Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Vital Pluymers

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8
1
Well, I must say I like these clarifications.
I would have come to the same conclusion!  :D

2
Official Rules / Re: Doubt about the bazaar.
« on: January 21, 2021, 10:32:03 AM »
I think the rules have always been like option 3...

I found this on BGG:

Quote
Charlie Beard@patriotsfever86
I having a bit of trouble understanding all the nuances of how bazaars work. Could someone explain them in detail with examples? Maybe include how the rules effect two-player games. And maybe a little strategy. I'd appreciate it. Thanks.
[\quote]

Quote
When you play a tile with a bazaar, it is the same as any other tile. Place it, potentially place a meeple, potentially score it. Then the game is interrupted.

The person who placed the tile, we'll call him Andy, draws as many new tiles as there are players in the game. So if there are 4 players, Andy will draw 4 tiles and place them face-up so everyone can see them.

The player to Andy's left, we'll call him Brian, starts as the first auctioneer. Brian will select one of the 4 tiles and put it up for auction. He can bid anything but let's say he starts it off at 0. Everyone else, in clockwise order around the table gets once chance to bid. Christie, to Brian's left, passes. Dawn, on her left bids 2 points. Back now to Andy who bids 3 points.

At this point, Brian has 2 options. He can buy the tile for the highest price (3 points in this case) and gives those 3 points to Andy (since he was the high bidder) or he can allow Andy to have it for 3 points in which case Andy gives Brian the 3 points (either way, one is deducting 3 points and the other is adding them). We will say Brian let Andy had it for 3 points. there are now 3 tiles left. Since Andy bought a tile, he sits out the rest of the auctions for this round.

Brian, having not won a tile, starts the 2nd auction. He again selects a tile and places a bid. He again bids 0. Again, Christie passes and Dawn decides to bid only 1 point. Brian decides to keep this one and deducts 1 point from his score and Dawn adds 1 point. There are now 2 remaining tiles and Brian also must sit out with Andy.

Now Christie is the next player in order who has not purchased a tile. She must select one of the two remaining tiles. Since she can't pass as the auctioneer, she also bids 0 points. Dawn decides she doesn't want it either so passes. Christie wins it for 0 points.

Dawn is now the last player to have not won a tile and there is only 1 tile left. She takes the final tile for 0 points. All players now have a tile.

Starting to the left of the person who played the original Bazaar tile (Andy started it so Brian is to his left), will now play a normal round. So Brian places his tile, places a meeple, scores if possible. Then Christie places her tiles, meeples, scores. Then Dawn places her tile, meeples scores. Finally Andy places his tile, meeples and scores. The bazaar turn is now over and play resumes as normal with Brian starting the next round as normal.

3
News and Events / Re: Announcement from Hans Im Gluck
« on: January 21, 2021, 06:40:01 AM »
Quote
...and detailed easter-eggs are a special asset for all fans.

What do they mean with detailed easter-eggs?

4
Official Rules / Re: Doubt about the bazaar.
« on: January 21, 2021, 05:25:24 AM »
I did not paid very much attention to the paid points, I only wanted to know if I understand ref 24: https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Bridges,_Castles_and_Bazaars#cite_note-24. Thanks!

I didn't pay attention to that as I was not aware that there were existing different rules  ;D

I always play according to the rule that you always (re)start with the first player following the player that placed the bazaar tile and has not bought an auctioned tile yet.
That means in example 1 for instance that in auction round 2 Blue chooses again an auctioned tile as he didn't buy one in the first auction round.

5
Official Rules / Re: Doubt about the bazaar.
« on: January 21, 2021, 12:34:43 AM »
Corrections in purple

Are these examples correct?

1st example

The turn order is You, Blue and Black. You are the red player.

You draw a bazaar tile and place it normally. After Your turn is complete, You draw 3 tiles for the auction.

1. Blue chooses one of the tiles and bids 2 points. Black bids 3 points, and You pass. Because Black is the highest bidder, and Blue still wants the tile, he or she buys it from Black by losing 3 points, while Black gains 3 points.

2. Black chooses the next tile, and bids 2 points. You bid 3 points, and Black decides to sell You the tile. You lose 3 points and Black gains 3 points.

3. There is only one tile left, which Black takes for free. Starting with Blue, each player places his or her tile normally.

2nd example

The turn order is You, Blue and Black. You are the red player.

You draw a bazaar tile and place it normally. After Your turn is complete, You draw 3 tiles for the auction.

