Author Topic: south seas + friday question  (Read 4790 times)

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 752
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
south seas + friday question
« on: March 23, 2015, 01:47:16 PM »
ok, waiting for the answer for the Ark of the Covenant, today I had a game with south seas with my new entry Friday expansion...
and I have a question about an island's tile!
the tile "Place AND retreive an Islander" has the rule:
"After placing an Islander on their newly placed landscape tile, players MUST then retreive an Islander from the playing field. It may be the Islander just placed or a different one. These actions must be executed in this order."
I don't understand if I MUST retrive an Islander immediately after placind an Islander or, for exemple, I place an Islander who closes an element, so I can take some wares, I put that Islander in my reserve and then I MUST retrive another Islander in play...
:)

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=1630.0

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: south seas + friday question
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 02:14:05 PM »
It may be the Islander just placed or a different one.

You said it yourself ;) So, you can place an Islander, receive goods and take it back. In my opinion, that counts.

Now I understood that I played it wrong all the time. I interpreted that special tile as you have a right to place an Islander AND take back another in the same turn (standard rules require you to do this in two moves). But I see that probably I'll continue to do the same, as this new rule doesn't make sense for me :)
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 752
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: south seas + friday question
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2015, 02:17:12 PM »
yes, yes, I know... it can be the same or another... but... well I made the wrong exemple, so...
 what if I have no islanders in game and I play a turn like the exemple I made?
« Last Edit: March 23, 2015, 02:30:18 PM by aenima »

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 752
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: south seas + friday question
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2015, 01:17:50 PM »
mmmm  ???

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: south seas + friday question
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2015, 05:09:20 AM »
English rule:
Quote from: 'wamboyil - translation - English'
After placing an Islander on their newly placed landscape tile, players MUST then retreive an Islander from the playing field. It may be the Islander just placed or a different one. These actions must be executed in this order
I think this translation is not correct. The German rule is different.
--------------------------------------
German rule:
Quote from: 'HiG - official rule - German'
Die Spieler dürfen in ihrem Zug zuerst einen Insulaner auf die gelegte Karte einsetzten, als auch anschließend einen Insulaner wieder vom Spielfeld zurücknehmen. Es muss in dieser Reihenfolge ausgeführt werden
During the players turn - the players may place an Islander on the just placed tile and then they even may retrieve an Islander from the playing area and place it back in their supply. These actions must be executed in this order.
---------------------------------------
Turn order - by ZMG - Sea tile = landscape tile:
Quote from: ' ZMG - official rule - English'
1. The player must draw 1 Sea tile and place it according to the Sea tile placement rules.
2a. The player may place 1 Islander from their supply on the tile they just placed
OR
2b. The player may retrieve 1 Islander from a Sea tile and place it back in their supply.
The HiG German rules say:
2b. The player may retrieve 1 Islander from the playing area and place it back in their supply.
----------------------------------------
The turn order for the Friday expansion:
1. The player must draw 1 Sea tile and place it according to the Sea tile placement rules.
2a. The player may place 1 Islander from their supply on the tile they just placed
and then
2b. The player may retrieve 1 Islander from a Sea tile and place it back in their supply.
-----------------------------------------
I used "playing area" = playing field = playing map
-----------------------------------------
Hi aenima, I hope that helps you with the translation into Italy for the Italy version of the CAR.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 05:27:07 AM by kettlefish »

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: south seas + friday question
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2015, 05:17:15 AM »
That means I was right interpreting this rule that way.

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 752
  • Merit: 35
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: south seas + friday question
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2015, 10:50:52 AM »
ooohhh finally, perfect!
the truth is that I take the english translate from BBG, so, maybe, it's not really correct!
so, this friday effect is no a bad think like I thought , is more like "the festival" effect, but more because you can also deploy a follower!
thanx kettle!  ;D


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Carcassonne South Seas rules question

Started by MrNumbers

6 Replies
3502 Views
Last post November 10, 2013, 02:32:51 PM
by MrNumbers
xx
Carcassonne: South Seas - expansion

Started by kettlefish

23 Replies
14446 Views
Last post October 28, 2013, 01:49:05 PM
by Carcatronn
xx
[WTB] Ark of the Covenant - Tunnel - South Seas

Started by Sinscerly

12 Replies
1560 Views
Last post November 03, 2018, 07:56:39 AM
by asp204
xx
South Seas Tournament Yucata

Started by Hounk

23 Replies
7707 Views
Last post June 19, 2017, 02:50:39 AM
by Hounk
xx
Carcassonne: South Seas Rules Template

Started by quevy

3 Replies
3953 Views
Last post May 03, 2014, 08:35:39 AM
by Scott