Carcassonne Central

Carc Central Community => Online Games and Competitions => JCloisterZone FAQ, Suggestions & Bug Reports => Topic started by: danisthirty on May 13, 2014, 08:51:07 AM

Title: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on May 13, 2014, 08:51:07 AM
JCloisterZone FAQ


How do I start an Internet game with JCloisterZone?
Simply put, one player needs to be the host and the other player is the client (see "How do I host an Internet game with JCloisterZone?" for more information regarding how you can configure your computer to become a host). In addition to this, both players must be using the same version of JCloisterZone (currently 2.7).

When the pre-arranged time is near, the host opens up JCloisterZone and selects "New Game" then waits for the other player to join him. Meanwhile, the player on the client side must also open up JCloisterZone but should select "Connect". This will prompt him for an IP address ("Host") and port number ("Port") which should already have been provided to him by the other player/ host. Once he enters these and clicks OK, the two computers will connect and the game can begin (almost).

On the pre-game screen players must select what colour they want to be and enter their forum nickname as their player name. The first person to select a colour and enter their name will get to lay the first tile, so if you’re sitting at the pre-game screen but won’t be going first then you will need to wait for your opponent to connect and select their colour before you do so.

JCloisterZone offers an impressive selection of expansions, many (but not all) of which can be played against the computer. Expansions may or may not be used depending on the type of tournament you’re taking part in, so please make sure you know in advance which you’ll be using (if any) and make sure that those expansions are selected on the pre-game screen. In addition to this, ensure that the "Randomize Seating Order" checkbox in the bottom-left corner is not checked otherwise it will be impossible to determine which player will start (unless this is the intended behaviour). Either player can click the "Start game" button to begin (see "JCloisterZone Features and Gameplay Tips" for further tips/ assistance/ advice regarding the game itself).

Once the last tile has been placed, the game will calculate the final scores and give you a breakdown of these scores in a pop-up window. If you wish, take a screenshot of this window and/or the final landscape behind it (once you've closed the scores window) as proof of the final scores, or for prosperity. If you intend to play another game, be sure to then select “New Game” from the Game menu rather than “Quit”. If you do this you will go back to the pre-game screen with both players connected and can get ready for your second game rather than having to open JCloisterZone and connect all over again if you select Quit.


How do I host an Internet game with JCloisterZone?
If you're capable of configuring your internet router such that you can set a static IP address for your computer (i.e. lease it an internal IP address that will not expire through your DHCP settings) and setup port forwarding to that (internal) IP then your computer can be used as a host.

Unfortunately I can't be any more specific with regards to the above as it really depends from router to router. Don't worry if you can't do this or don't even know what I'm talking about, but please let me know if you can!

Assuming you've done the above and are willing to host games, please take note of your external IP address (you can find this out by visiting a website such as http://www.whatismyip.com) and the port number you are forwarding to your internal IP as configured on your router. By default, the port used for JCloisterZone traffic is 37447 but if you configured it to use a different port then this might be fine provided it doesn't clash with some other type of traffic using the same port (I'd stick to the default if I were you but this isn't strictly necessary). You will then need to provide your opponent with this IP and port number in order for them to be able to connect to your computer (as described in "How do I start an Internet game with JCloisterZone?" above). Neither the host nor the client should need to make any changes to any firewalls.

If you're arranging a game and neither you nor your opponent can host it then let me or your group administrator know when you intend your game to take place and we will either ensure that a laptop is standing by ready to host for you or find someone else who will be able to host on your behalf.


JCloisterZone Features and Gameplay Tips

- First and foremost, the best advice I can give regarding JCloisterZone in general is to make sure you install it in plenty of time and play a few games to get used to it. Even if you don't have anyone to play against, the AI opponents are good enough to keep things interesting while you get a feel for it.

- At the start of each turn you will be allocated a tile and the board/ landscape/ playing area will highlight all available locations in which this tile can be placed (the tile can be rotated using the tab key or right mouse button).

- The number of tiles remaining is shown in the top right next to the picture of the tile currently being placed. This number doesn't include the tile that is currently being placed so can be thought of as the number of unknown tiles left in the bag/ face-down on the table.

