Author Topic: Standard version questions about putting a pawns  (Read 4134 times)

Offline merqn

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« on: July 01, 2016, 09:24:34 AM »
The red pawn is already on the field, is it possible to put a green pawn?

1.

2.


3.


If I will put a piece with connection of those road, the black is taking all the points because he has 2 pawns on this road or the points are the same for yellow and black player?



Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2813.0

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2016, 10:10:17 AM »
A player may only put a pawn / meeple on the tile he or she just played on the tile's city, road or grass segment, that does not connect to another tile of the same type (city, road or grass) with a pawn / meeple already on it.

In other words, you can expand an already existing city, road or field as long as that expanded area does not have a follower on it already.
  You can then of course connect them in future turns so both shares the area (or the one player with the most of his pawns / meeple on it will get full control and all the score).

Hope this helps!

Visual aid should exist in the rule pamphlet if you have one.
World record holder for a single game of Carcassonne using 10 007 tiles!

Offline merqn

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2016, 11:33:55 AM »
So at
1) I can put a maaple
2) I can put a maaple
3) I can not
4) blacks gonna take all

??

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2016, 11:50:22 AM »
If no one beats me to it, I will post again in an hour or so with images to clear it up. Could use a break from my other comitments.

Besides, I like helping out regarding the rules. Keeps ne up to date. :)

Offline Rosco

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1621
  • Merit: 41
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2016, 12:07:50 PM »
1. The image shows 2 meeples both on roads.  Both legal placements.

2.  This is not possible as when red tile is placed, the green is already already controlling the field.

3. This is fine as the meeples are on different cities.

4.  A straight road piece would result in black winning all the points

Sent from my SM-G800F using Tapatalk

Just lay the damn tile!

Offline Karcalijn

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 52
  • Merit: 3
  • I call purple!
    • View Profile
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2016, 02:53:12 PM »
Rosco has given all the right answers already. But what i'm wondering about is how the two black meeple can be legally placed in picture nr 4. Since they are directly next to eachother i don't see how they started out as different projects  (roads in this case). That would mean that one off the black meeple is there illegal and therefore the points would go to both black and yellow.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk

This is the game, those are the rules and that is how it should be played!

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2016, 03:42:23 PM »
Rosco has given all the right answers already. But what i'm wondering about is how the two black meeple can be legally placed in picture nr 4. Since they are directly next to eachother i don't see how they started out as different projects  (roads in this case). That would mean that one off the black meeple is there illegal and therefore the points would go to both black and yellow.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk

Yes, there is no legal way for any two meeples, regardless them being the same color or different, to be able to be on adjacent tiles and occupying the same road in this matter, unless you are playing with the Flyer expansion.

Offline merqn

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2016, 11:11:29 PM »
Is it The same with castles and field and churchess? I cannot put card with meeple next to other card with meeple?

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2016, 11:23:49 PM »
Is it The same with castles and field and churchess? I cannot put card with meeple next to other card with meeple?

Yes, same thing applies here. As long as the city segment, farm or road does not continue to another tile where there is another meeple / pawn, it's ok to put down a meeple.

There are of course expansions that deviate from this, like The Builder meeple from Traders and Builders.

Online Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • Posts: 5610
  • Merit: 241
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2016, 12:09:17 AM »
Is it The same with castles and field and churchess? I cannot put card with meeple next to other card with meeple?

No, not churchess. You can place a meeple next to a church that already has meeple on it. They do not affect the church.

Offline Rosco

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1621
  • Merit: 41
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2016, 03:09:28 AM »
You can put a tile next to a tile with a meeple on it.  You cannot put a meeple into a any feature that is already ocupied by another meeple - the same for CITIES, ROADS, and FARMS. For cloisters, only the meeple on the actual cloister itself gets the points so although the same rules apply, it is just not possible to place a second meeple on as you may only place a meeple on the tile you have just laid.

Sent from my SM-G800F using Tapatalk


Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2016, 03:51:01 AM »
Hi merqn,
I know the game Carcassonne is still new for you. During the years Carcassonne got many expansions. So it is important to use the correct words for the different features, because in the expansions there are new features.

example
- base game: city
- expansion - bridges,castles, bazaars: castle
The castles in the expansion "Bridges, Castles & Bazaars" have different game mechanics than the city from the base game.

Also the figures of Carcassonne - each different figure have it's own name.
the standard figure has the name: Meeple and it works as a knight in a city, and it also works as a highwayman onto a road, and it can also work as a monk on a monastery and if the meeple is layed down onto a field it works as a farmer.

The other figures of Carcassonne have their own names and other functions than the meeple
for example the "Abbot" - this figure can be placed onto a monastery or onto a garden

(I used the terms from the base game of the Carcassonne - New Edition)

Here is the link to the rule book from the new edition at CarcF:
http://www.carcassonne-forum.de/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=1962
If someone has a link to rules from another language for the new edition, please give the information to maik63de (admin at CarcF and also a member here at CarcC)

« Last Edit: July 02, 2016, 03:52:34 AM by kettlefish »

Offline merqn

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2016, 04:40:50 AM »
Allright, so to be clear let me show you what did I learn:


This is correct


This is incorrect


This is correct


This is correct


This is incorrect


This is incorrect

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Standard version questions about putting a pawns
« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2016, 05:00:20 AM »
Yes on all of the above. You aced it!

Update: Not to entangle things but the farmer and the city examples above where the red and the yellow meeples are sharing the area is possible if they started separetly and joined together later after placing more tiles to connect them.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2016, 05:05:28 AM by Paul »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Stock Check: All 228 pieces together + putting the excess up for grabs

Started by ooh_jim

18 Replies
6646 Views
Last post June 11, 2016, 02:52:20 PM
by What If?
xx
HAVE: Empty Big Box WANT: Empty Standard Box

Started by AntisocialOcelot

1 Replies
1504 Views
Last post February 03, 2018, 12:11:13 PM
by Rosco
xx
New version of 7 Wonders

Started by Decar

5 Replies
648 Views
Last post August 01, 2020, 11:18:40 AM
by Decar
xx
FS BIg Box 5 Z-man version/English

Started by CovertOps

3 Replies
1811 Views
Last post August 13, 2016, 04:06:50 AM
by CovertOps
xx
Saboteur - (new version)

Started by SRBO

2 Replies
2369 Views
Last post November 23, 2014, 01:51:52 PM
by SRBO