Author Topic: Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?  (Read 902 times)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Merit: 88
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?
« on: March 29, 2019, 02:37:00 PM »
Hi guys!

I just added a page to WICA with a translation of the rules into English.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Carcassonne_Maps_-_Germany

While translating the rules I spotted a possible error in the rules regarding the scoring of monasteries on the border of the map. Check footnote #2 covering this possible error in Example #4 about Scoring.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Carcassonne_Maps_-_Germany#cite_note-2

Is this en error or an exception for monasteries compared with roads and cities?

Your feedback is welcome.

Cheers!

PS: I just asked Cundco.de about this. Hope to have some news soon.


Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4252.0
« Last Edit: March 29, 2019, 06:23:18 PM by Meepledrone »

Offline supertopix

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 123
  • Merit: 2
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2019, 03:35:15 AM »
Following

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Merit: 88
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2019, 04:21:47 AM »
Hi there!

I share with you the questions I sent to Cundco.de.

Please see the the image attached with 3 examples from the manual online:
* Example 1 (top) - A road containing a segment abroad: The segment abroad (normally with one or more coats of arms) is counted as an additional tile when scoring the road.
* Example 2 (middle) - A city with a segment abroad (printed city segment): The printed city segment is counted as one additional tile when scoring the city.
* Example 3 (bottom) - A monastery on a border of the country. There are two issues here (marked in red in the first image attached):
- Issue #1: The monastery is supposed to be completed in the example (so it is scored), but there is an unoccupied printed space top left from the monastery tile with no land tile. So the example is scoring an uncompleted monastery instead.
- Issue #2: The monastery has adjacent tiles and a diagonally adjacent printed city segment (bottom left). The latter segment is not counted as a tile in the example included in the rules to my surprise.

So regarding these two issues, my question are:
[Q1]: Regarding the completeness of the monastery in the example:
Is the example incorrect in assume the monastery is completed?
[Q2]: Regarding scoring of the monastery in the example (no matter if it is completed or uncompleted):
a) Is the example in the manual correct and it is an exception (the monastery has only 3 adjacent tiles) compared to roads and cities?
b) Is the example in the manual mistaken and the monastery actually has 4 adjacent tiles (one being the printed segment)?

Additionally, I sent another question with a variation on Example #3 where the some city tiles have been replaced by road tiles (Please check the second image attached.) In this case, the city segment abroad is replaced by a road segment abroad (adjacent to monastery, lower left.)
[Q3]: Is this road segment considered for the monastery scoring as it would happen for roads?

Cheers!

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Merit: 88
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2019, 12:41:02 PM »
Hi all,

I got a response from Cundco.de this morning.

Just as a reminder:
- Issue #1: The monastery is supposed to be completed in the example (so it is scored), but there is an unoccupied printed space top left from the monastery tile with no land tile. So the example is scoring an uncompleted monastery instead.
- Issue #2: The monastery has adjacent tiles and a diagonally adjacent printed city segment (bottom left). The latter segment is not counted as a tile in the example included in the rules to my surprise.

Here you are the reply from Cundco.de. It was in English:

------
Hello,

thank you for your email. regarding issue#1 you are right. Thanks for the hint. There must be another tile diagonally and the score should then be 5 for 5 tiles. We will update the rules here, sorry.

Regarding issue#2 the rules are right. For the monastery only the tiles count as normally. The printed city segment abroad doesn’t count in this case.

Best regards
Andreas Kramer
Carcassonne & Co GmbH
------

As a result, the German rules available at Cundco.de have been updated too.

Regarding Issue #2, this means that printed tiles containing city and road segments abroad are not taken into consideration when scoring a monastery. Therefore, monastery scoring only takes into consideration:
  • Regular land tiles, as per the normal rules
  • Printed big city tiles adjacent to the monastery tile

Thus monasteries on the border of the map score in a different way than roads and cities on the border of the map: Roads an cities consider segments abroad whereas monasteries don't.

I updated WICA to reflect all this.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Carcassonne_Maps_-_Germany

Footnotes #2 and #3 explain all this for future readers.

Cheers!
« Last Edit: April 03, 2019, 12:44:26 PM by Meepledrone »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Merit: 88
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2019, 11:17:10 AM »
The rules on WICA are now based on the English rules just released by Cundco.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Carcassonne_Maps_-_Germany

BTW, the rules by Cundco use "emblems" instead of "coats of arms". Has anyone seen this on any other New Edition rules?


Offline DrMeeple

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 259
  • Merit: 7
  • Meeples are meeples.
    • View Profile
Re: Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2019, 03:35:21 AM »
The rules on WICA are now based on the English rules just released by Cundco.

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Carcassonne_Maps_-_Germany

BTW, the rules by Cundco use "emblems" instead of "coats of arms". Has anyone seen this on any other New Edition rules?

No, I didn't see this in other new edition rules...
'Connected field segments are called farms'  - The Weed Guru

Offline Sinscerly

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 541
  • Merit: 18
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Carcassonne Maps - Germany - Error or exception in rules?
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2019, 04:18:10 AM »
BTW, the rules by Cundco use "emblems" instead of "coats of arms". Has anyone seen this on any other New Edition rules?

Nope, not that my eye felt on. I hope they made a mistake, as "coats of arms" sounds so much cooler in my head then "emblem"
"What things can you find? Things that are hidden?


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Carcassonne Maps (Germany) + the river?

Started by Megg82

0 Replies
84 Views
Last post October 12, 2019, 02:03:27 PM
by Megg82
clip
Carcassonne Maps

Started by BigBoss

60 Replies
4229 Views
Last post April 15, 2019, 02:32:55 PM
by DrMeeple
clip
Farm scoring error

Started by Durbs

4 Replies
1604 Views
Last post December 24, 2015, 08:36:05 AM
by Decar
xx
Android Carcassone App - Error

Started by mjwalker

1 Replies
1423 Views
Last post December 30, 2016, 02:18:00 PM
by Decar
clip
JCZ 3.1.1 Online Game Error Report

Started by rfielder

7 Replies
2859 Views
Last post March 09, 2015, 05:24:46 PM
by rfielder