- "Farmer hints" are available by pressing f. I've never used these and don't imagine they'd be particularly helpful for most moderately experienced players, but it's still a feature which could be seen as an unfair advantage to anyone using it so please respect your opponents by refraining from doing so.

- You can zoom out and in with the – and + keys respectively (or the scroll wheel on your mouse) and can pan up/ down/ left/ right using the arrow keys in addition to this. If you’re not zoomed-out far enough to see the entire landscape then it might be that you’re not seeing some important development, so make sure you're aware of everything that's going on before you place your tile.

- If you place a tile in the wrong place or spot a better place to put it before you’ve placed a meeple then it can be undone by clicking the “Undo” button. Your turn will end as soon as you place a meeple though (or skip this – see below), so if you don’t have any meeples left in your supply you won’t have the option to undo a tile placement since you wouldn’t be able to place a meeple on it even if you wanted to!

- If after placing a tile you don't want to place a meeple even though you have the option to (and have meeples in your supply) you will need to press Space, Enter or click on the "Skip" button (top right) before your turn is over and your opponent can begin his next turn.

- Keep a close eye on whose turn it is as it can be surprisingly easy to not notice your opponent taking his turn. There will be an arrow next to the name of the active player in the panel on the right and the meeple icon on your taskbar should change colour in relation to this too. The game might be a little slow at times and it isn't always immediately obvious if your opponent has chosen to deploy a meeple on their most recently placed tile, so don’t rush!

- There is no timer. This means you can take as long as you need to think about your turn, but please also think of your opponent and try to avoid being unnecessarily slow if at all possible!

- There is a handy chat facility within JCloiserZone which allows players to chat to each other during the game. Using it can seem a bit strange as you need to keep the mouse over the chat window to keep it from disappearing. This said, it's perfectly usable and is a good way of keeping a running commentary of the game going, or communicating to the other player if something is wrong. Alternatively, a third-party chat program such as Skype, Facebook chat or any other instant messenger may also be very helpful for communicating with your opponent in and out of JCloisterZone.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: mas9dj on May 13, 2014, 09:23:13 AM
danisthirty to the rescue!

Thanks for the awesome FAQ, can't wait to try it with Friends!
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Andrew the Ambo on May 13, 2014, 07:06:39 PM
Thanks as well.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: evmillan on May 14, 2014, 04:44:13 AM
Thank you so much! :blue-meeple:

Merit for you! :(y)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: rfielder on May 14, 2014, 07:08:46 AM
One thing - as far as I can see, the host has no way of knowing who has linked to his game.  Until you enter a name for one of the followers, there is nothing to indicate that anything has happened.

It would be good if JCloisterZone (jcz) were to show the number of people are linked in on the game setup page.  Even better if jcz would allow you to click on them and get some details, such as their IP address.

Plus, it would be good if the chat function were available on the game setup page.  That could be useful.  We are using email at this time, which works but is a bit of a workaround.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on May 14, 2014, 07:59:40 AM
You're quite right, I couldn't see who was connected unless they picked a colour and entered their name. However, there's nothing to stop players from immediately "signing in" as soon as they connect (by picking a colour and entering their name) so that everyone (i.e. the host if the game is being hosted by a third person) knows that they're there, and then signing out and back in again (i.e. deselecting and then reselecting their meeple rather than actually disconnecting) if they need to after the second player has connected so that the second player gets to go first.

I've hosted four games now, three as part of the league (one of which I played in) and one which was a trial between jungleboy and I. In all of those except for yours, all participants have been able to communicate either through Skype or some other instant messenger program (rather than email). There are so many of these to choose from, they're free to use and are mostly quite stable. Personally I don't think extending the chat feature for JCZ would be entirely necessary if at least one other method is available, and if it isn't it shouldn't be too much effort to install one for most people.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Rosco on May 14, 2014, 08:07:18 AM
Skype or msn messenger would be best as it can be in a small window
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Carcking on May 14, 2014, 09:55:00 AM
I thought I saw a chat window when we played our game danisthirty, no? I'm pretty sure there was a little chat window box down in the lower left corner of my screen. Anyone else see that?

