Author Topic: Double Merge  (Read 952 times)

Offline Jansfort

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Double Merge
« on: August 17, 2018, 06:32:53 AM »
Hello everyone.

I’m new to this forum and I’m excited to dive in to all this amazing fan-created knowledge. Newcomer to the game as well and loving it.

I have tried to find an answer in the forums but since I’m new to the lingo I haven’t found the right search terms.

My question is, how do you deal with double merging a city and is it even allowed? The rules do not speak of this.

Say there are three cities in construction. One by RED and two by BLUE.

CIty 1 has 2 RED
City 2 has 1 BLUE
City 3 has 2 BLUE

RED manages to connect 1 and 2 thus winning the city by majority. However, now BLUE can connect city 3 as well and would then be a new majority.

How do you play this? Only allow one merger? Or allow numerous? And in that case would REF be allowed to keep placing needles in his city where BLUE has only 1 needle?

Hope you can help me

Have a great day.

Simon





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4041.0

Offline Halfling

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1059
  • Merit: 48
  • Welcome tournament 2015 winner.
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2018, 07:04:18 AM »
Welcome Simon. The word for this action is 'glom'. It is very much allowed if not encouraged. A great way to share or steal points after hard work by an opponent.
The Geek shall inherit the earth if we get a good die role

Offline danisthirty

  • (well, 39 actually)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6437
  • Merit: 238
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2018, 08:52:44 AM »
Hi Simon, and welcome to the forums! :) :(y)

It looks as though Halfling has already answered your question, but I would add that what you've touched on is a key point to the game! If someone is trying to take over a feature that you've worked on so that they outnumber you there then do everything you can to stop them from joining on, or if they do, try to match them as quickly as possible. If you're the player who has just "glommed on" to an opponent's feature such that you've outnumbered them then close it as quickly as possible before they've had the chance to tie you! Other than this there are no rules about how often a player might merge a city of their own into a bigger city, so have fun with it and enjoy experimenting with when it's worth the effort and when it isn't!

Good luck!
Dan
Heroically snatching defeat from the jaws of victory since 2018

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5340
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2018, 09:01:27 AM »
Welcome to the forum Simon.

The key points from the rules to remember is:

1) The tile is laid
2) You can place a meeple on a unclaimed feature on the laid tile
3)Then you score any completed features.

When you score, this is when you calculate the majority.

In your case you played 1, which merged and completed 3 incomplete-cities into 1-completed city.
Then you score it!

Sounds like you're really enjoying the game - I hope you remember to take a few photographs and share them with us :D

I see from your profile you're from Denmark - I'm hoping to visit there for a short holiday next year - it's always been very appealing!

Offline Jansfort

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2018, 04:37:16 AM »
Thank you everyone for the responses. We had a blast playing with this new knowledge.

I just got the Big Box by mail and can’t wait to try out the expansions one by one. What an immense game it becomes.

A few shots from our game with my mother this weekend







Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5340
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2018, 05:04:07 AM »
Wonderful pictures Jansfort - A merit from me!

It looks like you've been having some very strategic games!  I hope you enjoy playing with the expansions :)

WOW:  My 5000th post here on CarcC!

Offline dirk2112

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 826
  • Merit: 43
  • Filled with caffeine and hyperbole
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2018, 03:55:16 PM »
Quick question.  On picture 1, at the bottom, how did red put 2 meeple in that city?

It doesn't seem like a valid placement
« Last Edit: August 20, 2018, 03:57:12 PM by dirk2112 »

Offline Sinscerly

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 556
  • Merit: 18
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2018, 11:36:37 PM »
Quick question.  On picture 1, at the bottom, how did red put 2 meeple in that city?

It doesn't seem like a valid placement
You're right, cannot find a way to connect it.
"What things can you find? Things that are hidden?

Offline Halfling

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1059
  • Merit: 48
  • Welcome tournament 2015 winner.
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2018, 11:38:07 PM »
Ditto the other city with 2 meeples.

Offline Jansfort

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2018, 12:13:11 AM »
But I thought that was the way to defend a city, by placing more meeples?

I must have gotten it wrong.

Can I only have a single meeple in a city unless I place a disconnected city piece that later latches on?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5340
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2018, 12:16:28 AM »
Afraid not :/

Rule 2:
2) You can place a meeple on a unclaimed feature on the laid tile.

Once you placed the tile, the city will be part of the city already claimed by your meeple.  You'd have to merge together as you said.

Offline danisthirty

  • (well, 39 actually)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6437
  • Merit: 238
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2018, 12:39:35 AM »
Can I only have a single meeple in a city unless I place a disconnected city piece that later latches on?

Exactly! The whole process of attacking opposing features with meeples of your own, or defending your own features by adding extra meeples is only possible through claiming previously unclaimed features (cities in this case) and then joining them on to whatever you're attacking/ defending.

Hope this makes sense. Maybe an online review/ walkthrough video would help?

Offline Jansfort

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2018, 01:10:37 AM »
Oh wow. We’ve played it all wrong then. But at least this will not lock down as many meeples in absurd fights for city domain. At some point we had 5-6 meeples in the same city which was not really fun.

Thanks for enlightening me




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline danisthirty

  • (well, 39 actually)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6437
  • Merit: 238
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2018, 01:15:05 AM »
Well, that's how it's supposed to be played anyway but ultimately it's up to you and your fellow boardgamers if you find it more fun to play in a different way.

The end goal is to have some fun, so feel free to house-rule it if playing by your own rules works out better in this way! ;) :(y)

Offline Sinscerly

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 556
  • Merit: 18
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Double Merge
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2018, 03:48:25 PM »
Oh wow. We’ve played it all wrong then. But at least this will not lock down as many meeples in absurd fights for city domain. At some point we had 5-6 meeples in the same city which was not really fun.
Thanks for enlightening me
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Haha, that sounds really crowdy and fun.
I definitely should try this out once :D

But yeah, like the others said already. You have the first city tile where you place you first knight (meeple) then you are not able to place any more knights on that same piece/project. But if you start a new city/project and place another Knight on it that's okay. Then you connect those two projects and they become one. That's how you get two knights into one project.

You can do the same with roads and farms. I always see people fighting about the big farm... Mostly I'm to late already but I dominate the small ones ;D
« Last Edit: August 21, 2018, 03:56:09 PM by Sinscerly »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Double watermark

Started by quevy

12 Replies
3321 Views
Last post June 02, 2015, 06:40:42 AM
by obervet
xx
Double Sets - What About The Meeples?

Started by Rhoobarb2005

3 Replies
545 Views
Last post July 16, 2018, 01:23:49 PM
by Decar
xx
Playing with double set of tiles.

Started by eebo

10 Replies
681 Views
Last post March 01, 2019, 09:30:17 AM
by eebo
xx
Double Base Tile Games

Started by AMeepleIsYou

7 Replies
1245 Views
Last post August 08, 2017, 02:23:20 AM
by Decar