Carcassonne Central

Carc Central Community => Official Rules => Topic started by: whaleyland on February 13, 2013, 01:56:22 PM

Title: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on February 13, 2013, 01:56:22 PM
Please post your questions for Hans im Glueck on this thread. kettlefish will periodically take the questions to her contacts at Hans im Glueck for formal clarification. The responses will be published in the next edition of the Carcassonne Complete Annotated Rules.

Furthermore, kettlefish requests that questions and clarifications be asked IN COLOR.

Questions for Hans im Glueck should be written in BLUE.

kettlefish will strive to find answers to all questions and report them in GREEN.

If the question has already been addressed and is printed or pending printing in the current CAR, a reply will be in TEAL.

If kettlefish is unable to obtain an answer from Hans im Glueck or from the Spielbox, she will reply in RED.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: whaleyland on February 13, 2013, 01:57:41 PM
Q: When playing with The Messages and The Robber, can a player's Robber follow either Messenger?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: danielbrie on February 13, 2013, 04:21:02 PM
Q: What is the follower included with The Messages depicting? Is it a female meeple?
I can answer at this one since it's in the the official German rules from Hans Im Gleuk:
"... 8 messages, 6 female followers." when referring at what's in the box.
 :meeple:
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: whaleyland on February 13, 2013, 04:23:46 PM
Q: What is the follower included with The Messages depicting? Is it a female meeple?
I can answer at this one since it's in the the official German rules from Hans Im Gleuk:
"... 8 messages, 6 female followers." when referring at what's in the box.

Interesting. The RGG instructions don't mention that: they just say "6 followers". My wife will be disappointed that meeples are once again being genderized.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: Carcking on February 13, 2013, 05:13:01 PM
Thanks for that danielbrie - and welcome to the CC forum!
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: kettlefish on March 22, 2013, 03:09:57 AM
question from whaleyland:
Quote
Q: When playing with The Messages and The Robber, can a player's Robber follow either Messenger?

Chrisof Tisch contacted me,
so in a short time, I will have the answer.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: kettlefish on May 03, 2013, 12:40:50 PM
Q: When playing with The Messages and The Robber, can a player's Robber follow either Messenger?

Answer:
The Robber can rob points from both scoring figures - from the follower and from the Messenger (woman follower). If there are more than one scoring figure at the same space as the Robber and multible scoring take place - the Robber can only rob from one scoring figure for one scoring.

Telephone call with HiG - Georg Wild - 03 05 2013
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: kettlefish on May 10, 2013, 05:07:37 AM
Here are some questions from Mr. Numbers:
And the answers from HiG - Georg Wild - Telephone call 10 05 2013:

Robber and Messages:

1. Robber stands near one particular counting figure and robs only it's points. In this situation it is possible that robber will stand on the scoreboard till the end of the game, if the player will decide not to move this particular figure.

Yes, it is possible that the robber would stand till the end of the game.  
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2. Robber stands near any counting figure and robs any points that this player will receive regardless what figure player will move forward. In this situation robber stands near "virtual" counting figure and receive first available points (of course, according the rules).

No, the robber can only rob the points from the counting figure which is on the same space as the robber.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Robber and other expansions:

Part 1: Will the robber receive Wheel of Fortune or Fairy's (1 point) points? This action is performed before "place the tile" phase, so robber can receive this points.

Yes, the robber can rob the points.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Part 2: OR: robber can wait till the end of the whole turn and receive all points that this player will receive in this turn including Wheel of Fortune points at the start of the turn. The same applies to Catapult points.
No, the robber must always rob the next points that are scored. The robber can't wait for a scoring with more points. Each scoring is separated - that means for example each feature is scored individually. The same is with the Fairy-Point or with the Catapult points or points from the Wheel of Fortune.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: Carcking on May 10, 2013, 10:00:40 AM
Has this been asked and answered?

