Author Topic: Two questions C I  (Read 889 times)

Offline tp10053

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 95
  • Merit: 1
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 10th expansion:)
    • View Profile
Two questions C I
« on: July 18, 2018, 03:33:31 AM »
1. When placing a tile with tower foundation which completes a feature(e.g. small city), can I place a tower block and capture the opponents follower before he/she scores any points ? I would guess yes because tower blocks are placed in move the wood phase, which takes place before identification and scoring of completed features, correct ?

2. Do castles from exp.8 connect the fields even if the 2 tile city underneath would otherwise separate them ? For example if it is touching two other cities with its edges. Once again I would guess yes, as the castle token is clearly depicted with a farm surrounding it.

Edit: Well I actually found the answer to question number 2, but it just seems illogical to me using the same argument.

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4007.0
« Last Edit: July 18, 2018, 03:44:19 AM by tp10053 »

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5324
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2018, 03:49:32 AM »
The tower phase happens during the "place wood" phases - scoring happens afterwards.  You may capture before the feature is scored.

Yes - both it's connected to farms - could it be connected to only one?  in which case which one?

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
  • Merit: 34
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2018, 03:56:42 AM »
I don't understand... Do you wont to connect two fields placing a castel?

you can't do it. S_CAR v7.4 pag 100 point 5
« Last Edit: July 18, 2018, 04:43:48 AM by aenima »

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5324
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2018, 04:29:49 AM »
Maybe I misunderstood the question -

Like in the rules: does this image have 1 or 2 farms?

Offline tp10053

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 95
  • Merit: 1
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 10th expansion:)
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2018, 10:31:43 AM »
Maybe I misunderstood the question -

Like in the rules: does this image have 1 or 2 farms?
Yep, that's exactly what I mean.

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
  • Merit: 34
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2018, 11:12:04 AM »
2

Offline Willem

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 533
  • Merit: 35
  • Too many... expansions!!
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2018, 11:46:20 AM »
The rules for the expansion state 'castles seperate fields the same way towns do', as also found in the S-CAR page 100
To be or not to:
A.  B
B.  C
C.  P

Offline tp10053

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 95
  • Merit: 1
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 10th expansion:)
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2018, 04:13:44 AM »
Thank you for your answers  :(y) :black1-meeple:
There was no mention of castles separating the fields in my version of the rules, but I found it  in CAR.

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5324
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2018, 08:24:05 AM »
The new edition was explicit here:

https://images-cdn.zmangames.com/us-east-1/filer_public/f4/bc/f4bc7284-0193-4abe-b0c9-0706b8ebf34f/carcassonne_exp8_rules.pdf

"Castles separate fields, just like roads or cities."

Offline Just a Bill

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 473
  • Merit: 43
  • I'm still in beta.
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2018, 11:47:22 AM »
Hmm, so why on earth didn't they make the tokens 45 mm wide and run the castle art to the edges? Showing field grass connecting the fields on both tiles communicates the exact opposite of the design intent.

(Yes, this is rhetorical. I just don't understand why game publishers think it's a good idea to let the art contradict the gameplay.)
My stuff: The Caverns of Carcassonne | Wheel of Fortune versions | True North (wind roses) | Icon facelifts | Converting CII to CI | Signposts & the Château | The Vault | Riverboats & the Whirlpool | trade list

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5324
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2018, 02:36:57 AM »
Yep, had the same thought. I thought it added a nice tactical twist being able to merge farms.  The alternative would be to make the castle tokens smaller. So they fit inside the walls of the city. But there's probably too much variance to make that work.  So they could have added it to the perimeter of the castle token.

Offline totor66

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 161
  • Merit: 5
  • Carcassonne semi completionnist
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2018, 05:50:00 AM »
Is that “fixed” in CII or are the castle token the same size and/or design ?
Carcassonne Fan since 2014

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5324
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2018, 07:27:24 AM »
sort of fixed:



Taken from Z-man's online description

Offline tp10053

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 95
  • Merit: 1
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 10th expansion:)
    • View Profile
Re: Two questions C I
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2018, 06:17:06 AM »
Hmm, so why on earth didn't they make the tokens 45 mm wide and run the castle art to the edges? Showing field grass connecting the fields on both tiles communicates the exact opposite of the design intent.

(Yes, this is rhetorical. I just don't understand why game publishers think it's a good idea to let the art contradict the gameplay.)
Well that's exactly where I was coming from.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
JCZ V4.01 Questions

Started by rfielder

3 Replies
684 Views
Last post December 14, 2017, 01:35:23 AM
by MrNumbers
xx
A few odd questions...

Started by Christopher

3 Replies
1647 Views
Last post November 04, 2016, 07:58:25 AM
by ny1050220
xx
little questions regarding the new sxpansions...

Started by aenima

10 Replies
2828 Views
Last post April 19, 2014, 03:46:13 AM
by aenima
xx
Two Castle Questions

Started by Allan in Brisbane

3 Replies
1575 Views
Last post March 23, 2015, 11:58:09 PM
by Allan in Brisbane
question
Some questions about the Gingerbread Man

Started by emanuele

3 Replies
2109 Views
Last post April 23, 2015, 01:22:31 PM
by obervet