Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Meepledrone

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 81
1
News and Events / Re: Game Figures
« on: Today at 04:33:15 AM »
No slaves... Call them minions!  >:D

2
The Marketplace / Re: WTB: Rare mini expansions for C1
« on: August 08, 2020, 04:43:37 PM »
Hi h37!

Congrats for your first post!

So you are completing your C1 collection. Good luck! You've got some rare ones in your list.

Cheers!

3
News and Events / Re: Game Figures
« on: August 08, 2020, 04:28:36 PM »
Why are the Spanish version taking so long?  ;)

I will have to say one or two things to this Meepledrone fellow!  :o

4
Official Rules / Re: Question about the Goldmines
« on: August 08, 2020, 04:26:55 PM »
Hi FireDoor,

I'm glad I could help! ;D

I thought some examples would clarify the whole thing better... In the end all options are open and it is up to the players to decide what to do with the gold ingots: leave them in the open, keep them to themselves or even bury them on purpose.

Enjoy your next games with The Goldmines!  :(y)

Is it the only mini expansion you play?

Cheers!

PS: I think your were referring to the trade goods in Traders & Builders, right?

5
Official Rules / Re: Questions
« on: August 07, 2020, 06:29:52 AM »

Quote
As the bridge is counted just like a printed road segment, any completed road that includes a bridge and a printed road segment on the same tile still only scores 1 point for the tile. (2/2014)

What is the meaning of this clarification? How can a road contain a bridge and a printed road segment on the same tile?

Hi Vital,

We had this case in the Advent Calendar Quiz MMXIX, Question #8:

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4427.msg65461#msg65461

Check the bridge on the right. that tile has a printed road segment and bridge. That tile is counted once when scoring the road.



Cheers!

6
Official Rules / Re: Questions
« on: August 07, 2020, 05:33:20 AM »
[238.] If you place a bridge on 2 halfling tiles, it values 1 or 2 points?

I'm going to extend your question with the following scenario add fuel to the discussion. :red-meeple: places the tile highlighted in red connecting the previously incomplete roads occupied by him and :yellow-meeple:.



Several questions stem from this image based on Carcassonne93's question:

a) How is the bridge considered, as 1 single virtual tile overlapping the two Halfling underneath or as 2 virtual Halfling tiles making up the bridge?

(238.a) We are facing here a dilemma: how can the 1-tile-long bridge coexist with a 2-tile-long road across two Halfling tiles?

There is no clarification available for this particular case. The closest one available is this:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Bridges,_Castles_and_Bazaars#cite_note-4

...that reads as follows:

Quote
As the bridge is counted just like a printed road segment, any completed road that includes a bridge and a printed road segment on the same tile still only scores 1 point for the tile. (2/2014)

Based on this, we would have to assume the bridge across two Halfling tiles would be equivalent to two printed road segments on  the same tiles. If so, the bridge would count as two road segments in this case.

As the clarifications says, each tile on a road counts once, so it would be not possible to count the Halfling tiles and add the bridge on top as a third tile. Therefore, the Halfling tiles are counted once including the bridge portion passing over.

As a consequence for the sake of consistency, this should be the same even if were no printed roads on the Halfling tiles.


The answer to the previous question has different consequences for the the following questions:

Meeple placement:
b) Is the position of the :red-meeple: meeple on the bridge relevant?   

(238.b) The position of the meeple is not relevant in this case for claiming the bridge or scoring in this case. It would be important if playing with the dragon, the tower or the plague, where certain actions may affect the meeples on a particular tile.

You can revisit the interactions of these expansions with Halflings here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Halflings#Other_expansions


Majority:
c.1) How does the hill on one of the Halfling tiles affect the bridge?

(238.c.1) In this case, the hill affects the whole square space, so the position of the :red-meeple: meeple on the bridge is not relevant in this case. Therefore, the :red-meeple: is affected by the hill no matter its position on the bridge.

You can revisit the rules about Halflings and hills here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Halflings#Tiles_with_expansion_symbols


c.2) Who has the majority?

(238.c.2) :red-meeple and :yellow-meeple: are tied. Since, the :red-meeple: meeple is affected by the hill, :red-meeple: has the majority and will score the road alone.

You can revisit the rules about Halflings and hills here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Halflings#Tiles_with_expansion_symbols


Little Buildings:
d.1) How does the Little Building affect the roads on the Halfling tiles?

(238.d.1) The Little Building will only affect the Halfling it is placed on, including the road containing the print road segment on it. Thus the road will get bonus points from the Little Building. 

You can revisit the interactions of these expansions with Halflings here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Halflings#Other_expansions


d.2) How does the Little Building affect the bridge over the Halfling tiles?

(238.d.2) The Little Building will only affect the Halfling it is placed on, including the road containing the bridge portion passing over it. Thus the road with the bridge will get bonus points from the Little Building. 

You can revisit the interactions of these expansions with Halflings here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Halflings#Other_expansions


Scoring (assuming the Little Building basic rules, that is, 1 point per Little Building):
e) How many points is the road worth?

(238.e) The road has 6 tiles (including 3 Halfling tiles). As we commented earlier, the bridge is considered as printed segments on the Halfling tiles.

Therefore, :red-meeple: will score 7 points (6 tiles x 1 point + 1 Little Building x 1 point)

Any thoughts?

PS: This case is not covered in any clarifications as far as I know beyond the bridge can be placed on farms segments.

EDIT: I added Little Buildings to the equation. Why not?  >:D

Any comments?

7
Hola [mention]Meepledrone [/mention] , yo me apunto!.


Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk

Hola haep,

Estupendo! Te envĂ­o un PM con info...