A Robber stands next to a counting figure on the scoring track. The counting figure scores mulitple features triggered by the placement of the current tile. The multiple features score different amounts of points. Does the Robber get to choose which score he will "rob"? Or does the scoring player decide which of his features to score first, and thereby dicate which feature the Robber will rob?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: kettlefish on May 10, 2013, 10:04:38 AM
Has this been asked and answered?

A Robber stands next to a counting figure on the scoring track. The counting figure scores mulitple features triggered by the placement of the current tile. The multiple features score different amounts of points. Does the Robber get to choose which score he will "rob"? Or does the scoring player decide which of his features to score first, and thereby dicate which feature the Robber will rob?

I have three examples. I need some more time and then the thrid is finished.
Please look at the thread
Robber and Messages - Examples (http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=260.0)
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: Carcking on May 10, 2013, 10:06:19 AM
Ah, yes...thanks for that kettlefish.  :)
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: kettlefish on May 15, 2013, 01:38:21 PM
to this point all questions and answers from HiG are included in the CAR 6.3.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: kettlefish on May 30, 2013, 02:39:00 PM
Two more questions from Carcking:

The Goldmines and the Castle

I have finished my comments for all the pictures. I modified all the postings where the pictures are included.
The results are the information which I have got from Christof Tisch (graphic artist for HiG).

Here comes the link:
The Goldminers: Gold Removal Question (http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=279.msg2141#msg2141)

Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: obervet on June 03, 2013, 02:05:48 PM
Okay, I have questions about things that should not be duplicated in the double-turn. See the link here (http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=200.msg2187#msg2187).

Are there things that should be added to that list? Things that should be removed?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glück Thread
Post by: obervet on June 28, 2013, 09:26:38 AM
Here's a question about The Phantom and the Wheel of Fortune (http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=286.0).

In brief, the rules say that the phantom is played to the tile that was just placed, but footnote 363 in S-CAR 6.3 states that "You can do whatever you can do with a follower." Thus: Can you play the Phantom to areas such as the Wheel of Fortune or a tower, or is the Phantom restricted to placement on the tile just placed?
Title: Regarding a tile from Catapult
Post by: Procyon on March 17, 2014, 07:49:29 PM
On the attached tile (the tile with the cloister in the Catapult extension), the fields are divided by the fair, according to note 298 in the CAR 6.4.

If this is true, then we can't consider the tile a FFFF tile, as only two side are continuous field. And since you only find cities, roads or fields on tile borders, what should you play on the sides of this tile that are not continuous field?

This looks like a design flaw.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Fritz_Spinne on March 17, 2014, 11:29:52 PM
I you play an Abbey the fields are divided furthermore. But in fact you can use this tile to put your follower on one of the fields to merge with the other field in one of the next turns.

There are two tiles in "Hills and Sheep", the next coming expansion, which have city edges that also allow to merge with the other city area.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Carcking on March 18, 2014, 07:52:27 AM
As Fritz_Spinne says - an Abbey tile can be played against it as well as a field segment tile.

We also play (house rule?) that you can play a road segment to it. The fairgrounds area terminates the road from either side. So if a player plays that tile in such a way as to try to glom into your farm you can maybe get lucky enough to draw a road tile to cut him off before he draws another field tile.

I say we use this as a house rule but I don't know that it needs to be. It may be official. Looking at the other Catapult road tiles isn't it intuitive that a road can connect directly with a fairgrounds? And the fairgrounds on that tile are drawn so they touch the edge of the tile at the center - allowing for connection to a road segment. I don't believe the way the fairgrounds is drawn is accidental. It narrows down on each side to the width of a road and meets the center of the tile edge. (blue dog)
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Fritz_Spinne on March 18, 2014, 09:01:03 AM
The house rule is a good idea!
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: obervet on March 19, 2014, 10:53:49 AM
As Fritz_Spinne says - an Abbey tile can be played against it as well as a field segment tile.

We also play (house rule?) that you can play a road segment to it. The fairgrounds area terminates the road from either side. So if a player plays that tile in such a way as to try to glom into your farm you can maybe get lucky enough to draw a road tile to cut him off before he draws another field tile.

