Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - corinthiens13

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 15
1
News and Events / Re: Announcement from Hans Im Gluck
« on: Today at 01:58:52 PM »
It would be a good ideea to be released as the 7th expansion, with 16 starting tiles (with the Wheel of Fortune itself), 16-20 new tiles with Wheel symbol and the big pink pig.

Poor catapult  ;D

2
News and Events / Re: Announcement from Hans Im Gluck
« on: Today at 01:50:48 PM »
Personally, what'd make me the happiest is WoF converted to C2!  :D
It's a really interesting game, a beautiful starting tile, and C2 would mean villages and so more compatibility with the tollkeepers (as WoF replaces the base game).

3
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#Official_variants_.5B11.5D: "whenever a new meeple is deployed to the city of Carcassonne, the Count"..
The castle is not a bonus. Is a feature. The rules take into consideration the base game, where there points only from features. The barn is considered, so all other scorings from steps 3B (features, robber points, any other bonuses) and 3C (circus) should be considered. It is impossible to consider messages, because they are applied at the end of the round of scoring 3 (in this case); after meeple placement in City of Carcassonne or Count movement. But the ransom for a prisoner should not be considered; it can take place only once in any step during your turn.

For sure any feature should be considered.

Circus: As it isn't a claimable feature, I wasn't sure  ???
Castle: They are a feature and are of course taken into consideration. I added the castle to the "not considered" list by thinking about a situation that, in fact, cannot happen as per the order of play. So there's no open question about castles.

But only feature points and bonuses should be considered, as we mean "points from a feature". This exclude robber and teacher, as well as bookbinder's quarter, that are not direct point from a feature.

If we considered those points, the bookbinder quarter would bring very odd situations:
Blue has a meeple on that quarter, red not:
  • Blue wouldn't be able to move a meeple to the city after any monastery completition, no matter what, as he'd always get points from the bookbinder quarter
  • For any monastery red completes during his turn, if he do not get points for it, he'd always have the possibility to move a meeple to the city, as blue would always get points for closed monasteries
This would be awesome  >:D but makes no sense  :o

4
A) Sending a meeple to Carcassonne

There is more to it than completed features: In order to be able to send a meeple to Carcassone, you cannot receive points for any completed features or for any fields scored due to barns (no matter if it is a barn placement or a field connection).

Please check the clarifications about the interactions with Exp. 5, especially the bullet with the first FAQ boxes:
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#The_city_of_Carcassonne_and_the_count_of_Carcassonne_2

Ok, so it could be:
"You can place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne and / or move the count if one or more features have been scored, you didn't get any points from any of them during 3. Scoring a feature (considering feature points, associated bonuses to features and figures on them, but not other indirect points like robber, teacher or castle points), but one or more opponents did. The circus is not considered.

What do you think?


Regarding the Count, you can only move the Count if you move a meeple to Carcassonne. The rules use "then" to indicate this dependency.
Quote
[...] you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.

I do not understand this phrase as a dependency.

If there was a dependency, it would be stipulated by "if you did the placement" :o (and that's what's written in the order of play ("if you did the placement")).

The French and German rules are even more clear, as they use furthermore, or moreover ("de plus" in French rules, "Zusätzlich" in German rules) instead of then.

So I do not see a dependency here. English rules may not be clear enough, but German rules are clear:
If you fulfill the conditions above, you may place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne (may = you do it or not). Furthermore / moreover, you may move the count.

There's no dependency ?   ???

5
[...]
So the conclusion is that you can only take into consideration points coming from scoring a feature in 3. Scoring a feature, including the associated bonuses to features and figures on them.

Any thoughts?

This seems correct to me.

Do you also confirm that we may move the count (if the conditions above are fulfilled) even if we chose not to place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne?

So, if I did understand correctly, a way to write it in WICA's order of play could be:
You can place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne and / or move the count if you completed one or more features, you didn't get any points from any of them during 3. Scoring a feature (considering feature points, associated bonuses to features and figures on them, but not other indirect points like robber, teacher or castle points), but one or more opponents did. The circus is not considered.

What do you think?

Or as a bullet list:
You can place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne and / or move the count if:
  • you completed one or more features (the circus isn't considered)
  • You didn't get any points from any of them during 3. Scoring a feature (considering feature points, associated bonuses to features and figures on them, but not other indirect points like robber, teacher or castle points)
  • One or more opponents did



6
Official Rules / Re: French version of the rules in pdf
« on: Today at 05:19:30 AM »
Thanks Gagoune and Linksux for your comments, and for your work on translating single expansions rules ! ;)

+1 merit from me too. It's an awesome doc.

