Author Topic: Some Cathars clarification  (Read 319 times)

Offline Maj. Frost

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 143
  • Merit: 11
  • Sit down and play
    • View Profile
    • My Carcassonne Blog
Some Cathars clarification
« on: September 15, 2018, 11:21:17 AM »
Could you help me with some questions regarding Cathars?

CAR, Cathars, footnote 347 and 348 on page 122
Should those two be treated together? the 347 by itself do not make much sense ( I mean it's second sentence). :

Quote
347  Only one knight can escape a besieged city per turn. It’s irrelevant whether the followers are
in the same city or different cities.
348  When there is a builder double-turn, a knight can be removed from a beseiged city in each
part of the double turn. (3/2015)

When you combine those two it makes more sense (348 sentence is in the middle of two 347 sentences):

Quote
Only one knight can escape a besieged city per turn. When there is a builder double-turn, a knight can be removed from a beseiged city in each part of the double turn. It’s irrelevant whether the followers are in the same city or different cities.

CAR, page 121 
Quote
If the city contains a cathedral, it scores only 2 points for every tile. Should the city remain incomplete at the end of the game, it scores no points during the final scoring.

The second sentence refers to only to city containing cathedral or every besieged city? I can see that the manual contains very similar sentence.

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4075.0
« Last Edit: September 15, 2018, 11:40:05 AM by Maj. Frost »

Offline Willem

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 533
  • Merit: 35
  • Too many... expansions!!
    • View Profile
Re: Some Cathars clarification
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2018, 12:13:52 PM »
For note 347, It can be that there are multiple besieged cities next to a cloister.
In that case, only one knight can escape a besieged city per turn in total.

Note 348 aims towards cities that have multiple knights in it. Then another knight can escape in the second turn. It kinda follows 347, to elaborate that only 1 knight can escape per turn, but a builder double-turn does count as a new turn.

For the scoring, all besieged cities do not score any points at the end of the game. (Its kinda minus 1 point from normal scoring)
To be or not to:
A.  B
B.  C
C.  P

Offline Maj. Frost

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 143
  • Merit: 11
  • Sit down and play
    • View Profile
    • My Carcassonne Blog
Re: Some Cathars clarification
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2018, 12:19:20 PM »
That makes sense. Thank you!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Cathars/Besiegers rule clarification

Started by MrNumbers

7 Replies
2295 Views
Last post November 15, 2014, 11:16:53 PM
by danisthirty
xx
Cathars

Started by danisthirty

0 Replies
1075 Views
Last post July 28, 2014, 06:59:30 AM
by danisthirty
xx
Wts - Cathars

Started by Rosco

11 Replies
1321 Views
Last post February 05, 2018, 10:53:54 PM
by thodekey
xx
Wts: cathars and tunnels

Started by Rosco

4 Replies
435 Views
Last post December 12, 2018, 05:02:56 AM
by Rosco
clip
WTS Cathars/ die Katharer

Started by Valheru

3 Replies
1600 Views
Last post March 11, 2016, 05:34:34 AM
by Valheru