Author Topic: German Cathedrals scoring questions  (Read 8363 times)

Offline Halfling

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1059
  • Merit: 48
  • Welcome tournament 2015 winner.
    • View Profile
German Cathedrals scoring questions
« on: March 31, 2016, 08:36:38 AM »
I have a scoring question for this new expansion.  If a road starts at one German Cathedral and ends at a different German Cathedral is the scoring of the road still 2 points per tile?

In theory a new Labyrinth tile could be surrounded by 4 German Cathedrals.  If I am lucky enough to have placed a meeple on the Labyrinth tile does it score 10 points or more than 10?

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2580.0
« Last Edit: April 26, 2016, 12:46:14 PM by MrNumbers, Reason: thread name expanded »
The Geek shall inherit the earth if we get a good die role

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2453
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2016, 08:52:57 AM »
My initial thought would be no. Am not at home to check.
 
Following all previous rules such as Inns and Cathedrals it's safe too presume they don't.
World record holder for a single game of Carcassonne using 10 007 tiles!

Offline dirk2112

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 826
  • Merit: 43
  • Filled with caffeine and hyperbole
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2016, 09:09:11 AM »

I would think 10 points for that.

Is there a rule that prevents putting the cathedrals together like there is for the german castles?

German Castles and German Cathedrals together can score some really decent road bonuses.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2016, 09:10:44 AM by dirk2112 »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2016, 10:22:10 AM »
I have created a small riddle - the score for the German Cathedrals - but still without the result...   >:D


Offline Rosco

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1551
  • Merit: 39
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2016, 10:42:14 AM »
Top red is 11
Green is 9
Top blue is 4
Yellow on castle tile is 7
Middle Red is 4
Bottom blue is 12
I think each of the yellow and the green on cathedrals get 9 but I am not sure as I haven't studied the rules yet
Just lay the damn tile!

Offline Christopher

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 297
  • Merit: 12
  • It's not the years, it's the mileage.
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2016, 11:16:48 AM »
Blimey! I make it:

Top red - 11
Top yellow - 9
Top green - 9
Lower yellow - 7
Top blue - 4
Lower red - 4
Lower green - 8
Lower blue - 12
Look to the north. Keep looking. There's nothing coming from the south.

Offline Rosco

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1551
  • Merit: 39
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2016, 11:29:02 AM »
Why is the lower green only 8

Offline Christopher

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 297
  • Merit: 12
  • It's not the years, it's the mileage.
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2016, 12:06:43 PM »
Why is the lower green only 8

One point for each road tile, multiple roads coming from the Cathedral count as one road, the Cathedral tile counts twice. So the road at the top is worth two, and the other is worth six, five tiles but the Cathedral counts twice.

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5340
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2016, 12:07:45 PM »
@kettlefish: I'm assuming the Cathedrals are meant to have buildings on the road and that the roads are separate!

Rules don't mention anything about 2 cathedrals, so I'm going for each applies its rule (eg: 2 points per tile).

Here's my guess left to right:

Red: 11 (2 points per tile + 3)
Yellow: 12(1 point per road + 2 point for inn)
Green: 9 (3 points per road with inn)
Yellow: 7 (2 points per road + 3)
Blue: 8 (2 points per road, 2 points per road)
Red: 4 (2 per road)
Green: 8 (1 point per road)
Blue: 24 (2 points per road, 2 points per road)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2016, 12:09:56 PM by Decar, Reason: updated wrong value »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2016, 12:28:30 PM »
Here is the result:

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5340
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2016, 12:30:44 PM »
+1 Kettlefish - thank you for the answers! It looks like the CAR will need to make clear multiple Cathedrals don't both act on the road, but I guess it's like most other things!

Offline Christopher

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 297
  • Merit: 12
  • It's not the years, it's the mileage.
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2016, 12:32:31 PM »
The Archbishop scores for the inn?! :O

Excellent!

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 5340
  • Merit: 238
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2016, 12:35:19 PM »
An Archbishop earns 2 points for each road segment with an inn on it.  It is in the extra rules section about interactions with other expansions.

Offline Christopher

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 297
  • Merit: 12
  • It's not the years, it's the mileage.
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2016, 12:42:49 PM »
An Archbishop earns 2 points for each road segment with an inn on it.  It is in the extra rules section about interactions with other expansions.

Probably should have looked at that while working out the riddle!

Offline dirk2112

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 826
  • Merit: 43
  • Filled with caffeine and hyperbole
    • View Profile
Re: German Cathedrals
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2016, 02:31:15 PM »
I didn't know the Inn stacked for the Archbishop.  Thanks Kettlefish for the diagram.  Merit to you!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Dragon and German Castle questions

Started by obervet

6 Replies
2429 Views
Last post April 14, 2015, 02:35:04 PM
by Safari
xx
Scoring Cities with Mayors and Cathedrals (involves two expansions)

Started by JGreystone

6 Replies
2008 Views
Last post March 21, 2016, 01:44:41 PM
by Rosco
xx
Where To Buy German Cathedrals

Started by ARabidMeerkat

6 Replies
2665 Views
Last post July 23, 2016, 04:57:13 AM
by Astargoth
xx
German Cathedrals and cult place

Started by Windekind

3 Replies
1388 Views
Last post February 04, 2017, 06:19:47 AM
by Willem
xx
WTS: Inns & Cathedrals (German version) - Original art

Started by Halfling

2 Replies
354 Views
Last post April 09, 2019, 02:56:41 AM
by Halfling