Author Topic: To Castle Or Not To Castle?  (Read 3747 times)

Offline danisthirty

  • (not thirSty!)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6624
  • Merit: 257
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« on: October 30, 2015, 10:19:10 AM »
A hypothetical question relating to castles (and fliers):

If Player A claims a city cap, Player B uses a flying machine to claim the same city cap (so that it is now owned by two opposing meeples), and Player C completes the city – how do you proceed if Player A wants to turn the completed city into a castle but Player B wants to take the 4 points and get his meeple back, since both of them “own” the city/ town?

The "owner" should get to decide whether the city turns into a castle. But if there are two owners, and both want to do something different, how do you decide what should happen? ???

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2157.0

Offline Rosco

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1621
  • Merit: 41
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2015, 10:52:47 AM »
Player b takes the 4 points and player a makes a castle
Just lay the damn tile!

Offline danisthirty

  • (not thirSty!)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6624
  • Merit: 257
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2015, 11:00:26 AM »
Are you allowed to do two different things? You're kind of allowing it to be a city and a castle simultaneously then which doesn't seem quite right.

Someone else suggested this but I wasn't sure...

Offline Fritz_Spinne

  • Authors
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 658
  • Merit: 19
    • View Profile
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2015, 11:40:26 AM »
I can think only of two possibilities:


Each player with majority decides for himself and both decisions are valid, so one player gets 4 points, the other builds a castle (when both want to build a castle - does every player place a castle token?)

First player in turn order decides, other players have to follow this decision.


I prefer the first option.

Offline danisthirty

  • (not thirSty!)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6624
  • Merit: 257
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2015, 11:43:14 AM »
I can think only of two possibilities:


Each player with majority decides for himself and both decisions are valid, so one player gets 4 points, the other builds a castle (when both want to build a castle - does every player place a castle token?)

First player in turn order decides, other players have to follow this decision.


I prefer the first option.

OK, if this is the best solution then this should be followed. Although it seems strange that the feature is a city and a castle at the same time! Good point regarding who places the castle token, or do both players have to place a castle token? That would make a double-height castle!

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2015, 11:44:56 AM »
I think I read about this somewhere. I'll look further once I get home.

If it becomes a castle the city remains incomplete hence no one scores. But if both meeples stays or not (forced to)  I can't remember.
World record holder for a single game of Carcassonne using 10 007 tiles!

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2015, 12:27:57 PM »
I just finished reading the Castles and Fliers rule from CAR 7.4.

It says nothing what happens if two players occupy the city so I would suggest a house rule until official statement can be made.

One thing I am certain of, no one score any points if it turns into a castle as it is clearly stated that it is an incomplete feature.

Offline danisthirty

  • (not thirSty!)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6624
  • Merit: 257
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2015, 01:21:59 PM »
One thing I am certain of, no one score any points if it turns into a castle as it is clearly stated that it is an incomplete feature.

Agreed. In terms of completion, to allow one player to score 4 points is because it is completed. To allow another player to claim it as a castle is because it is incomplete. Surely it cannot be complete and incomplete at the same time? So I would happily house rule it, but at the moment I have no idea what the house rule would be! :D

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2015, 02:43:33 PM »
What about German Monasteries? They can be complete and incomplete simultaneously and can host different type of meeples. How this differs from this situation?
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2471
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2015, 03:07:14 PM »
What about German Monasteries? They can be complete and incomplete simultaneously and can host different type of meeples. How this differs from this situation?

The difference is that it is stated that a Castle is incomplete no matter what choices are being made while the German Monastery it is stated that it is "never really completed" allowing for some flexibility.

Offline Hounk

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
  • Merit: 15
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: To Castle Or Not To Castle?
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2015, 01:14:56 AM »
A GM with monk on it is completed for 9 points. A GM with abbot on it is never completed. A GM with 2 (regular or wagon) meeple on it, one as an abbot, one as a monk, can be completed for the monk, and therefore for a nearby castle, but not for the abbot.

For the Castle-Flyer-Situation: I would let roll the Flier-die to decide. :) The winning party would then also have to place the castle, if desired, from which the other party would potentially profit just the same. That would be of course a house rule, but the "whoever is first in turn order" solution just the same.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
the Castle

Started by aenima

8 Replies
3069 Views
Last post May 01, 2015, 02:18:55 AM
by aenima
xx
Castle meeples

Started by CKorfmann

3 Replies
2557 Views
Last post February 22, 2015, 05:58:25 PM
by CKorfmann
xx
Carcassonne: The Castle

Started by jungleboy

1 Replies
1537 Views
Last post December 04, 2014, 07:46:15 AM
by Paul
xx
Help with Tower (can you take man off of castle?)

Started by LeMarquisGoux

3 Replies
2066 Views
Last post June 05, 2014, 08:30:55 AM
by Carcking
xx
Hill and Castle

Started by Windekind

2 Replies
2514 Views
Last post November 20, 2018, 12:20:28 AM
by Windekind