Author Topic: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015  (Read 8595 times)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« on: March 12, 2015, 08:07:48 AM »
I've got some answers from HiG (Georg Wild) by call 12 03 2015:

Question in BLUE

Answer in GREEN

Still open in RED

My own comments in  MAROON

Obervet gave me the questions in February 2015 by email - this time 15 questions

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=1609.0

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2015, 08:19:07 AM »
1. If a Robber is on a space with a counting follower that moves backwards (such as from a bazaar payment or tower ransom), what happens to the Robber? Does he just move backwards with the follower and stay on the board (similar to what happens with robber/rogue points)?

Yes the Robber moves backwards together with the counting follower. But the player from the Robber doesn't lose points.

If the Robber stands on a score field with two counting followers, than the Robber has the choice if he goes backwards with one counting follower or the Robber still stands together with the remaining counting follower.


Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2015, 08:20:44 AM »
2. When playing with both the Halflings I and Halflings II, do players draw 2 tiles each or 4 tiles each (2 from each set)?

Technically Halflings I and Halflings II are two separate mini-expansions but with the same rules.
Georg Wild and I what should the best answer. In the rules of each mini you read - 2 tiles. Does that really mean 4 triangle tiles (2+2) total?
Georg Wild prefers 2 total - especially if the mini is played with only the base game.


--------------------------------------------------------------
3a. When playing Halflings with fewer than 6 players, do all players still only draw 2 tiles...?
Yes, see the preparation or setup for this expansion.

3b. When playing Halflings with fewer than 6 players,... or do they draw however many are available for all players (i.e., 4 players draw 3 each, 3 players draw 4, and two players draw 6)?
No, there is no word about it in the rules.
--------------------------------------------------------------
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 10:25:43 AM by kettlefish »

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2015, 10:11:14 AM »
4. Can an Abbey be placed in a square beside a triangle tile if that triangle tile is not leaning against the proposed placement location of the Abbey (i.e., it isn't visually creating a square)?
Yes, the Abbey can be placed.

see the examples in the picture.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2015, 10:47:49 AM »
5a. Do half-tile holes in the map stop the chain of scoring for German and Dutch/Belgian Monasteries? (Probably not, since cloisters are complete even with only one Halfling tile.)
The triangle tiles uses the place of a regular landscape tile. That means a single triangle hole doesn't stop the rows for scoring for the German Monasteries.
Only a hole of a complete regular landscape tile interrupts the scoring.


5b.Similarly, does a Halfling gap prevent spread of the Plague in that direction? (Again, probably not, as a lone Halfling seems to have full-tile status.)

Sorry this part we didn't read - that means it is open

Obervet,
Please don't put two different questions into one point - then it happens that something get lost for our clarification... - It is easier for us if you use two more question points than to put many questions into one question point.

What has the plague to do with the German Monasteries?



Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2015, 11:07:57 AM »
5a. Do half-tile holes in the map stop the chain of scoring for German and Dutch/Belgian Monasteries? (Probably not, since cloisters are complete even with only one Halfling tile.)
The triangle tiles uses the place of a regular landscape tile. That means a single triangle hole doesn't stop the rows for scoring for the German Monasteries.
Only a hole of a complete regular landscape tile interrupts the scoring.


5b.Similarly, does a Halfling gap prevent spread of the Plague in that direction? (Again, probably not, as a lone Halfling seems to have full-tile status.)

Sorry this part we didn't read - that means it is open

Obervet,
Please don't put two different questions into one point - then it happens that something get lost for our clarification... - It is easier for us if you use two more question points than to put many questions into one question point.

What has the plague to do with the German Monasteries?


The Plague doesn't have anything to do with the Monasteries directly. I was thinking of the Halflings as the subject of the question, so in simplest form, the question(s) would have read "How do the Halflings interact with Monasteries and the Plague in terms of apparent interruptions in the geography?" That's why I put those 2 parts in the same question. However, based on the answer to the first part, it seems that the Plague question is answered anyway (a triangle hole is functionally not a hole at all).

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2015, 11:41:27 AM »
6. When playing with Darmstadt expansion, do the points for the Convention Centre also get distributed to all players in the event of a tie (I'd assume this is a yes)?

