 14 points with the messager.

Here you are a clarification covering this topic:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages#cite_note-13

36. A player A pay 3 points. In this case you receive -2 points with the robber (you have the robber on player A)?

Your robber will not get negative points. In this case, your robber will move backward along with player A's scoring figure. Check this clarification about this case:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Robbers#cite_note-5

As an alternative, if there are some other scoring figures on the same space and you decide to stay with them to steal points from another player. Check this other clarification here covering this possibility:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Robbers#cite_note-10

37. A player receive 1 point with the fairy and pay 3 points in the same turn. How many points do you receive with the robber (you have the robber on player A)?

The robber will get 1 point.

These two events won't happen at the same time. Let's assume player A does as follows:
1. At the beginning of his turn, player A gets the 1-point fairy bonus.
2. Later, for example, player A decides to ransom one of his meeples, paying 3 points for it.

If so, your robber, placed on the same space as player A's scoring meeple, will steal 1 point (1 point halved and rounded up). Right after that, your robber will be removed from the scoreboard, so the payment of the 3 points won't have any effect on your scoreboard figures.

Another order of events can be the following:
1. Before anything else, Player A decides to ransom one of his meeples, paying 3 points for it.
2. At the beginning of his turn (afterwards), player A gets the 1-point fairy bonus.

In this second scenario, your robber will move backwards along with player A's scoring meeple (you lose no points) when he pays the 3 points. And then you will steal 1 point from the fairy as before and remove your robber.

So no matter the order of events, you get 1 point in this case.

All in all, you can steal points from scoring figures moving forward whenever they points are not rogue points. In case of rogue points or negative points, your robber will move along with the other player's meeple. You'll never lose points when stealing points.

38. Crop Circles: Can you place a red meeple in a city where are 1 red meeple and 1 blue meeple?

Yes, the result will be a city with a blue meeple and two red meeples on the same tile.

In this case, the crop circle rules just instruct you to place an additional meeple next to one already placed on a given feature (given the target feature type: city, road, field or any of the previous three as in Halflings II). Both of your meeples will be on the same tile on the same feature. The presence of other meeples on the feature is irrelevant.

You may review the updated rules here (bear in mind the ZMan original rules contained several mistranslations from German corrected here):
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Crop_Circles#4._Crop_Circle_Action

39. Three cloister are finished in the same turn. Player A receive 12 points (Leipzig). Robber B is placed on player A. How many points receive robber B?

Robber B will get 2 points for player B. Each monastery is scored individually. So player A will get 4 points three times. Robber B, in turn, will steal 2 points from the first 4-point bonus and then it will be removed from the scoreboard.

In a nutshell, scoring multiple features at the same time (or getting bonus points multiple tiles) are handled as individual events. The robber can get steal points from one of those events before being removed.

Check this clarification about the scoring order when multiple features are scored at once.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Robbers#cite_note-7

Thanks!

You are welcome!  ;D

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2020, 01:38:10 PM »
But "instead of following the blue meeple"?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2020, 01:58:51 PM »
But "instead of following the blue meeple"?

Following the blue meeple requires the read meeple not to score first (no rogue points allowed) and the blue meeple to score rogue points.

You are not forced to "follow" or to steal from a predetermined player. You may decided what to do if several options show up when your robber shares the same space with more than one scoring figure (scoring meeple or messenger).

BTW, am I undertanding you question correctly?

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2020, 02:24:56 PM »
Yes, you understand.

40. Message 8: Can you score a cloister where you have a monk placed ass an abbot?
41. Monasteries in Germany: At the end of the game, the Bookbinders quarter matters (if you have a meeple placed as an abbot)?
42. (The image): What happens if the red line from right is composed from a double Leipzig tile (or a Castle from Germany)?
43. Can you move meeples from City of Carcassonne in a monastery where there is a monk placed as an abbot?
44. Can you move meeples from City of Carcassonne in a feature that is not completed, but is scored (Message 8 )?

« Last Edit: February 22, 2020, 03:05:59 PM by Carcassonne93 »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
  • Merit: 116
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2020, 04:32:13 PM »
Yes, you understand.

