Author Topic: bathhouse question...  (Read 328 times)

Offline robnhill

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
bathhouse question...
« on: November 14, 2018, 08:58:55 PM »
If I'm reading the rules correctly.... with the new bathhouse expansion, if you pull a bathhouse tile, you HAVE to place a meeple on it right away? I.e. you don't get a choice?

The rules say: "After having placed a Bathhouse tile, you HAVE to place your Meeple according to the normal rules.."

Please help!

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4133.0

Offline dronedrone

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 49
  • Merit: 4
  • Updated my profile have I.
    • View Profile
Re: bathhouse question...
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2018, 04:54:16 AM »
Hi - join the club... When I first read through the rules I thought exactly as you did, it was the phrase 'have to' that was so emphatic.   I am new to the Forum and am sure there are probably some linguists out there who can help us.   I had a look at the German rules and, from memory, based on my O-level German (shows you how long ago that was), the expression 'darfst du einen Meeple ...' is along the lines of 'you may use a Meeple according to the known rules but you cannot put the Meeple on the bathhouse itself'.   The important thing is that word 'may'.

So my reading is that, after pulling the BS (Barber-Surgeons) tile we have the the option of placing a Meeple as per normal rules i.e. Road, City, Field or not placing a Meeple on the tile at all.

Lets see what the others think.
The owls are not what they seem

Offline Halfling

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1044
  • Merit: 48
  • Welcome tournament 2015 winner.
    • View Profile
Re: bathhouse question...
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2018, 05:21:03 AM »
I don't yet have the expansion but fully expect the translation by dronedrone to be correct. The wording of meeple placement should be consistent with that of the base game rules.
The Geek shall inherit the earth if we get a good die role

Offline danisthirty

  • (well, 39 actually)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6421
  • Merit: 238
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: bathhouse question...
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2018, 09:12:41 AM »
For the record, please note that there are a couple of relevant, rules-based posts which may be of interest to anyone reading this topic that were posted as part of another thread.

They can be found here. :(y)
Heroically snatching defeat from the jaws of victory since 2018


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
some question...

Started by aenima

37 Replies
8518 Views
Last post November 01, 2013, 01:22:32 PM
by aenima
question
Question about Expansion #6

Started by coyote

5 Replies
2249 Views
Last post April 21, 2014, 08:10:02 PM
by Scott
xx
Tower Question... Help

Started by robnhill

7 Replies
469 Views
Last post November 01, 2018, 04:03:02 AM
by danisthirty
xx
Question about this area...

Started by rfielder

3 Replies
1288 Views
Last post June 07, 2015, 03:23:05 PM
by rfielder
xx
Question about pilgrimage

Started by asparagus

1 Replies
1690 Views
Last post August 04, 2014, 08:22:19 PM
by Scott