Maybe I need to check my meds...
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on May 14, 2014, 10:02:59 AM
@Carcking - you're absolutely correct, there is a chat function. It's fine for chatting/ banter during the game but what it isn't helpful for is communication between players immediately before/ after matches or for helping to work out what's going on if you have connection problems.

So I'm sure your meds are just fine  :)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: rfielder on May 17, 2014, 04:12:29 AM
I am running Windows 8.1.  Skype wants to take over the full screen, which means it does not want to share screen space with JCloisterzone.

Is there an alternative for texting?  We used email last time, and that works, but there can be a delay before you realize a new message has arrived. 
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Rosco on May 17, 2014, 07:30:31 AM
Msn messenger
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on May 20, 2014, 01:58:39 PM
@rfielder - I only have limited experience of Windows 8, and this was enough to make me want to stick to Windows 7 for the time being. I'm surprised that Skype can only run in a maximised Window though, what a pain!

I guess if email worked before then I'm sure it can work again and life will hopefully be a little simpler in future since you'll be able to host directly and there won't be a third person involved. Generally I'm happy to sign up for whatever everyone else if using to make chatting as fun and easy as possible...
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: farin on June 18, 2014, 03:00:52 AM
Hi

I just create issue https://github.com/farin/JCloisterZone/issues/43
show connected, but already unassigned players is reasonable feature.

About chat during game setup. I definitily want chat be avaiable here but I have few technical difficulties with it so
I decite postpone it for some feature release.


Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Paul on June 18, 2014, 06:18:54 AM
http://www.chatzy.com/ (http://www.chatzy.com/)

Have not tried it myself, but by reading what it offers (on the right side of that page) this seems to fit the bill for the Carcassonne League chat option.

Instant start chatting
No registration
Private, only those you invite can join the chat
Does not require Flash or anything

Worth a shot.  :meeple:

EDIT: It even has option to choose colours which seem to match the Carcassonne followers as well!  :D
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: farin on June 19, 2014, 03:06:20 AM
EDIT: It even has option to choose colours which seem to match the Carcassonne followers as well!  :D

Colors can be changed in config.yaml (should be created after first run in game directory)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on June 19, 2014, 05:34:38 AM
@farin - I just wanted to post to say thanks for all your efforts in creating JCloisterZone. Unfortunately I don't have the opportunity to play Carcassonne up at a table with actual tiles nearly as often as I'd like to since my life is busy and family and work commitments always take priority. But JCloisterZone is by far my favourite of the several ways I play Carcassonne electronically, and it's obvious that an enormous amount of care and effort has gone into making it.

Quite apart from using it to play against AI opponents (who play surprisingly well compared to many I've seen), JCloisterZone has been essential to the Carcassonne Central league that has been taking place over the last month or so and has proved to be a source of significant amounts of fun and entertainment for many of us here on these forums.

Well done to you, and please keep up the good work!  :(y)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: farin on August 15, 2014, 02:19:24 AM
2.7 is unable to load game started with randomize seating order - button start game simple do nothing

Workaround exists to fix such saved game. It can be handy especially for tournament games.
done, just load now (no packing is needed)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Paul on August 15, 2014, 02:21:31 AM
2.7 is unable to load game started with randomize seating order - button start game simple do nothing

Workaround exists to fix such saved game. It can be handy especially for tournament games.
  • change save game extension to .gz
  • unpack - it contains single file without extension
  • edit file, delete line
  • rename file to have extension .jcz done, just load now (no packing is needed)

Thank you! Merit goes to you. :(y)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: MrNumbers on August 15, 2014, 03:18:46 AM
2.7 is unable to load game started with randomize seating order - button start game simple do nothing
Workaround exists to fix such saved game. It can be handy especially for tournament games.

It means we can try to finish uncompleted and replayed game between Jere and BabyGamer?
I don't know if it's worth it and how it can impact overall standings. Maybe just to see the outcome.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: farin on August 15, 2014, 04:10:58 AM
Yes, if you have still saved game you can apply described operations and than it should works
(I repair save today during my match with Yellow) 
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on August 15, 2014, 01:03:10 PM
@farin - Thanks for the tip, that is definitely worth knowing.  :(y)

I think it's probably best that we let sleeping dogs/ broken games of JCZ lie and don't let this spur a wave of rematches. For future games that crash we should fix the save game and reload it by all means but completed matches should remain completed, even where they were in place of games that crashed and couldn't be loaded.

