Author Topic: Opinions sought on "base" game and expnasions  (Read 18717 times)

Offline jvnoledawg

• Villein
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
    • Noledawg's Travels
Opinions sought on "base" game and expnasions
« on: March 24, 2013, 05:50:49 PM »
Greetings,

I am new to CC, having played Carc for many years but just now discovering this fantastic site. 

I would love to ask the community what it considers to be the "base" game for playing. That is, given what I've read about Inns and Traders helping to balance the tile layout among farm, city, and road, it seems that any base game of Carc should generally include these two expansions (and possibly River I or II). Agree or disagree?

Also, my small group of gamers consists of myself, my sister, and our mother. We are not aggressive players and tend to use the tiles from expansions like Tower and Princess purely to increase the length of the game, and not for the additional elements such expansions introduce.  Even when we say we will play "cutthroat", the dragon ends up flying in circles! (Thus, you can imagine how long it has been since we played Risk, Monopoly, or Settlers, let alone Milles Borne).
That being said, we are slowly "re-learning" the expansions, making concerted efforts to use all they provide. Over the next few months we will play our "base" version above, and add:
- Bridges
- Tower
- Count
- King
- Abbey
- the Minis 1-7
- eventually Siege (thank you for the download)
- eventually Phantom (purchased from Carcatronn's on-line store today)
We won't do this as a mega-Carc, simply one at a time.

In summary, two questions:
1. What do you consider the essential "base" collection that any Carc sessions should have?
2. What expansion is first on your list when decided which to add?

Many thanks to all. I really enjoy this site and look forward to visiting regularly.

And oh yes, the CAR is FANTASTIC!  (My attempts to find this resource led me to the site.)

jvnoledawg