Author Topic: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser  (Read 2571 times)

Offline Maj. Frost

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 133
  • Merit: 10
  • Sit down and play
    • View Profile
    • My Carcassonne Blog
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #30 on: November 12, 2018, 11:43:47 PM »
Hello everybody. I have a doubt with this expansion: Is it possible to rebuy your Meeple in another round different from your round? (for example, to avoid the Tower before being captured). Thank you.

No, you cant. It is only possible in your turn.

Offline dronedrone

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Merit: 1
  • Updated my profile have I.
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #31 on: November 13, 2018, 01:21:16 AM »
Question from a new member re the new 'Bathhouse expansion'

This is my first post, let's hope it's not my last...

I am struggling to understand the rules relating to the effect of the new Barber-Surgeons tiles (hope you don't mind if I abbreviate this to BS for the rest of my message  ;-)).

My understanding is as follows:

Once the first BS tile is placed, if a feature occupied by a single meeple* is completed, the feature is scored and the scoring meeple is placed, lying down, in the bathhouse.

If after the first BS tile is placed, I deliberately complete a feature (city, road or monastery) occupied by an opponent's single meeple, they take their score for their feature and have to move their meeple into the bathhouse on the BS tile, laying the meeple on its side.

If I complete one of my features, occupied by a single meeple, with a BS tile, my meeple is off to the bathhouse.   If two 'single meeple' features are completed by my tile placement, one of mine and one of my opponent's, I can consign my opponent's single meeple to the bathhouse before mine.   If there are no other vacant bathhouses, my meeple is returned to my supply so I avoid the mucky meeple magnet...

Does placing a barn result in a visit to the bath house for any single meeple occupying a field as a farmer?   If so, does the player placing the barn get to choose the order in which lone farmers in separate fields get an early bath?

* It would be helpful to understand what is meant by a 'single meeple'

Does the term include the following: a regular meeple, the large meeple, the Mayor, the Phantom, the Abbot and the Ringmaster?

If, on completion, a feature is occupied by a single meeple and a builder what happens to the meeple?

Thanks
The owls are not what they seem

Offline Meepledrone

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 9
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #32 on: November 13, 2018, 01:48:20 PM »
Hi dronedrone,

Some interesting questions you have here. See my comments below.

Question from a new member re the new 'Bathhouse expansion'

This is my first post, let's hope it's not my last...

Welcome to CarcC! Enjoy your experience on the forums.

BTW, I already got comments about us being cousins.  ;D

I am struggling to understand the rules relating to the effect of the new Barber-Surgeons tiles (hope you don't mind if I abbreviate this to BS for the rest of my message  ;-)).

My understanding is as follows:

Once the first BS tile is placed, if a feature occupied by a single meeple* is completed, the feature is scored and the scoring meeple is placed, lying down, in the bathhouse.

If after the first BS tile is placed, I deliberately complete a feature (city, road or monastery) occupied by an opponent's single meeple, they take their score for their feature and have to move their meeple into the bathhouse on the BS tile, laying the meeple on its side.

If I complete one of my features, occupied by a single meeple, with a BS tile, my meeple is off to the bathhouse.   If two 'single meeple' features are completed by my tile placement, one of mine and one of my opponent's, I can consign my opponent's single meeple to the bathhouse before mine.   If there are no other vacant bathhouses, my meeple is returned to my supply so I avoid the mucky meeple magnet...

Your understanding is correct.

Does placing a barn result in a visit to the bath house for any single meeple occupying a field as a farmer? 

This would be a correct interpretation of the rules but expect no official confirmation from HiG. The Barber-Surgeons comes with The Disclaimer ("You can play The Barber-Surgeons along with other expansions as well; however there will be no official rules for these combinations.") So this is unchartered territory here.

If so, does the player placing the barn get to choose the order in which lone farmers in separate fields get an early bath?