Un saludo,
Meepledrone

8
Official Rules / Re: Questions
« on: August 02, 2020, 05:44:15 AM »
(238.) Depends od versions when C1 then 2 when C2 then 1

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

Could you explain your answer in more detail? Thank you.

9
Official Rules / Re: Questions
« on: August 02, 2020, 05:42:38 AM »
[238.] If you place a bridge on 2 halfling tiles, it values 1 or 2 points?

I'm going to extend your question with the following scenario add fuel to the discussion. :red-meeple: places the tile highlighted in red connecting the previously incomplete roads occupied by him and :yellow-meeple:.



Several questions stem from this image based on Carcassonne93's question:

a) How is the bridge considered, as 1 single virtual tile overlapping the two Halfling underneath or as 2 virtual Halfling tiles making up the bridge?

The answer to the previous question has different consequences for the the following questions:

Meeple placement:
b) Is the position of the :red-meeple: meeple on the bridge relevant?   

Majority:
c.1) How does the hill on one of the Halfling tiles affect the bridge?
c.2) Who has the majority?

Little Buildings:
d.1) How does the Little Building affect the roads on the Halfling tiles?
d.2) How does the Little Building affect the bridge over the Halfling tiles?

Scoring (assuming the Little Building basic rules, that is, 1 point per Little Building):
e) How many points is the road worth?

Any thoughts?

PS: This case is not covered in any clarifications as far as I know beyond the bridge can be placed on farms segments.

EDIT: I added Little Buildings to the equation. Why not?  >:D

10
Official Rules / Re: Question about the Goldmines
« on: August 02, 2020, 03:30:32 AM »
Hi FireDoor!

Welcome to the forum! Hope you enjoy all the stuff available here.

As you mention, the rules do not prevent you from placing an ingot on an adjacent tile with all their features completed. This limitation may be in our heads at first but think that a tile with several features (completed or not) may be involved in the scoring of another feature, for example a monastery or a castle.

This said, you may be interested in placing an ingot on a tile with completed features or with features that no one (even you) can score (impossible to complete or unoccupied) to prevent other players from collecting ingots. Remember that the more ingots you have, the more points they are worth. If you cannot benefit from the ingots, you are allowed to deny this benefit to others.  >:D

So the context and the intention are important and the rules give players a lot of room to explore all these options.

Besides these considerations about benefitting yourself versus hindering others, I'd like to elaborate a bit about the possibilities at hand with the following scenario:



:red-meeple: draws a goldmine tile that would fill the gap and a number of options will be available depending on his intentions besides scoring the city just completed, since a monastery and a city are also completed:



In this case, you can see that the first ingot is placed on a tile where all the features were just completed, so you can see this is not a limitation either. This shouldn't be a surprise.  ;)

>> Scoring the monastery overlapping the completed city

If :red-meeple: would like to score the monastery, he could place the first ingot on the monastery tile (mandatory in any case) and the second on any adjacent tile he may choose:

a) :red-meeple: may choose to place the second ingot on a tile with incomplete features (a city in this case).



b) :red-meeple: may choose to place the second ingot on a tile with a feature that was just completed (the road in this case).



c) :red-meeple: may choose to place the second ingot on a tile with a feature completed on a previous turn (a road in this case).



So as you can see in these three cases, the monastery overlapping the city will allow :red-meeple: to collect ingots no matter the features on those tiles. After placing the ingots :red-meeple: place one of his meeples on the monastery and will score the features as usual and get the two ingots just placed.

>> Scoring the road and the completed city

If :red-meeple: would like to score the road, :red-meeple: will collect the first ingot for sure but the second ingot may stay on the board depending on the location chosen for it.

a) :red-meeple: may choose to place the second ingot on a tile with incomplete features (a city in this case).



The second ingot is not on a tile of the completed city or the completed road, so after placing the meeple on the road, :red-meeple: will score both features but will only collect the ingot on the tile just placed. The second ingot could be collected by any player completing the city on the tile or an adjacent monastery, for example.

b) :red-meeple: may choose to place the second ingot on a tile with a feature that was just completed (the road in this case).



The second ingot is on a tile of the completed road, so after placing the meeple on the road, :red-meeple: will score the city and the road. In this case, :red-meeple: will also collect the two ingots.

c) :red-meeple: may choose to place the second ingot on a tile with a feature completed on a previous turn (a road in this case).



The second ingot is not on a tile of the completed city or the completed road, so after placing the meeple on the road, :red-meeple: will score both features but will only collect the ingot on the tile just placed.

Unless an adjacent monastery is completed, for example, the second ingot will stay on the board until the end of the game.

Hope this helps.  ;D

Cheers!

11
Official Rules / Re: HiG - Quarantine-Kit
« on: July 31, 2020, 09:56:52 AM »
Hi Benny!

Thanks for the heads up!

How was the reception on CarcF? All the Carcassonne stuff was released way before the bundle was announced...

Cheers!

12
News and Events / Re: New version of 7 Wonders
« on: July 31, 2020, 07:32:23 AM »
This all rings a bell...  :o

13
General / Re: European Union
« on: July 29, 2020, 02:38:19 PM »
Well Carlium,

+1 merit from me for helping dig in the depth of the Internet...

Cheers!

14
General / Re: European Union
« on: July 29, 2020, 09:22:38 AM »
+1 merit for such a great initiative....  :(y)

15
General / Re: European Union
« on: July 29, 2020, 07:10:37 AM »
Enjoy the info compiled by Murphy013 here:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Collections_and_Expansions

Not only the languages but also the releases available in each language: base games, major expansions, boxed and unboxed expansions, spin-offs and their expansions, magazines,... you name it :o

Sit and cry if you are a completionist at heart!  ;)

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 81