In the German rules is no word about "distributed" points. Each of the players with the majority in that city get 3 points.
-------------------------------------------
7. When playing with Darmstadt expansion, do the two religious buildings function as cloisters in all cases (e.g., when playing with The Cults or Wheel of Fortune)?
Yes, if this mini expansion is played together with other expansions.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 05:25:34 AM by kettlefish »

Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2015, 12:11:29 PM »
Clarifications up to this point have been added to the upcoming CAR.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2015, 01:16:22 PM »
8. If multiple features are completed with a single tile placement and all points go to one player, that player chooses what order the features are scored in. But how is it determined which order scoring occurs in if different players are receiving points? This matters for purposes of scoring with the teacher, as points are awarded for the NEXT completed feature.
The owner of the teacher decide which of the scoring he likes to score.

example: GREEN has the teacher
With the placement of a tile following features have been finished at the same time:
a city - score 6 points - owned by BLUE
a road - score 4 points - owned by RED
Green decided to score for the teacher the 6 points from the city of BLUE.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2015, 01:46:16 PM »
9. If a tile with a dragon icon is placed and extends one's field with a shepherd, does the expand/herd flock action happen first, or does the dragon move first? All we know is that both occur after a player has the opportunity to place a figure. The order of events here would be important, as the dragon eats shepherds and sheep…
The Shepherd can decide if he expand his herd or not - before the Dragon starts with his dragon move.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2015, 01:52:45 PM »
10. Does the abbot from Carcassonne II count as a follower for the purposes of going through a magic portal, acting as a flier, etc.?
Yes, the figure Abbot is a follower. That means, the Abbot can use the Magic Portal and can use the flying machine. The Abbot can only be placed on a cloister or garden. Even with the flying machine the Abbot can land on a garden (simular to the cloister).

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2015, 04:29:31 AM »
11. Can the abbot from Carcassonne II be placed on a tower? (Presumably not, since he must be played to a monastery or garden.)
The figure Abbot is a follower. That means the Abbot can be placed on a tower, but it is a waste to abstain from the special property of the Abbot. Also it would not easy to put the Abbot on the top of a tower tile.


Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2015, 04:37:45 AM »
12. When there is a builder double turn, can a knight be removed from a besieged city in each part of the double turn, or only once overall?
Yes a knight can be removed from a besieged city in each part of the builder double turn.
-------------------------------------------

13. If a tile is placed to extend a builder’s feature, thus presumably granting the builder turn, but the builder is removed before the builder turn occurs (such as a removal caused by the dragon eating the related follower), does the builder turn still occur? (It certainly seems that it should, as the builder may not be present if the extension of the feature also completed the feature.)
Yes, the second part of the double tourn take place, because the builder was there to extended the feature with the placement of the first landscape tile.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2015, 05:00:29 AM »
14. What happens when a player is in possession of the Teacher, and another (unoccupied) road from the school is completed before any points are scored? Presumably the holder of the Teacher receives those points for the unoccupied road, as other expansions (castles, Count) indicate that all completed features “score,” even if nobody receives the points.
No, there are no points for the player who finished the (unoccupied) school road and also no scoring points for the owner of the teacher. The teacher goes back to the school and the ohter player who finished the school road gets the teacher.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules - by call with HiG - 12 03 2015
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2015, 05:08:12 AM »
15. Okay, this is the last question for today, but updating the CAR made me think of this: In New Carcassonne, if you don't place a follower, you can take back your abbot during the Move Wood phase and score points. Does the scoring occur immediately during the Move Wood phase (like the Shepherd herding the flock, and potentially making another round of scoring for Messages), or does the scoring happen in the normal Scoring phase (more like the placement of a barn)?
The scoring occur immediately after the Abbot was taken back (move wood phase). That means, the dragon can't eat the Abbot and the Messages gets again a scoring round. After that the normal scoring phase takes place (score finished features).


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Clarification of rules - Call with HiG - 14 01 2013

Started by kettlefish

13 Replies
8572 Views
Last post February 15, 2013, 05:21:20 PM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules - with HiG - 08 10 2015

Started by kettlefish

140 Replies
48914 Views
Last post July 12, 2016, 06:53:12 AM
by claudio_ferra
xx
Clarification of rules v6.2 pdf

Started by Tyroq

4 Replies
4789 Views
Last post April 04, 2013, 09:43:56 AM
by kettlefish
xx
Clarification of rules - Wagon

Started by kirby2003

19 Replies
9821 Views
Last post August 21, 2013, 12:53:36 PM
by obervet
xx
Clarification of rules - Gold Mines

Started by kirby2003

4 Replies
3382 Views
Last post March 04, 2013, 07:41:49 AM
by kirby2003