Author Topic: Scoring the Fairy V2  (Read 1344 times)

Offline Dungeonmasterjoe

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Scoring the Fairy V2
« on: August 30, 2018, 06:52:50 AM »
On page 6 of Under the Big Top there is this note:

 You may assign the fairy to an acrobat, in which case it counts for all acrobats
in the pyramid (regardless of color). If the fairy is still there at the beginning
of your turn, you score 1 point for each of your meeples in the pyramid.

QUESTION:  If I have 2 meeples on the same tile (from the Flying Machine or Crop Circle), and then assigned the fairy there; If the fairy is still there at the beginning of my turn, would I also score 1 point for each of my meeples there? (In this case 2 points)

What if I had 3 meeples on the pyramid and another meeple on a road segment on the same tile?  Would I score 4 points with the fairy at the beginning of my next turn?

Thank you for any advice you might have.

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4054.0

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2018, 07:34:11 AM »
from S-CAR v7.4
note 71
"In the RGG and ZMG versions of the rules, a follower on the same tile as the fairy will generate the 1-point bonus (again, because in these rules the fairy is not specifically placed beside a single follower). Thus, by these rules, it would be conceivable that multiple players could benefit from fairy placement if there were multiple followers on (different features of) the same tile."

So, yes, 1 point for every follower on that tile.

P.S. POST 666!!!  >:D
« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 07:41:09 AM by aenima »

Offline danisthirty

  • (well, OK, 40...)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6589
  • Merit: 252
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2018, 09:09:38 AM »
from S-CAR v7.4
note 71
"In the RGG and ZMG versions of the rules, a follower on the same tile as the fairy will generate the 1-point bonus (again, because in these rules the fairy is not specifically placed beside a single follower). Thus, by these rules, it would be conceivable that multiple players could benefit from fairy placement if there were multiple followers on (different features of) the same tile."

So, yes, 1 point for every follower on that tile.

I can see why some people would want to follow the official rules as closely as possible, but if I were hosting a game and someone asked me this question I think I'd say that the point bonus is only applied once and they only get 1 point at the start of their turn regardless of how many of their followers are on the same tile as the fairy. I believe this is more in-keeping with the original intention of this points bonus before all the rules-lawyers got involved.

I would also state that only the player whose turn had just begun could receive this bonus. If other players had followers on the same tile I wouldn't award them any points. Not sure if this was ever in question, just wanted to clarify! ;)

But this is just me, and while my recommendation may not match "THE OFFICIAL" rulings, I would advise that you play it however works for you and provides the most fun and entertainment. This is why we play boardgames after all...

P.S. POST 666!!!  >:D

Congratulations, you're officially evil! >:D :(y)

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
  • Merit: 25
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2018, 02:39:15 PM »
In my opinion

Only reward 1p if the fairy is on the same tile as one of more of your meeples, AT THE START of your turn.
If you forget to claim the point, it is your fault I think. Mostly at my table we help each other out. Especially a beginner player I help always. But yeah. I play for the fun of playing.

This is how I interpretent the rules.
"What things can you find? Things that are hidden?
In for a new league?: 2020 New league?

Offline Dungeonmasterjoe

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2018, 10:23:21 PM »
I think it comes down to:

Do you score 1 point per ACROBAT on the same tile as the fairy? or
Do you now score 1 point per MEEPLE on the same tile as the fairy?

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
  • Merit: 25
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2018, 10:44:47 PM »
1 point for every meeple you own that is on the same tile as the fairy at the start of your turn. If I read the rules correctly
« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 11:03:06 PM by Sinscerly »

Offline Dungeonmasterjoe

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2018, 10:57:38 PM »
Correct. If blue has 2 meeples on the pyramid and black has one, if the fairy is still there on the start of their turns, blue scores 2 points on his turn, and black scores 1 point on his turn.

But what if blue ALSO has a meeple on a road segment on the SAME tile?  Will he score 3 points at the beginning of his turn? (black still scores 1 point on his turn).

If blue has 2 meeples together on a tile (from using the flying machine or crop circle (add a meeple action), and he moves the fairy there, would he score 2 bonus points from the fairy at the beginning of his turn?

Or does this rule apple only to acrobats?

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
  • Merit: 25
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2018, 11:04:48 PM »
For every meeple on the tile where the fairy is.

You put the fairy on a tile, not on a subject that is on the tile.

Yes, he will score 3p.
Yes, he will score 2p.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 11:07:53 PM by Sinscerly, Reason: cannot quote on mobile... »

Offline Dungeonmasterjoe

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2018, 11:15:53 PM »
I concur.

It's just that The Princess & the Dragon (2016) says:

"you may assign the fairy to one of your meeples..."
« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 11:17:55 PM by Dungeonmasterjoe »

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
  • Merit: 25
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2018, 02:42:39 AM »
I concur.