Are you talking here of a scenario when connecting several 'single-meeple' farms to another one with a barn? If so, as there are more than one meeple involved in the scoring, they would go directly the players' supply.

* It would be helpful to understand what is meant by a 'single meeple'

Does the term include the following: a regular meeple, the large meeple, the Mayor, the Phantom, the Abbot and the Ringmaster?

That would be correct as a generalization of the expansion rules. Remember that, as per The Disclaimer, the rules were designed initially for regular meeples. So again, no official confirmation to ease your mind ;)

If, on completion, a feature is occupied by a single meeple and a builder what happens to the meeple?

Thanks

The builder is not a meeple but a special figure, so it should not be taken into account.

You can find here a full discussion  covering what a meeple is and what is not, just in case.

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=3384.0

Cheers!

Offline dronedrone

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Merit: 1
  • Updated my profile have I.
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #33 on: November 14, 2018, 05:06:23 AM »
Hi - thanks for your informative reply

Quote
Are you talking here of a scenario when connecting several 'single-meeple' farms to another one with a barn? If so, as there are more than one meeple involved in the scoring, they would go directly the players' supply.

Oops!   You've made me realise I would have raised some eyebrows if I had tried this.   I have not used a barn yet and had thought that they impacted all fields rather than just the one they were on.   Thanks for the correction.

Quote
The builder is not a meeple but a special figure, so it should not be taken into account.

I did know this but my literal mind said "a meeple with a builder is two things...and the rules say 'single', maybe they were in a relationship, who knows?"   The light is slowly dawning.

Quote
You can find here a full discussion  covering what a meeple is and what is not, just in case.

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=3384.0

Thanks for the link - aaargh! my brain can't cope, thank goodness for the 'hive mind'   :)

Offline MeepleFan

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Merit: 0
  • Farmers, I greet you!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #34 on: November 14, 2018, 09:43:41 AM »
Thank you for all your replies ;D

Offline MeepleFan

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Merit: 0
  • Farmers, I greet you!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #35 on: November 15, 2018, 06:56:18 PM »
Another question: could be possible to place a tile, as consequence complete a city / road ... and place the Meeple in the bathhouse, pay the points, recover the Meeple, and use it in the tile, everything in the same round?
« Last Edit: November 15, 2018, 06:58:19 PM by MeepleFan »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 9
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #36 on: November 16, 2018, 11:18:34 AM »
Another question: could be possible to place a tile, as consequence complete a city / road ... and place the Meeple in the bathhouse, pay the points, recover the Meeple, and use it in the tile, everything in the same round?

Hi Meeplefan,

This is not allowed because you move the the Meeple to a bathhouse after Scoring (Phase #3), and, as per the rules, you can only buy you Meeple back from a Bathhouse right after placing a tile (Phase #1) and then you are allowed to place it right away in Phase #2 (Placing a Meeple) in the same turn.

Therefore, after moving a Meeple to a bathhouse, you will only be able to get it back and place it in a later turn... Unless, of course, you have a double turn thanks to the Builder or a Dispatch, but this is another story.

Cheers!

Offline MeepleFan

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Merit: 0
  • Farmers, I greet you!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #37 on: November 16, 2018, 05:31:02 PM »
Understood!

Thank you very much Meepledrone.

Offline robnhill

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #38 on: November 16, 2018, 09:12:07 PM »
Hi dronedrone... can you please explain further what you mean by this:

"If two 'single meeple' features are completed by my tile placement, one of mine and one of my opponent's, I can consign my opponent's single meeple to the bathhouse before mine.   If there are no other vacant bathhouses, my meeple is returned to my supply so I avoid the mucky meeple magnet..."

What do you mean by two single meeple features?

I thought if a bathhouse was on a city, you had to complete the city for the meeple to go to the bathhouse? if it's on the road, you have to complete the road?

No?

Offline dronedrone

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Merit: 1
  • Updated my profile have I.
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #39 on: November 17, 2018, 04:36:17 AM »
Hi Robnhill - thanks for your question.