I say we use this as a house rule but I don't know that it needs to be. It may be official. Looking at the other Catapult road tiles isn't it intuitive that a road can connect directly with a fairgrounds? And the fairgrounds on that tile are drawn so they touch the edge of the tile at the center - allowing for connection to a road segment. I don't believe the way the fairgrounds is drawn is accidental. It narrows down on each side to the width of a road and meets the center of the tile edge. (blue dog)

I had always figured that the art was purposeful for dividing the field and might have been intended to use in conjunction with future expansions that had cities (or other yellow sandlots) that tapered to a point at their edges. Of course, we haven't seen any of those yet, so what do I know? I have added this question to the list.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: obervet on March 19, 2014, 10:56:03 AM
But in fact you can use this tile to put your follower on one of the fields to merge with the other field in one of the next turns.

This is the way I have used this piece -- as the ultimate farm-stealing piece, with a field edge played to one of the yellow edges on a following turn.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Carcking on March 19, 2014, 11:23:05 AM
But in fact you can use this tile to put your follower on one of the fields to merge with the other field in one of the next turns.

This is the way I have used this piece -- as the ultimate farm-stealing piece, with a field edge played to one of the yellow edges on a following turn.

Haha - yes, but now a road can cut you off!   >:D :red-meeple:
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on April 08, 2014, 01:25:03 PM
Q: In Sheep & Hills, does a Follower on a Hill in a feature defeat any Follower not on a Hill? In other words, if a player has a power 3 Mayor in a City but another player has a Knight on a Hill in that City, who wins? Similarly, if a player has two Knights in a City, neither being on a hill, and another player has a Knight on a Hill in that same City, who wins? Does the Follower on a Hill gain a real advantage over other pieces in a feature, or is it ONLY for tie-breaking (in other words, a less than 1 Follower value)?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Fritz_Spinne on April 08, 2014, 01:44:00 PM
A follower on a hill is in advantage only if there is a tie. So a Mayor in a 3 pennant city has majority over one knight on a hill, 2 knights have majority over one knight on a hill and so on.

I wouldn't speak about a "less than 1 follower value" because there is really no more strength/power. If a small follower on a hill would have an advantage of 1/2, 2 small followers on hills would tie with 3 small followers not on hills, but 3 followers have majority over 2 followers on hills. 

It is something like a new dimension - if there is a tie, the followers on hills break the tie (or not, if both have the same strength on hills). There is no hint in the rules how to manage mayors or big followers, but I think you count the strength of the followers on hills just like normal and the player with majority gets the city - but only if there is a tie of all followers.


Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on April 08, 2014, 02:22:05 PM
That's kind of what I figured, but it still presents a new concept in the game that I'd like to see addressed by an official Hans im Glueck spokesperson. Thanks for your view, though; it does closely follow my own.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: kettlefish on April 08, 2014, 02:37:32 PM
Hi whaleyland,
at CarcF we had almost the same questions some weeks ago.
I've called with HiG and got an answer (05.03.2014).

Quote
Die Huegelkarte hat nur Auswirkung bei Gleichstand innerhalb des Gebietes (z.B. Stadt) wo der Gefolgsmann sich befindet.
All die anderen Regeln bleiben bestehen.
Das heisst der Flieger darf auf einer Huegelkarte landen, durch den Zaubergang kann ein Gefolgsmann auf einem Gebiet der Huegelkarte gelangen...
Der Gefolgsmann wird nicht auf die Abbildung des Huegels gestellt.
Der Gefolgsmann wird auf einem Gebiet gestellt/gelegt welches auf der Huegelkarte abgebildet ist (z.B. Stadtgebiet, Wiese, Strassenabschnitt).
Der Huegel hat nur Auswirkung auf dem Gebiet wo der Gefolgsmann platziert wurde (z.B. Stadt) nicht aber z.B. auf der Wiese wenn dort kein Gefolgsmann auf dem Wiesenabschnitt der Huegelkarte liegt.

I have to translate this...
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on April 08, 2014, 05:01:30 PM
lol! I was going to say...