1. Blue chooses one of the tiles and bids 2 points. Black bids 3 points, and You pass. Blue decides to sell the tile to Black. Blue gains 3 points and Black loses 3 points.

2. You choose the next tile, and You bid 2 points. Blue bids 3 points, and You decide to buy the tile from Blue. You lose 3 points and Blue gains 3 points.

3. There is only one tile left, which Blue takes for free. Starting with Blue, each player places his or her tile normally.

3rd example

The turn order is You, Blue, Green and Black. You are the red player.

You draw a bazaar tile and place it normally. After Your turn is complete, You draw 3 tiles for the auction.

1. Blue chooses one of the tiles and bids 2 points. Black bids 3 points, Green passes and You pass. Blue decides to sell the tile to Black. Blue gains 3 points and Black loses 3 points.

2. Green chooses the next tile. You pass, and Blue bids 2 points. Green decides to sell the tile to Blue. Green gains 2 points and Blue loses 2 points.

3. You choose the next tile, and You bid 2 points. Green passes. You lose 2 points.

4. There is only one tile left, which Green takes for free. Starting with Blue, each player places his or her tile normally.

6
Official Rules / Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« on: January 17, 2021, 11:23:44 PM »
Well, The sentence is at the end of a paragraph starting with the conditions to move a meeple to Carcassonne:

German wording:
Quote
Jedes Mal, wenn du bei 3. Eine Wertung auslösen selbst eine Wertung auslöst, bei der mindestens ein Mitspieler Punkte erhält, du selbst jedoch keine, darfst du am Zugende 1 Meeple aus deinem Vorrat auf ein Stadtviertel deiner Wahl stellen. Zusätzlich darfst du den Grafen in ein Stadtviertel deiner Wahl stellen.
English translation:
Quote
Each time you trigger a score in 3. Score a feature where at least one player scores points but you do not, you may place 1 meeple from your supply in a city quarter of your choice at the end of your turn. In addition, you may place the count in a city quarter of your choice.

So, the actions are to be linked, right?

Note: This is a deja vu of the Markets of Leipzig re: the conditions to get the Wainwright quarter bonus when sending a meeple to Leipzig (only from a road with more than one meeple) ;)

It has to be in the same paragraph as it is linked to the same condition that is "Each time you trigger a score in 3. Score a feature where at least one player scores points but you do not".

But the two following actions (place a meeple and move the count) are two separate phrases, with "zuzatzlich" inbetween. I personnally do not understand this phrase as beeing dependent to each other, but only dependent to the scoring condition.  ???

But the wording is probably not clear enough to be sure of anything, so... Ok, let's say it's dependent, we have to take an option :)

By the way, speaking some German I do not use Google translate. But when we give full attention to a specific word, we should translate the word only in Google to get its different meanings. Zusätzlich doesn't mean "in addition" (that's "und dazu"). Zusätzlich means moreover, furthermore, additionally, supplementary...

Have you seen the first attachment posted by Carcassonne 93?
It states:

Quote
Der Graf
Immer wenn ein Spieler einen Gefolgsmann in die Stadt Carcassonne
stellt, darf er auch den Grafen in ein beliebiges der vier Stadtviertel stellen.

I think this closes the discussion. There is clearly a dependency.

7
News and Events / Re: Announcement from Hans Im Gluck
« on: January 15, 2021, 12:26:41 AM »

8
Question #15: The Yellow Messenger landed on a dark space. As a result, Yellow receives the message shown by
The Grinch. How many points does Yellow score for this message when applied to this feature?





Answer #15: after receiving this message, Yellow will have to score the city as if after the game and remove the meeple.

Yellow will the score 5 points for the city:
- The city itself is worth 0 points ( 5 tiles x 0 points for the cathedral)
- The Mage bonus is 5 points ( 5 tiles x 1 point per tile for the mage )

Yellow will also receive 3 points for the fairy next to their meeple.

Notes:
* The German castle bonus is not applicable during final scoring.
* The Mage bonus is applied during the game and after the game for incomplete features, even if the incomplete feature scores 0 points due to an inn or a cathedral, like in this case. The Mage bonus is applied after the inn or cathedral.

Bottomline:
- Yellow scores 8 points in two scoring events (5 points for the city with the mage + 3 points for the fairy)

Final note: Yellow could also renounce to score any points for the feature and receive 2 points for the message instead. However this case is not the answer expected for this question.

The mage remains on the tile?

Yes, the mage stays in the city until the city is completed or until he is relocated after placing a new mage/witch tile.

