Author Topic: The Flyer and the Magic Portal when you play with the German Monasteries  (Read 1740 times)

Offline Darwin

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 168
  • Merit: 17
    • View Profile
The German Monasteries with an abbot don't score during the game, but score at the end of the game, like the farms. With this in mind, we have used the same rules for the German Monasteries with an abbot as with the farms when we play with the Flyer and the Magic Portals.

With the Flyer a follower can fly to an unfinished structure even if it’s already occupied. The Flyer can’t fly to a field, even if there is not a farmer on the field. We practice that the flyer can’t fly to a German Monastery and occupy it as an abbot, a flyer can only occupy it as a monk.

With the Magic Portal a follower can portal to an unfinished structure that is not already occupied. The original rules for the Magic Portal are not so very informative. But in the footnote 147 in CAR 7.0 it is stated that: “A follower cannot be deployed to the City of Carcassonne or to the Wheel of Fortune via a magic portal. The magic portal only allows followers to be deployed to tiles that can be legally occupied according to the usual rules, as if the player had just placed the tile in question. The City of Carcassonne and the Wheel of Fortune are occupied according to different rules.” As I understand this, a follower can (in addition to city/road/monastery/shrine) portal to an unoccupied field and occupy it as a farmer or to an unoccupied German Monastery and occupy it as an abbot (or a monk if he choose to).

A German Monastery, who has been scored with a monk during the game, can be reoccupied with an abbot if you use the Magic Portal, but not with the Flyer.

What do you think? Is this correct?


Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=1029.0

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 4565
  • Merit: 123
    • View Profile
Re: The Flyer and the Magic Portal when you play with the German Monasteries
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2014, 04:04:54 PM »
Hi Darwin,

here is the answer for the Flyer...
Re: German Monasteries interactions - Reply #42

Offline Darwin

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 168
  • Merit: 17
    • View Profile
Re: The Flyer and the Magic Portal when you play with the German Monasteries
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2014, 01:24:54 PM »
Thank you, kettlefish


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
magic portal

Started by oldbonz

1 Replies
515 Views
Last post May 16, 2019, 07:36:50 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Bug Report: Magic Portal

Started by rfielder

1 Replies
1122 Views
Last post May 24, 2015, 03:02:20 AM
by farin
xx
Magic Portal to an unoccupied Monastery..?

Started by Bungalowbelf

15 Replies
2725 Views
Last post April 09, 2018, 04:55:45 AM
by danisthirty
xx
[bug] flyer + german monasterie

Started by totor66

1 Replies
364 Views
Last post May 04, 2020, 02:08:08 AM
by farin
xx
German Monasteries interactions

Started by obervet

96 Replies
24161 Views
Last post August 05, 2014, 01:14:15 AM
by asparagus