I don't know why my game with Rosco worked when we reloaded it. My only thought is that we must have forgotten to check the randomize seating order but I was sure I'd done it. Will have to check the video...
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Paul on August 15, 2014, 01:31:01 PM
I would certainly agree. This first league is more of a testrun if anything else, even for the JCZ developer.  :@

There will be more leagues undoubly and by that time we will already have a good grasp on things.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: jungleboy on September 04, 2014, 12:57:14 PM
Unfortunately we just discovered a major bug in JCZ 2.7. A big meeple cannot go through a magic portal. MrNumbers just discovered this during a critical moment in our WC semifinal.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on September 04, 2014, 01:01:38 PM
Oh no! Did this change the outcome of the game?
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: MrNumbers on September 04, 2014, 01:13:00 PM
We canceled the game because of that bug. In JCZ 3.0 this bug is fixed though.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Ethain on November 26, 2014, 08:28:12 AM
I'd like to play with my wife, using our home wifi, but even opening ports in router and firewall, we can't host/connect. Anyone knows how to host using home wifi?
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on November 26, 2014, 09:50:49 AM
Hello Ethain, welcome to the forums.

What have you tried?

If you're both on the same home network then you shouldn't need to do anything with port forwarding. All you should need to do is find the internal IP of the host machine, run up JCloisterZone and start a new game on this one, then connect to the host machine from the other machine.

Good luck!  :(y)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: rfielder on November 26, 2014, 06:54:27 PM
I'd like to play with my wife, using our home wifi, but even opening ports in router and firewall, we can't host/connect. Anyone knows how to host using home wifi?
Ethain - do you know the IP address of your PC?  Or of your wife's PC?

Playing between two PCs on the same network is very easy.  One starts the game, and the second then uses the Connect button, types in the IP address of the first PC, and you are away.

If you are not familiar with IP address and how to find them, please let us know.   Many here will be able to provide clear instructions on how to do this.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Chooselife on March 30, 2015, 03:55:46 PM
I know very little of port forwarding, I'm one of those old guys which still use emule, but I can't find which protocol shall we use on the forwarding rules.
Is it TCP? UDP?
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: MrNumbers on March 30, 2015, 08:56:30 PM
Definitely TCP.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Chooselife on March 31, 2015, 12:08:50 AM
Thanks so it should be simple enough to forward TCP door 37447.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Chooselife on March 31, 2015, 09:08:49 AM
First: If this is not the correct thread please advise.

Second: I added a rule on my modem in order to forward door 37447 on TCP protocol but it's still giving "connection timed out: connect" error.
Static local address enabled.
I tried with and without W7 firewall.

Any suggestions
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on March 31, 2015, 09:21:09 AM
I could be wrong but I think you might get that if you try to connect from another machine on the same internal network. You might get a different result if you ask someone to connect to you from outside. Unfortunately I can't at the moment, but it may be worth trying...
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Chooselife on March 31, 2015, 09:28:27 AM
I'm trying to connect from my work desktop to the home one.
(I use teamviewer to remotely control my home computer)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: MrNumbers on March 31, 2015, 09:33:43 AM
In your wireless router in port forwarding settings you should see something like this (see attachment).
Private IP - your PC's IP address, which you receive via DHCP or which is set static. In case of DHCP you should be sure you receive the same private address all the time (via static DHCP leases).
When someone (outside your network) connect to you PC, he should enter your public IP. You should know this IP address. If not, check www.whatipmyip.com (http://www.whatipmyip.com), for example.
If someone is connecting to your PC inside your network, he should use your private IP, and port forwarding rules are ignored, as they are not necessary - in internal network connections are established directly.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Chooselife on March 31, 2015, 10:07:31 AM
MrNumbers,

Correct, I have the ports forwarded to my private IP which is given by the modem and that I manually inserted on the IP4 settings.
I was trying to access to the public IP.