OK.  ;)

40. Message 8: Can you score a cloister where you have a monk placed ass an abbot?

Yes, since the rule talks about selecting a meeple on a feature and scoring it. There is no limitation regarding the type of feature or the "position" of the meeple. Although there is no official clarification regarding this interaction, the interpretation of the rules would lead to this conclusion.

41. Monasteries in Germany: At the end of the game, the Bookbinders quarter matters (if you have a meeple placed as an abbot)?

No, during final scoring only the Tanners quarter bonus affecting field scoring. The Bookbinder quarter bonus only applies during the game.

You can revisit the Market of Leipzig rules for final scoring here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Markets_of_Leipzig#Final_scoring

42. What happens if the red line from right is composed from a double Leipzig tile?

The double-sized tile will count as one. So the red abbot would score 4 (top column) + 1 (right row, the double-sized tile) + 1 (bottom column) + 2 (left row) + 1 (monastery tile) = 9 points, instead of 10 points.



You can check the notes about how double-sized tiles are be considered in different interactions here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Castles_in_Germany#Other_expansions

43. Can you move meeples from City of Carcassonne in a monastery where there is a monk placed as an abbot?

No, meeples deployed from the city of Carcassonne to a completed monastery must be placed as monks so they participate in the scoring of the feature.

You can revisit the rules for the redeployment of meeples from the City of Carcassonne here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#3._Scoring_a_feature_-_Moving_meeples_from_Carcassonne

44. Can you move meeples from City of Carcassonne in a feature that is not completed, but is scored (Message 8 )?

Message 8 may score:
* Incomplete features as if after the game: Since you cannot redeploy meeples from the City of Carcassonne to incomplete features (roads, cities, monastic buildings), this option is ruled out.
* Fields during the game: Since you can redeploy meeples from the City of Carcassonne to fields during and after the game, this option is allowed.

You can revisit the rules for the redeployment of meeples from the City of Carcassonne here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#3._Scoring_a_feature_-_Moving_meeples_from_Carcassonne

Please check also the clarifications for Expansion 5 regarding field scoring during the game:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#The_city_of_Carcassonne_and_the_count_of_Carcassonne_2

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2020, 05:01:01 PM »
45. Crop Circles, the portal (Princess and the Dragon), The Flyng Machines: Can you place a meeple on a tile where there is placed the dragon?
(42): Same rules for a castle from Germany?
46. When does the dragon's turn start? Here (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Princess_and_The_Dragon#1._Placing_a_tile) says something, here ( http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play) something else.
(34): The robber receive 2 or 9 nine points?
47. Can you place meeples on a city where there is already a mayor?
48. Can you move the mayor from the City of Carcassonne in a city that contains other meeples?
49. Can you place the builder on a road or city where there is only the big meeple, wagon, mayor, ringmaster or phantom ("Note that you must already have one normal meeple on the feature in order to place a builder there")?
50. The barber-surgeons: Only one bathhouse is free. A road that contains only a blue meeple and a city that contains only a red meeple are finished in the same turn. What happens?
51. The barber-surgeons: Only one bathhouse is free. A road that contains only a blue wagon is finished. What happens?
« Last Edit: February 23, 2020, 06:32:59 AM by Carcassonne93 »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
JCZ V4.01 Questions

Started by rfielder

3 Replies
893 Views
Last post December 14, 2017, 01:35:23 AM
by MrNumbers
xx
A few odd questions...

Started by Christopher

3 Replies
1899 Views
Last post November 04, 2016, 07:58:25 AM
by ny1050220
xx
Two questions C I

Started by tp10053

13 Replies
1277 Views
Last post July 23, 2018, 06:17:06 AM
by tp10053
question
Castles - 2 Questions

Started by Carcassebs

9 Replies
5118 Views
Last post February 25, 2013, 10:11:22 AM
by Carcassebs
xx
School questions

Started by MrNumbers

10 Replies
4222 Views
Last post May 05, 2014, 01:09:09 PM
by kettlefish