Thanks for getting an answer, anyway. I eagerly await the translation.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Carcking on April 08, 2014, 05:45:56 PM
That is my understanding too. The Hill only comes into play when there is a tie.

If my opponent is in a City with a regular follower and I place a Hill City tile in a position and I successfully glom into the City with my regular follower - I will control the majority even though we both have just one regular follower in the city because mine is on a Hill tile.

If my opponent has a power 3 Mayor and I have two regular followers - I can win majority if I get a regular follower on a City Hill tile glommed into the city. In the same City, if I have only 1 regular follower in the City, the City Hill tile with a regular follower will not help me. I'll still lose the City 3 to 2.

They will make interesting targets for such mechanics as the Magic Gate and the Flyer and such.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: kettlefish on April 09, 2014, 11:25:11 PM
Here comes the translation:

The hills tile has only effect tie within the feature (e.g. city) where the follower is located.
All other rules remain in place.
That means:
A follower as a flier can land on a hills tile, a follower can go through the magic portal to come to the hills tile.
The follower is not placed on the symbol of the hill.
The follower is placed on  a feature which is a part of such a hills tile (city segment, farm, road segment).
The hill has only effect on the feature where the follower has been placed (e.g. city) but it has no effect on e.g. the farm  if there is no follower on the farm section of the hills tile.


One more point:
If the feature is finished and scored, the follower on the hills tile goes back to the players supply.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: MrNumbers on April 09, 2014, 11:30:49 PM
Ok, then my question:
If there are 3 red and 3 blue followers in a city, and 2 red (of 3) and 1 blue (of 3) are on the hills, does the red player win the tie?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Carcking on April 10, 2014, 03:08:29 AM
Ok, then my question:
If there are 3 red and 3 blue followers in a city, and 2 red (of 3) and 1 blue (of 3) are on the hills, does the red player win the tie?

That is a great question. I cannot wait to hear the official answer to that. The underlying question is; can you compete for the tie-breaking power of a Hill?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Rosco on April 10, 2014, 06:50:48 AM
Surely this is obvious. The one with more on hills is obviously stronger.

I would have a problem if playing a personal meeple expansion I play which is 'The Kids '. With this expansion, children come into the game as half followers who are only valid with an adult.   so with 1 adult and 1 child (1.5 followers) of one colour and 1 adult of another colour on a hill, who has the majority? I imagine it is the adult and child but just checking.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Carcking on April 10, 2014, 07:38:14 AM
Surely this is obvious. The one with more on hills is obviously stronger.

It's a matter of whether HiG intented for the Hills to be determined by majority ownership of the Hill. It could be that having one follower on a Hill is the same as having any number of followers on a Hill.

Another scenario - Three Hills exist on a single city. I have followers on two of them and my opponent has a follower on one of them. Do I own the tie-breaker? Only if they are in competition, but not if the power does not stack.

There is precedence for some tile mechanics not stacking - such as in Cathar/Siege tiles on a city. Once there is one in the city it has the same effect as if there were any number. Inns on the Lake is another example. Cathedrals, another.

Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Fritz_Spinne on April 10, 2014, 08:39:01 AM
'The Kids '. With this expansion, children come into the game as half followers who are only valid with an adult.   so with 1 adult and 1 child (1.5 followers) of one colour and 1 adult of another colour on a hill, who has the majority? I imagine it is the adult and child but just checking.

If there is no tie you don't have to think about followers on hills - followers on hills are tiebreakers only if there is a tie.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Carcking on April 10, 2014, 06:08:07 PM
Correct. The Hill doesn't "add" anything unless there is a tie.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: ldhughes59 on September 11, 2014, 11:53:10 AM
Q: With the School expansion, player 1 has the teacher and player 2 completes a school road and a city.  Another player has a meeple on the completed road so player 2 does not receive a score for the road but they should still obtain the teacher for completing the road correct?  Also does player 1 get the score to both the city and road or just one completed feature and if so which?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on November 01, 2014, 04:15:41 AM
Q: When playing with both the Halflings I and Halflings II, do players draw 2 tiles each or 4 tiles each (2 from each set)?