It's just that The Princess & the Dragon (2016) says:

"you may assign the fairy to one of your meeples..."

Well in the old rules, which I have it states as on the tile(also described in the CAR). So I think this is something that again got messed up somewhere. Will try and look in the German new rules

Quote from: CAR_7.4
71
 In the RGG and ZMG versions of the rules, a follower on the same tile as the fairy will
generate the 1-point bonus (again, because in these rules the fairy is not specifically placed beside a
single follower). Thus, by these rules, it would be conceivable that multiple players could benefit from
fairy placement if there were multiple followers on (different features of) the same tile. (updated 5/2013)
« Last Edit: August 31, 2018, 02:52:15 AM by Sinscerly, Reason: adding qoutes. because not working on mobile for me »

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
  • Merit: 25
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2018, 03:36:33 AM »
German (old version) state:
Quote from: German_scoring_fairy_V1
• Steht zu Beginn des Zuges eines Spielers ein Gefolgsmann dieses Spielers zusammen mit der
Fee auf einer Karte, so bekommt dieser Spieler sofort 1 Punkt.
There stands if the fairy is on the same tile as one of your meeples, that you get one point.

German (new version) state:
Quote from: German_scoring_fairy_V2
DIE FEE (Holzfigur)
Die Fee ist eine neutrale Figur, die keinem Spieler gehört.
Sie steht zu Beginn neben der Spielfläche.
2. Einen Meeple einsetzen
Die Fee bewegen
Immer, wenn du in deinem Zug keinen Meeple einsetzt (oder bewegst), darfst
du die Fee zu einem eigenen Meeple setzen.
Dabei musst du die Fee dem Meeple
direkt zuordnen, indem du sie dicht neben deinen Meeple stellst.
Wenn die Fee auf einem Plättchen mit einem deiner Meeple steht, hilft sie dir.
Das kann auf 3 unterschiedliche Weisen geschehen:
1. Landschaftsplättchen legen
•1 Punkt am Beginn des Zuges
Steht die Fee zu Beginn deines Zuges direkt bei einem deiner Meeple,
so bekommst du sofort 1 Punkt.

There stands that you put the fairy next to the meeple on the tile. (first underline)
There stands that when the fairy is on the same tile as your meeple it helps you! (second underline)
There stands that you get 1 point if the fairy stands directly by your meeple. (third underline)

So I think it depends on how you read and wich edition you play. And if am wright with my german understandings...

I think that the second underline is quite important line, if my translations are correct the V2 rules are speaking against them self!!! So can we take second rules version serious?

Under the big top rules:
Quote from: under_the_big_top_rules
Erw. | Stellst du die Fee zu einem Artisten, zählt sie für alle Artisten der Pyramide.
Du bekommst vor deinem Zug 1 Punkt für jeden deiner Meeple in der Pyramide,
wenn die Fee noch dort steht.
Du darfst den Zaubergang dazu nutzen, um deinen Meeple in eine Pyramide zu
bringen.
In the german rules of big top stands(if correct translated) that:
ONLY the meeples in the pyramide gets 1 point, when the fairy is on that tile.
So question, when there stands  :green-meeple: on a road. On the same tile there is a pyramide with:  :green-meeple: :green-meeple: :red-meeple:.
So does then green gets 3 points from the fairy? (1 from the road and 2 from the pyramide)
or does he then only get 2 points from the pyramide?

I am sure that Red also gets a point in his turn when the fairy is still there.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2018, 03:45:15 AM by Sinscerly »

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2018, 04:51:10 AM »
mh... this have sense... the acrobats are so close that the fairy power touch all of them... but not another meeple on other elements...
but the CAR?

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
  • Merit: 25
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Scoring the Fairy V2
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2018, 05:04:30 AM »
mh... this have sense... the acrobats are so close that the fairy power touch all of them... but not another meeple on other elements...
but the CAR?
Well that's the problem.... I don't get it...

Hopefully does someone has the awnser.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Fairy scoring

Started by BigFurryMonster

3 Replies
169 Views
Last post October 14, 2020, 10:22:45 AM
by Halfling
xx
Missing my fairy

Started by Willem

3 Replies
1225 Views
Last post February 26, 2017, 01:13:57 PM
by MrNumbers
xx
The Fairy and The Dragon

Started by Tani Mai

7 Replies
3339 Views
Last post November 07, 2014, 06:31:27 AM
by Tani Mai
xx
Fairy points

Started by Tani Mai

2 Replies
1552 Views
Last post November 13, 2014, 01:58:08 AM
by Tani Mai
xx
Who does the Fairy protect?

Started by Jugglah

3 Replies
1739 Views
Last post August 23, 2015, 02:53:42 PM
by SRBO