I'm working on the next update with the addition of Easter in Carcassonne's rules, a few layout optimisations, and some rules corrections.

Cool!

I'm waiting for an answer to this question before uploading the new file:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4986.0

I posted a reply, but no official clarification is available as of yet. I had some questions in my list for HiG regarding the dos and don'ts affecting this case though.

But I have to be patient as HiG does not have enough to handle all the open questions I have at once. Still dealing with Peasant Revolts from my first batch.

Thanks Meepledrone for your work on getting rule clarifications !

7
Added a house rule about using additional tiles to the following WICA pages:
* Carcassonne Maps - Basic Rules:
   https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Carcassonne_Maps_-_Basic_Rules
* Map-Chips USA West and East:
   https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Map-Chips_USA_West_and_East

Thanks!

Great, thanks!

8
General / Re: New player, new user, first post: want to expand quickly
« on: January 15, 2021, 11:02:27 PM »
How'd the guy with the world record of a 10k+ tile game get all those?

By buying the base game and major expansions multiple times, that's an option if you're only interested on having more tiles but without expansion's rules.

9
Official Rules / Re: French version of the rules in pdf
« on: January 15, 2021, 10:59:38 PM »
Thanks Gagoune and Linksux for your comments, and for your work on translating single expansions rules ! ;)

I'm working on the next update with the addition of Easter in Carcassonne's rules, a few layout optimisations, and some rules corrections.

I'm waiting for an answer to this question before uploading the new file:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4986.0

10
General / Re: New player, new user, first post: want to expand quickly
« on: January 15, 2021, 10:19:50 PM »
I suggest you start with the 9 major expansions  ;)

11
General / Re: New player, new user, first post: want to expand quickly
« on: January 15, 2021, 10:18:44 PM »
My lady is really enjoy v2 with the River and Abbot. She'd like to get to like 450 tiles or so. Thoughts on the best way to get there?

BTW, what's up with all the hard security questions to answer? Too much spam before?

Welcome to the forum  ;)

You can see all of the existing expansions here, C1 and C2, with their tile number, rules, interactions...etc
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Main_Page

12
Official Rules / Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« on: January 14, 2021, 08:05:22 AM »
On the order of play, step 3c:
Quote
If you did not score any points from placement of the tile this turn, but one or more opponents did, you may place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne. Then, if you did the placement, you may move the Count to a district of your choice.


I had in mind that:
A. This do only consider step 3, not the whole turn, according to the expansion's WICA page:
Quote
Each time you perform a scoring in phase 3. Scoring a feature, [2] if at least one of your opponents gains points and you gain none, [3] you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.
So it should be "If you did not score any points during step 3 (or only step 3a and 3b if circus is appart too) but one or more opponents did..."

B. Teacher and robber points are not considered to determine if you or another player earned points, if that's still the case, it should be mentioned too.

C. We may move the count only, or place a meeple only, or do both. According to WICA:
Quote
...you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.
There is no restriction saying that you may move the count only if you did place a meeple in the city?

Am I correct? If so, I think the phrase should be:
"If you did not score any points during step 3 (or only step 3a and 3b if circus is appart too) but one or more opponents did (without considering robber or teacher points), you may place a meeple in the City of Carcassonne, then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice."

13
Official Rules / Re: Order of play in french
« on: January 14, 2021, 05:41:40 AM »
One more update:

Version 6.3.1
- Added a summary and a brief description of the game's steps on page 4
- Added a clarification about mayor scoring
- Added a clarification about ringmaster scoring at the end of the game
- Added a clarification about shepherd scoring when a field is closed

Again, thanks Gagoune for your precious help !

14
News and Events / Re: Announcement from Hans Im Gluck
« on: January 13, 2021, 10:16:48 AM »
Maybe with a golden meeple coin inside  ;D

15
News and Events / Re: Announcement from Hans Im Gluck
« on: January 13, 2021, 10:12:50 AM »
Not C3 : https://www.hans-im-glueck.de/carcassonne20/jubilaeums-produkte.html#content.

The fact that it's not C3 is great!  :D

But by looking at the size of the box (comparing the text's size with the box's width), I'm afraid it may be only the base game (maybe with abbot and river, or another mini instead but not much), in an expensive nice looking box, and an expensive nice looking rulebook...  :'(

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 15