Q: When playing Halflings with fewer tha 6 players, do all players still only draw 2 tiles or do they draw however many are available for all players (I.e., 4 players draw 3 each, 3 players draw 4, and two players draw 6)?

Q: What does the Corn Circle symbol in Halflings II represent? A wild card or a robber club?

Q: Can an Abbey be placed in a square beside a triangle tile if that triangle tile is not leaning against the proposed placement location of the Abbey (I.e., it isn't visually creating a square)?

Also, a non rules question. Will Halflings I (Spielbox) eventually be available from Cundco (presumably with a different watermark)?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: cidervampire on November 03, 2014, 09:16:29 AM
There seems to be a steadily growing list of holy men and holy places.  So far we have

1. Cloisters - occupied by Monks or the 2nd edition Abbot Meeple
2. Cathedrals - just for show, nobody lives in them
3. The Abbey - occupied by Monks.
4. Shrines - occupied by Heretics
5. German/Dutch/Belgian Monasteries in several different states:
a) occupied by a Monk
b) occupied by an Abbot
c) occupied by a Monk and an Abbot due to the use a Flier tile.
d) unoccupied
6. Darmstadt Church & Chapel - occupied by some sort of follower
7. A Garden - occupied by the 2nd edition Abbot Meeple

My questions are which of the above can be used in the following situations

A - to provide sanctuary to a Knight from a City with a Siege tile
B - give points on an Inquisition result on the Wheel of Fortune
C - be a feature on which you can place the 2nd edition Abbot Meeple
D - be a target feature for a meeple in the City of Carcassonne

E - Also, can the Abbot Meeple use the Flier or a Magic Portal to move to a feature on which he can be placed?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: kettlefish on November 03, 2014, 09:37:11 AM
Quote
E - Also, can the Abbot Meeple use the Flier or a Magic Portal to move to a feature on which he can be placed?
The figure Abbot is a follower with special rules, and the Abbot can use the Flying Machine as a flier and can go through the Magic Portal. But the Abbot figure can only land on features like the garden or the cloister.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Fritz_Spinne on November 03, 2014, 09:47:26 AM
Quote
E - Also, can the Abbot Meeple use the Flier or a Magic Portal to move to a feature on which he can be placed?
The figure Abbot is a follower with special rules, and the Abbot can use the Flying Machine as a flier and can go throuth the Magic Portal. But the Abbot figure can only land on features like the garden or the cloister.

Does the term "like the garden or the cloister" include shrines and abbeys (from "Abbey and Mayor") and the German / Dutch Monasteries? May he used as an Abbot (!) there? I think you will have to ask many questions ...
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on November 05, 2014, 11:43:58 PM
Q: When playing with Darmstadt expansion, are the bonuses applied at the end of the game or only when the feature is completed?

Q: When playing with Darmstadt expansion, do the points for the Convention Centre also get distributed to all players in the event of a tie (I'd assume this is a yes)?

Q: When playing with Darmstadt expansion, do the two religious buildings function as cloisters in all cases (e.g., when playing with The Cults or Wheel of Fortune)?
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on November 11, 2014, 01:08:39 AM
Got yet another question after playing with Castles tonight:

Q: Does a Castle block the passage of a Dragon (or switched around, can a dragon move over a Castle)?

This became an issue when the Dragon was trapped at the end of a 1-tile-wide row of tiles. We decided it could, but there didn't seem to be an official ruling on it.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Paul on November 11, 2014, 02:55:48 AM
Got yet another question after playing with Castles tonight:

Q: Does a Castle block the passage of a Dragon (or switched around, can a dragon move over a Castle)?

This became an issue when the Dragon was trapped at the end of a 1-tile-wide row of tiles. We decided it could, but there didn't seem to be an official ruling on it.