Quote
What do you mean by two single meeple features?

I have had a bash at putting together a worked example of what I mean in the .pdf below.   I would ask that you and and anyone else working through my example recognise that this is my attempt to illustrate what I meant and is not meant to be an example of gold-standard, Carcassonne superstar gameplay.

Apologies also for the presentation as the Open Office software I used to re-size the ten photographs I had taken didn't always keep the tiles square even though I tried to keep the original aspect ratio.

Please let me know what you think...
« Last Edit: November 18, 2018, 02:07:15 AM by dronedrone, Reason: Updated second jpeg as I realised that the Yellow Meeple in the Bathhouse should be lying on its side, not standing up. »

Offline Piasekstc

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
  • Merit: 3
  • To get them all and play them all!!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #40 on: November 18, 2018, 01:33:05 PM »
Dronedrone,

I think that's correct. At least I understand rules like you :)

Offline dronedrone

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Merit: 1
  • Updated my profile have I.
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #41 on: November 18, 2018, 01:49:53 PM »
Quote
I think that's correct. At least I understand rules like you

Thanks Piasekstc, that's good to know.   I find it fascinating that, what appears to be a simple concept, has so many nuances. and gives so many options.   I am looking forward to seeing these new tiles in action.

Offline Piasekstc

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
  • Merit: 3
  • To get them all and play them all!!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #42 on: November 19, 2018, 01:49:33 AM »
Quote
I think that's correct. At least I understand rules like you

Thanks Piasekstc, that's good to know.   I find it fascinating that, what appears to be a simple concept, has so many nuances. and gives so many options.   I am looking forward to seeing these new tiles in action.

Imagine now, how it will work when playing mega Carcassonne (like we do) :)

Offline danisthirty

  • (well, 38 actually)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6174
  • Merit: 224
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
    • Dan is Thirty
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #43 on: November 19, 2018, 04:04:04 AM »
Quote
I think that's correct. At least I understand rules like you

... I find it fascinating that, what appears to be a simple concept, has so many nuances ...

I think this is the trouble for HiG with a game that has so many expansions now. Clarifying all the interactions between expansions without breaking what's already known becomes almost impossible, hence their disclaimer that we've seen on a few of the more recent expansions explaining that that expansion is designed to be played with the basic game only and any other expansions included are played "at your own risk"! :o
Heroically snatching defeat from the jaws of victory since 2018

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 706
  • Merit: 34
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: New Expansion: Die Badehäuser
« Reply #44 on: November 19, 2018, 07:53:41 AM »
Quote
I think that's correct. At least I understand rules like you

... I find it fascinating that, what appears to be a simple concept, has so many nuances ...

I think this is the trouble for HiG with a game that has so many expansions now. Clarifying all the interactions between expansions without breaking what's already known becomes almost impossible, hence their disclaimer that we've seen on a few of the more recent expansions explaining that that expansion is designed to be played with the basic game only and any other expansions included are played "at your own risk"! :o

can we imagine making a petition to HIG? I'm serious! we could also involve the German forum ...


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
WTB: GQ #11 Expansion

Started by rfielder

5 Replies
3081 Views
Last post March 23, 2014, 10:24:41 AM
by rfielder
xx
Expansion 1, 2 or 3?

Started by SamoolSamosa

33 Replies
3001 Views
Last post January 07, 2018, 03:28:51 PM
by Sinscerly
clip
New Expansion ...

Started by AlbinoAsian

23 Replies
6254 Views
Last post January 28, 2015, 05:26:12 PM
by nanoanno
xx
The Castle Expansion

Started by Lord_Wishmaster

10 Replies
3496 Views
Last post September 04, 2013, 03:56:09 AM
by Fritz_Spinne
xx
And The Most Expensive Expansion Is...

Started by whaleyland

5 Replies
1909 Views
Last post April 12, 2014, 10:11:45 AM
by Scott