Author Topic: watchtowers question/rule clarification...  (Read 1435 times)

Offline robnhill

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
watchtowers question/rule clarification...
« on: February 01, 2017, 08:58:53 AM »
Hi All!

So my wife and I just received the watchtowers expansion in the mail from cundco! Woot!

However, we are a bit confused about the rules, in particular the rule around roads/cities being completed.

So... every watchtower tile has a road and/or a city piece on it. Say I play a tile that has a watchtower symbol, a road, and a city segment on it, and I put my meeple on the city segment. Is it whatever is completed first -- the road or the city?

For example -- my wife (opponent) may then want to make sure the road connecting to the watchtower piece is completed first before I complete the city.

Help! It's kind of confusing to explain....

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=3140.0

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: watchtowers question/rule clarification...
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 10:21:39 AM »
Here is good explanation of the rules. Main idea: watchtower can be scored only if there is a meeple on the watchtower tile.
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline robnhill

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: watchtowers question/rule clarification...
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2017, 10:28:26 AM »
Thanks for the link.

Confusion still tho: does the meeple  :black1-meeple: only score if it's on the part of the watchtower tile that was just completed? Thus, if you have your meeple on a city segment of the watchtower tile, but the road section of the watchtower tile is complete, do you not score?

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: watchtowers question/rule clarification...
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2017, 11:04:58 AM »
Given link pretty much explains everything:
If a road or a city is completed
and a part of it is on the watchtower tile
and there is a meeple on this part .

So, no, you don't score, if the road is completed, but your meeple is on the city part of the watchtower tile.

Offline GeorG

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Merit: 0
    • View Profile
Re: watchtowers question/rule clarification...
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2017, 11:55:17 PM »
For example -- my wife (opponent) may then want to make sure the road connecting to the watchtower piece is completed first before I complete the city.

But after that if you complete the city and your meeple is still on the city segment connected to the watchtower tile you score with the watchtower!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Cathars/Besiegers rule clarification

Started by MrNumbers

7 Replies
2499 Views
Last post November 15, 2014, 11:16:53 PM
by danisthirty
xx
Rule Clarification - Gold Mine

Started by Allan in Brisbane

4 Replies
1945 Views
Last post November 28, 2014, 01:32:13 AM
by Allan in Brisbane
xx
Mage and Witch rule clarification

Started by TimBoPavey

2 Replies
1409 Views
Last post January 29, 2015, 07:07:43 AM
by TimBoPavey
xx
Princess<-->Phantom rule clarification

Started by MrNumbers

18 Replies
6122 Views
Last post November 05, 2014, 11:20:32 PM
by danisthirty
xx
Rule question about The Tower

Started by jungleboy

11 Replies
3834 Views
Last post December 03, 2013, 07:52:56 PM
by obervet