From what I read off CAR 7.02, the only way to stop a dragon is if it can't move to an adjacent nondiagonally tile because:
A. It has already moved to this tile during this dragon movement
B. There is a Fairy on that tile it wants to move to

So flying over a Castle would be a legal move and the follower on it would take a peak out of the window and feel a sigh of relief.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: whaleyland on November 11, 2014, 03:09:45 AM
Got yet another question after playing with Castles tonight:

Q: Does a Castle block the passage of a Dragon (or switched around, can a dragon move over a Castle)?

This became an issue when the Dragon was trapped at the end of a 1-tile-wide row of tiles. We decided it could, but there didn't seem to be an official ruling on it.

From what I read off CAR 7.02, the only way to stop a dragon is if it can't move to an adjacent nondiagonally tile because:
A. It has already moved to this tile during this dragon movement
B. There is a Fairy on that tile it wants to move to

So flying over a Castle would be a legal move and the follower on it would take a peak out of the window and feel a sigh of relief.
That's what we assumed too, but since it does run along the entire edge of the tile, I feel it should be officially addressed by the gurus at Hans im Glück. After all, the Castles did come out after the Princess and the two have yet to appear in the same Big Box together. They may never have thought about it.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Paul on November 11, 2014, 04:59:31 AM
Got yet another question after playing with Castles tonight:

Q: Does a Castle block the passage of a Dragon (or switched around, can a dragon move over a Castle)?

This became an issue when the Dragon was trapped at the end of a 1-tile-wide row of tiles. We decided it could, but there didn't seem to be an official ruling on it.

From what I read off CAR 7.02, the only way to stop a dragon is if it can't move to an adjacent nondiagonally tile because:
A. It has already moved to this tile during this dragon movement
B. There is a Fairy on that tile it wants to move to

So flying over a Castle would be a legal move and the follower on it would take a peak out of the window and feel a sigh of relief.
That's what we assumed too, but since it does run along the entire edge of the tile, I feel it should be officially addressed by the gurus at Hans im Glück. After all, the Castles did come out after the Princess and the two have yet to appear in the same Big Box together. They may never have thought about it.

Sometimes too many rules can lead to messy interpretations and ruin the purpose of a (board) game. Currently the rule is quite capable of adressing the issue you described.

What is not there, is also a rule, i.e. it does not say anything about Castles in' The Princess and the Dragon' nor 'Castles' expansion and thus it is a legit move to have the dragon fly over the castle.

Hope this helps!  :(y)
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: kettlefish on November 30, 2014, 02:53:57 AM
Q: What does the Corn Circle symbol in Halflings II represent? A wild card or a robber club?
The crop circle on the triangle tile is a Joker.
That mean the player who places this tile can decide if he use the rules for the shield, for the fork or for the club.

Here is the link to the topic:
Haflings II: The Crop Circle (http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=1162.msg16338#msg16338)

I've got this clarification from Moritz Brunnhofer - HiG- on Friday 28 11 2014 by call.
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: Jéré on November 30, 2014, 07:39:52 AM
Was he a bit embarrassed? It's a big oversight from them...
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: obervet on December 09, 2014, 01:02:10 PM
It seems that HiG's attempts to squeeze the rules onto small sheets of paper have led to some important oversights and assumptions. (Of course, that's easy for me to say -- I just add more pages to the CAR whenever there's more to say.)
Title: Re: Rules Questions for Hans im Glueck Thread
Post by: obervet on December 18, 2014, 01:45:15 PM
Q: With the School expansion, player 1 has the teacher and player 2 completes a school road and a city.  Another player has a meeple on the completed road so player 2 does not receive a score for the road but they should still obtain the teacher for completing the road correct?  Also does player 1 get the score to both the city and road or just one completed feature and if so which?

Looks like this one got buried in here. Player 1 (with the teacher) only gets the points from the next single feature to score. If the points from features are all going to the same player, that player gets to decide what order the scoring occurs in. Unfortunately, there's no clear answer about order of scoring if the points are going to different players.

After scoring occurs, the teacher goes back to the school. Then player 2 gets the teacher for completing the road, even though he or she didn't get any points.