Author Topic: Cities and Fields?  (Read 2299 times)

Offline TheDoctor_13

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 67
  • Merit: 0
  • I'll Claim This Farm
    • View Profile
Cities and Fields?
« on: January 14, 2015, 12:20:35 AM »
Small question, I recently got Carcassonne and have been playing it with my brothers. When one of us draws a City tile but don't control a city or a city is not open to occupy, does that mean we have to connect it to someone elses city? Or can you connect by the field side. We just been playing by connecting to someone elses city as it makes sense because city to city connection, just like roads. But I want to make sure.

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=1448.0

Offline Rosco

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1527
  • Merit: 38
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Re: Cities and Fields?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 01:38:37 AM »
When you draw a tile, you may place it anywhere it fits, road to road, city to city, or field to field. You may claim any unclaimed feature on that tile - city, road, field, or cloister. If you add it to a feature controlled by your opponent you are giving them points. Sometimes this is a good tactic but definitely not always!
Just lay the damn tile!

Offline Hounk

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
  • Merit: 15
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Cities and Fields?
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2015, 01:41:38 AM »
If your city tile has a field side, which fits on all sides somewhere to the board, you can connect it there. (And claim the new city, if you want.) Only if you draw for instance a tile with city on all four sides (there is only one in the base game), you have to connect it to a city, if possible. If not possible at the time, it is drawn, you have to discard it, and the tile will not be used in this game.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2015, 01:44:07 AM by Hounk »

Offline TheDoctor_13

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 67
  • Merit: 0
  • I'll Claim This Farm
    • View Profile
Re: Cities and Fields?
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2015, 12:47:19 PM »
If your city tile has a field side, which fits on all sides somewhere to the board, you can connect it there. (And claim the new city, if you want.) Only if you draw for instance a tile with city on all four sides (there is only one in the base game), you have to connect it to a city, if possible. If not possible at the time, it is drawn, you have to discard it, and the tile will not be used in this game.

So if the City does have a field side you can connect it to a field instead of a open city? Could you also do the same with roads? Seems like strange rules, as I didn't think you could do that.

I know sometimes placing city tiles on a opponent is a good tatic, especially to close it off or if your playing with cathedrals (Though that can also go against you if they complete it).


Offline DLloyd09

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Cities and Fields?
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2015, 01:32:56 PM »
Yes, any matching pair of sides can be played together. There's no need to extend your opponent's city if it's the only open city on the board just because your tile has a city edge. Fields can be played next to fields, roads next to roads, and cities next to cities, then you may place onto any unoccupied feature of the tile you just played.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Hills for fields

Started by MrNumbers

3 Replies
1292 Views
Last post September 18, 2014, 04:19:51 PM
by Carcking
xx
Joining Fields

Started by CarcinFool

23 Replies
7725 Views
Last post June 23, 2015, 09:25:00 AM
by danisthirty
xx
Fields of Flubber (New art Carcassonne)

Started by DrMeeple

6 Replies
434 Views
Last post November 10, 2018, 01:47:58 PM
by Decar
xx
Rules For Farms With Corn Fields

Started by ARabidMeerkat

3 Replies
1168 Views
Last post June 23, 2015, 11:18:32 AM
by kettlefish
xx
JCZ: Score the Farm - self merging fields

Started by danisthirty

11 Replies
950 Views
Last post March 29, 2018, 11:22:32 AM
by Decar