I'm able to connect with the laptop, on the same network, using the public IP.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: MrNumbers on March 31, 2015, 11:12:52 AM
Strange. Try to check, if your JCloisterZone is listening the corresponding port.
To do that launch JCloisterZone in "ready to connect" mode (next window after pressing "Start game" button), then launch Command prompt (cmd) and enter "netstat -an". Check the long text, if you have  two following lines somewhere:
TCP    0.0.0.0:37447          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
TCP    127.0.0.1:37447        127.0.0.1:53870        ESTABLISHED
53870 maybe different.

EDIT: OK, no need to do this, after I read your edited comment.

EDIT 2: Have you tried to switch off firewall also on your work PC? Maybe you have some network restrictions on your workplace regarding opened ports?
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: jma03 on April 04, 2015, 02:57:50 AM
take two days that I can not connect online ( JCZ 3.1.1) .
however I can use the other options.
that could happen ??
thank you
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: rfielder on April 05, 2015, 11:57:10 AM
take two days that I can not connect online ( JCZ 3.1.1) .
I just tried, and it is not connecting for me either.

This is new - no changes to my home network.  Played a few games online over the last couple of weeks, and it was working.
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: totor66 on April 07, 2015, 03:50:56 AM
Can we Host a game with a Dynamic IP address ? I can't make the soft work for me and a friend.

On the communication port, should we put 37447 (I already authorized it in forwarding port in my router config) or the port given when I check my IP ?

Thanks in advance :)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: MrNumbers on April 07, 2015, 04:02:14 AM
Can we Host a game with a Dynamic IP address ? I can't make the soft work for me and a friend.

On the communication port, should we put 37447 (I already authorized it in forwarding port in my router config) or the port given when I check my IP ?

Thanks in advance :)

When you check your IP, you receive your IP address, not port. So, you can try use this dynamically assigned IP and port 37447, which is already forwarded to your PC, as far as I can understand. This will work only if this assigned dynamic IP is real IP (not behind NAT).
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on April 07, 2015, 04:07:29 AM
Apologies if this has already been explained by MrNumbers but I've typed this now so I thought I'd post it anyway:

Anybody can host a game over the internet if their internet router will allow them to, and if they’re able to configure it correctly. If this is the case, you need to reserve an internal IP address (probably 192.168.0.something) for the PC on which you wish to use as your host. This is done through the DHCP settings on your router and is usually referred to as “leasing” so there may be a section for “lease reservations” or something similar. The purpose of this is so that your JCZ host PC will always have the same internal IP address whenever it is connected to the internet, and this address will never be assigned to a different device connected to the internet through your router.

The other thing you need to do is to set up a simple port forwarding rule to forward all incoming TCP/IP traffic to a specific port. By default the port number is 37447 for JCZ, so this is what I use. The rule will also need a destination IP address which should be the internal IP address of the machine you wish to use as the host machine (the IP you reserved above).

Once you’ve made these changes, ensure that everything is saved and then double-check it all to make sure your changes are in place (i.e. that the internal IP is reserved for your intended server PC and that your port forwarding rule will forward all TCP/IP traffic on a specific port [37447] to the reserved address).

Finally, look up your external IP address as it appears on the internet by going to a website such as this one: http://www.whatsmyip.org/

As long as JCZ is up and running on your host machine, anyone from anywhere in the world should be able to connect to it by opening JCZ on their PC and then connecting to you via your external IP address (above) and the port number you set...

Good luck!  :) :(y)
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: jma03 on April 07, 2015, 07:26:39 AM
I still can not connect online in JCZ .
I have not changed anything.
What could try to connect as to one week ago ??
thank you
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Hounk on April 07, 2015, 01:27:04 PM
Seems neither can I now. And I might have a League Game soon against monwil. Anybody around, who could host, if this is happening?
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: danisthirty on April 07, 2015, 01:46:59 PM
I can. Let me know beforehand and I will ensure my laptop is available for you to connect to...
Title: Re: JCloiserZone FAQ
Post by: Hounk on April 07, 2015, 01:59:46 PM
Thanks, Dan. MrNumbers already contacted me in chat, he can do it too. But first, monwil has to show up. Let's see, if it's happening.