9
Official Rules / Re: Dragon protection
« on: January 07, 2021, 03:06:38 AM »
Somebody on reddit says the ferries protect you from dragon, and apparently it's something 'obviously official', yet I cannot find it mentioned anywhere in the rules, neither in questions on wikicarpedia. Does dragon fear the water tiles or what? How does a ferry protect you? What am I missing here?

 ;D ;D ;D

Replace "ferrie" by "fairy" and it will be correct!

10
The Marketplace / Re: WTS CARCASSONNE - DE STAD SEALED (wooden box)
« on: January 07, 2021, 02:29:25 AM »
I just want to sell it because i cant play with it, it's SEALED and the other reason is that im married :-X

Seals can be ripped and marriages can be broken.
Just play the game!  >:D

11
I'm keeping the last part of the clarifications quarantined for the time being...

The comments about protecting meeples in any special placement, if they weren't already, seems a bit odd to me. Allowing all the players to protect their meeples while placing them via a crop circle, when moving an unprotected wagon or when swapping meeples, feels like cutting corners to me for the active player and especially for other players.

For example, in the case of the wagon, you delay your decision to protect your wagon but you don't have to sacrifice a meeple placement (or figure/token placement) during tour turn to get your wagon protected as it would be required for another meeple. You of course have to pay, but 4 points for placing your wagon on a new feature or 2 points because it was already placed? If you allow other players to do the same, you are making everyone's life easier, since everybody can do more without sacrificing the required actions in 2. Placing a meeple.

So I still see some open issues here that need clarification after some pondering.

Do you think I'm being too purist here?

I aggree with you.

As long as we do not get clarifications from HiG, I'd apply:
  • You can protect a meeple on a feature affected by peasant revolt for 2 points insted of placing a meeple in step 2b1 only
  • You can protect the meeple that has just been placed on a feature affected by peasant revolt in step 2 (b1 or b2) only, for 4 points
  • A protected meeple remain protected as long as it doesn't go back to a player supply

I agree as well
Just intuitively this seems to be the only right conclusion with the info we have.

12
Official Rules / Re: Castle scoring with mayors
« on: January 05, 2021, 05:28:46 AM »
Meepledrone did not write that the fiefs should overlap.

Meepledrone has written that the fief should overlap the feature. In these examples the feature happens to be a castle.
That is just another way of saying that the feature should be located in the castle's fief as per the original rules.


This will be fun: :D
We began to open speculation to infinity and beyond hahaha ...

I think this summarizes the overall purpose of your discussion.
It seems that you just like to discuss, whether it contributes anything or not...

13
Official Rules / Re: Castle scoring with mayors
« on: January 05, 2021, 04:51:32 AM »

I was too quick with my reply too  ;)
But Meepledrone's conclusion is correct.

Yes, but still didn't know is it will overlaps if chain will containus or not. I think yes. If not, it will be in rules, like stop of "tripple" turn for Builder.

Every castle is scored independently and only once for the first feature in its fief. So yes, all of them will be scored if they have a first completed feature in their fief.

The builder's power is a completely different thing as it can be activated turn after turn.

14
Official Rules / Re: Castle scoring with mayors
« on: January 05, 2021, 04:18:11 AM »
A couple of images illustrating how the chain reaction is broken by the third castle from the left. The arrows indicate the feature(s) the castle may score the points for.

Example 1: the fief of the third castle does not overlap the second castle, so it cannot spread the chain reaction.
Example 2: the fief of the third castle does not overlap the second castle and it is already completed, so it cannot spread the chain reaction either.

Now that I think about it ... I think you have opened the door to another discussion hahaha
Because yes, the castle is in the fief of the first ... And then there would be the question of what you base it on to say that a fief yes and another no when the official sentence doesn’t go beyond haha this is already speculation haha

Dr. Meeple, as far as I can see, you are the only one with doubts...

15
Official Rules / Re: Castle scoring with mayors
« on: January 05, 2021, 04:16:22 AM »
A couple of images illustrating how the chin reaction is broken by the third castle from the left. The arrows indicate the feature(s) the castle may score the points for.

Example 1: the fief of the third castle does not overlap the second, so it cannot spread the chain reaction.
Example 2: the fief of the third castle does not overlap the second and it is already completed, so it cannot spread the chain reaction either.
I did't look to image seriously and I didn't figure that castle is rurned at 90°.

I was too quick with my reply too  ;)
But Meepledrone's conclusion is correct.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8