Author Topic: Shepherd's field gets completed by another player  (Read 1870 times)

Offline mPony

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 75
  • Merit: 3
  • Greetings from Canada!
    • View Profile
Shepherd's field gets completed by another player
« on: October 16, 2016, 12:41:40 PM »
On Reddit the following photo was posted: http://imgur.com/90ty52N

It seems the field containing the grey shepherd was fully enclosed by a different player. No more tiles can extend that field.  Of course if the pasture was enclosed by the grey player they would retrieve their shepherd and score for their sheep. 

But what happens to the grey shepherd when someone else encloses that pasture?  Is it stuck there until the end of the game? Does it return to the grey player scoring no points? Does it return to the grey player scoring points for the sheep?

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2931.0

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: Shepherd's field gets completed by another player
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2016, 01:14:57 PM »
Is it stuck there until the end of the game?

I think so...

Offline Rosco

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1619
  • Merit: 41
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Re: Shepherd's field gets completed by another player
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2016, 02:39:17 PM »
You can claim shepherd points and retrieve the shepherd at any time as your move the wood phase

Sent from my SM-G800F using Tapatalk

Just lay the damn tile!

Offline Halfling

  • Chatelain
  • ******
  • Posts: 1185
  • Merit: 49
  • Welcome tournament 2015 winner.
    • View Profile
Re: Shepherd's field gets completed by another player
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2016, 11:21:13 PM »
You can only reclaim the shepherd if you extend the farm in which the shepherd resides.  As this farm is enclosed the shepherd is stuck in my opinion.
The Geek shall inherit the earth if we get a good die role

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Shepherd's field gets completed by another player
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2016, 01:59:28 AM »
On Reddit the following photo was posted: http://imgur.com/90ty52N

It seems the field containing the grey shepherd was fully enclosed by a different player. No more tiles can extend that field.  Of course if the pasture was enclosed by the grey player they would retrieve their shepherd and score for their sheep. 
...

But what happens to the grey shepherd when someone else encloses that pasture?
In the BigBox5 from 2014 - German rule book is this situation in the rules as a "special case" (page 11).
If a player surrounded a farm complete with roads and citywalls, then the action "gather the flock" triggers.

Is it stuck there until the end of the game?
No, it isn't.

Does it return to the grey player scoring no points?
No, this suggestion is wrong.

Does it return to the grey player scoring points for the sheep?
Yes, this is right. The shepherd returns to the grey players supply and he gets the points for the sheep.
The sheep return into the bag.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
The Festival & Shepherd

Started by Windekind

2 Replies
667 Views
Last post December 16, 2018, 03:41:46 AM
by Windekind
xx
Over Hill and Dale + Shepherd.

Started by Windekind

4 Replies
1268 Views
Last post April 05, 2019, 05:16:09 PM
by DrMeeple
question
Shepherd Meeples, alternate colors?

Started by coyote

4 Replies
2210 Views
Last post October 11, 2014, 06:16:48 AM
by coyote
clip
Tower and Builder, and Shepherd questions

Started by MrNumbers

12 Replies
5072 Views
Last post July 07, 2014, 12:04:28 PM
by kettlefish
question
Just to clarify use of term field vs farm

Started by Gerry

14 Replies
5207 Views
Last post September 04, 2014, 09:24:41 AM
by Gerry