Author Topic: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10  (Read 3666 times)

Offline Madhatter123

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« on: May 22, 2016, 01:08:53 AM »
Hmmm. Ive downloaded the 7zip file /.jar and unpacked it but nothing happens, is here an executable to run or am I missing something?

Running win10.


cheers

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2748.0

Offline Hounk

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
  • Merit: 15
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2016, 02:15:50 AM »
No executable to run. You just have to d/l, unpack, then run the jar. Are you sure, you have unpacked? Win10 treats packed files like unpacked in the explorer, and you can open e.g. pictures just the same, if they are packed. But the jar file will only work, if you had properly unpacked it first, otherwise it will react, like you have described.

Offline Madhatter123

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2016, 02:42:38 AM »
Yeah I've extracted using 7 zip.   Might kill it and retry tomorrow.

sent from my Nokia 8210 bruv


Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • Posts: 5439
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2016, 02:51:46 AM »
You may want to execute the jar file on the command line (cmd in windows 10?); if there's an error during execution you should see it. 

On the Prompt: java -jar JCloisterZone.jar

I'm going to separate your question into a different thread, because it's not related to the Unwritten rules.

Offline hunnymonster

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Merit: 11
  • An ugly bag of mainly water
    • View Profile
    • The Shaving Room - a UK-based community for traditional grooming
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2016, 03:01:54 AM »
You also need to have Java runtime installed :) (obvious I know, but nobody's mentioned it yet)
Whatever it is, it's probably in the post from Germany...

Offline rfielder

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 473
  • Merit: 10
  • Carcassonne Beginner
    • View Profile
    • Cool Country Nights
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2016, 04:54:27 PM »
Since moving to Win10, I have an issue with JCZ.

If you click on the .jar file, it treats it as a folder, and shows the files within the .jar file.

I have to right-click on the .jar file, and select Open With, then select Java.
Robert Fielder
Brampton, Ontario, Canada  EST

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2016, 10:25:12 PM »
I have to right-click on the .jar file, and select Open With, then select Java.
Next time try to tick the checkbox "Always use this app to open .jar files".
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline rfielder

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 473
  • Merit: 10
  • Carcassonne Beginner
    • View Profile
    • Cool Country Nights
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2016, 04:58:36 AM »
Next time try to tick the checkbox "Always use this app to open .jar files".
Not being new to windows, that was the first thing I tried.

No change.

As it turns out, this behaviour occurs only with Directory Opus 11.  When using the standard Windows explorer, the file opens as expected.

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • Posts: 5439
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Executing JCloisterZone on Windows 10
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2016, 09:58:12 AM »
No idea what Directory Opus 11 is - but I'd guess the java runtime isn't on the PATH or it's equivalent I should say.  This system variable is a list of directories that applications use to find other application (ie:the java runtime).  Either Opus 11 isnt using the PATH and using it's own, or it may not have been set.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
4.2.1 problems with Windows 7

Started by forumisto

12 Replies
1752 Views
Last post February 11, 2018, 02:48:12 PM
by farin
xx
JCloisterZone... mia

Started by Reggie777

3 Replies
1522 Views
Last post July 09, 2016, 11:15:21 PM
by danisthirty
xx
JCloisterZone 2.7

Started by rfielder

65 Replies
19826 Views
Last post August 15, 2014, 07:21:58 PM
by rfielder
xx
JCloisterZone 3.0

Started by farin

30 Replies
12093 Views
Last post November 02, 2014, 12:36:28 PM
by farin
xx
Jcloisterzone game now?

Started by Rosco

0 Replies
1362 Views
Last post May 19, 2014, 06:52:50 AM
by Rosco