Author Topic: Can the phantom practice acrobatics?  (Read 361 times)

Offline Windekind

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 76
  • Merit: 7
    • View Profile
Can the phantom practice acrobatics?
« on: June 29, 2019, 05:05:16 AM »
Can the phantom practice acrobatics?

When I look at the rules in wikicarpedia it says, with Big Top - other expansions, "Only normal size can be part of a size pyramid. Neither the large size (Exp. 1) nor any other figures are allowed."
But if you look at how the phantom works, it works in the same way as a normal meeple. The phantom can be used as a second wooden figure on a tile.

If you can use a phantom. Would you then be able to place a normal meeple and then a phantom on the pyramid?

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4322.0

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Merit: 101
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Can the phantom practice acrobatics?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2019, 12:09:33 PM »
Hi Windekind!

Good question!

There is no official confirmation but as, you say, "the phantom works as a normal meeple" thus the interpretation of the rules leads to allowing the phantom to be placed as an acrobat.

WICA also assumes this based on this ruling included in the CAR. You can check the following pages for more information:

* Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: you can see the interactions here including the phantom.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Under_the_Big_Top#Acrobat_tiles_and_acrobats

* Order of Play: you can check all the interactions in the Order of Play here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play

* Game Figures: you can see a detailed list of all the actions involving figures here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Game_Figures

Cheers!
« Last Edit: June 29, 2019, 12:43:37 PM by Meepledrone »

Offline Windekind

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 76
  • Merit: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Can the phantom practice acrobatics?
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2019, 01:08:48 PM »
Thank you Meepledrone for placing this in wikicarpedia.

1) The question now is if you place a normal meeple on the acrobat space, can you also place a phantom on the acrobat space?
2) Or would it be rather if you put a meeple in the field, road or city, that you can then place a phantom in the acrobat space,
3) or vice versa?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Merit: 101
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Can the phantom practice acrobatics?
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2019, 03:28:13 PM »
Hi Windekind,

Thank you Meepledrone for placing this in wikicarpedia.

My pleasure... It's always great to expand the information available.  ;D

1) The question now is if you place a normal meeple on the acrobat space, can you also place a phantom on the acrobat space?
2) Or would it be rather if you put a meeple in the field, road or city, that you can then place a phantom in the acrobat space,
3) or vice versa?

My reasoning is as follows as there is no official rule for this: Normal meeples and phantoms can be placed as acrobats after placing an acrobat tile or any other tile adjacent to an acrobat tile (provided that the acrobat space has zero to two acrobats.) The main property of a phantom is that can be placed as normal meeple or as a second figure during one turn. Thus this should work as well for an acrobat space taking into consideration all the possibilities:

>> Deployment of one figure (let's say a normal meeple or a phantom for the sake of simplicity) only in the turn:
1A. Normal meeple deployed on a feature.
2A. Normal meeple deployed as an acrobat
3A. Phantom deployed on a feature (no other figure deployed)
4A. Phantom deployed as an acrobat (no other figure deployed)

>> Deployment of any figure (let's say a normal meeple for the sake of simplicity) plus a phantom:
1B. Normal meeple deployed on a feature + phantom placed on another feature.
2B. Normal meeple deployed as an acrobat + phantom placed on another feature.
3B. Normal meeple deployed on a feature + phantom placed as an acrobat.
4B. Normal meeple deployed as an acrobat + phantom placed as an acrobat.

Case 4B, for example , would allow you to deploy a normal meeple and a phantom to one or two different acrobat tiles (on the same tile and/or adjacent tiles.) Unless HiG provides a ruling limiting any of these possibilities, the interpretation of the rules would allow these cases to happen and players would not find them awkward or forced: if a player can have more than one meeple in one acrobat pyramid, should there be any limitation in placing them in the same turn? If one of them is a phantom, my answer is no.


Note: There was another thread that discussed a similar case related to The Fruit-Brearing Trees and the phantom. The conclusion was that the interpretation of the rules would allow both one meeple and the phantom to harvest from all adjacent trees in the same turn.

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4179.msg62841#msg62841

Hope this helps!
« Last Edit: July 03, 2019, 03:37:23 PM by Meepledrone »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
The messages - Looking for best practice in score tracking

Started by valiqno

4 Replies
2145 Views
Last post October 17, 2013, 08:54:34 PM
by Scott
clip
I don't practice Santorini, I ain't got no crystal ball.

Started by dirk2112

32 Replies
7109 Views
Last post March 18, 2017, 04:06:23 AM
by Luthadel
xx
WTB Phantom

Started by quevy

3 Replies
1451 Views
Last post May 07, 2015, 11:26:10 AM
by Matt
xx
Carcassonne iOS: The Phantom

Started by Jéré

19 Replies
5629 Views
Last post May 28, 2014, 06:12:35 PM
by evmillan
xx
Tower and Phantom

Started by SRBO

16 Replies
6993 Views
Last post January 05, 2015, 03:23:08 PM
by obervet