Carcassonne Central

Carc Central Community => Official Rules => Topic started by: Piancol on April 02, 2020, 08:24:56 PM

Title: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
Post by: Piancol on April 02, 2020, 08:24:56 PM
I can't find this clarification in either of the rules, so here's my doubt:

Would removing your Abbott from an incomplete monastery or garden (thus scoring it incomplete) trigger a nearby castle?

I think that it would not cause the Castles rules state that it's triggered when a feature is completed and legally you wouldn't be completing the feature cause you're scoring it incomplete but I'm not completely sure...

What are your thoughts?  :blue-meeple:
Title: Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
Post by: Carcassonne93 on April 03, 2020, 01:19:19 AM
The castle earns points only for completed features.
Title: Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
Post by: Meepledrone on April 03, 2020, 01:58:54 AM
The abbot, when removed, is scored in phase 2. Placing a meeple and the castle scoring is triggered by completed features scored in phase 3. Scoring a feature. So both actions happen in different phases and are unrelated.

You can check the consolidated Order of Play here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play)
Title: Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
Post by: Carcassonne93 on April 03, 2020, 02:11:25 AM
What happens if you remove the abbot in the turn in which you complete the monastery? Do you receive points for vineyards?
Title: Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
Post by: Meepledrone on April 03, 2020, 02:27:35 AM
If you remove the abbot you don't get the vineyard points. It would be a weird move unless you are interested because you want to get a message or something.

You can check the interaction of the abbot with vineyards here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Hills_%26_Sheep#Vineyards_2 (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Hills_%26_Sheep#Vineyards_2)
Title: Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
Post by: Carcassonne93 on April 03, 2020, 03:32:44 AM
Or if there is a big meeple in The cathedral from City of Carcassonne.
Title: Re: Question about Castles and the Abbott.
Post by: Meepledrone on April 03, 2020, 05:00:10 AM
Or if there is a big meeple in The cathedral from City of Carcassonne.

What sequence are you thinking of?

Removing the abbot and then deploying the meeple to the monastery just abandoned by the abbot? If so, you don't need a large meeple as the monastery would be empty so you would be alone... Unless some other player may want to compete for the monastery points.  >:D