Author Topic: Tower tile completes a city...  (Read 2136 times)

Offline Lord_Wishmaster

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Merit: 9
    • View Profile
Tower tile completes a city...
« on: August 23, 2015, 01:51:54 PM »
Sorry for my sudden overload of Tower related questions, not played it for ages and lots of things got thrown up tonight.

So.... Two players both occupying a city, which actually was huge and had a cathedral in it. Player A places the completion tile which has a tower on it. It sits next to the tile with Player B's meeple.... which is the correct order:
1) Player A places a tower and takes off Player B's meeple as his prisoner, thus scoring the city to himself - 60 points!
2) The city is cored first, thus dividing the points between both PlayerA and Player B, 230 points each. Player A can then place a tower piece should he still wish.
???

We decided it should be option 2. Which is the correct way though?


Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2019.0

Offline SRBO

  • Chatelain
  • ******
  • Posts: 1166
  • Merit: 40
  • The Robber Dragon King
    • View Profile
Re: Tower tile completes a city...
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2015, 02:51:58 PM »
Hello Wishmaster!

According to the Complete Annotated Rules (CAR) there are several steps that should be in that order.

first comes
Step 4a: Move the wood (phase 1) point 'e'

here you place the towerpiece AND capture a opponent follower.

Then at
Step 6: Identify Completed Features point 'a and b'

the tile is scored,

So your correct order should have been 1!

Im curious though, how do you manage to get 60 points instead of 230 if you stayed together?


Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: Tower tile completes a city...
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2015, 10:36:43 PM »
Im curious though, how do you manage to get 60 points instead of 230 if you stayed together?

I think this is a typo, Lord_Wishmaster probably meant 30 points, which is also wrong: if two or more players share a feature, they both score full amount of points.
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline Lord_Wishmaster

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Merit: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Tower tile completes a city...
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2015, 04:42:36 AM »
Yes, it was a typo.... er, obviously!
And also yes to MrNumbers. Not sure how we dropped into the half points thing. Is there another Carcassonne game that does award half points, where did we get that from?

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: Tower tile completes a city...
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2015, 05:04:16 AM »
Is there another Carcassonne game that does award half points, where did we get that from?

I don't know such games. The only thing that comes in mind is uncompleted cities (or whatever they called in spin-offs).


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Replacement Tower Piece for 'The City' Version

Started by GreyMeeple

3 Replies
589 Views
Last post March 12, 2019, 01:18:52 PM
by GreyMeeple
xx
City of Carcassone - one big tile

Started by Jéré

18 Replies
9489 Views
Last post February 18, 2015, 09:42:05 AM
by Duncan90
xx
Bridges, Castles & Bazaars - Cloister in City tile

Started by quintilis

10 Replies
4429 Views
Last post December 26, 2014, 11:38:07 PM
by Allan in Brisbane
xx
Completionism Poll #7: the City of Carcassonne tile(s) from the Count expansion

Started by jungleboy

13 Replies
5213 Views
Last post February 29, 2016, 02:05:00 AM
by jungleboy
clip
Meeple Tile Tower - a small contest

Started by kettlefish

16 Replies
6963 Views
Last post August 22, 2015, 12:55:53 PM
by Paul