Carcassonne Central

Carc Central Community => Official Rules => Topic started by: Ireneu on January 12, 2020, 10:12:40 AM

Title: Abbot and regular meeple on same Monastery
Post by: Ireneu on January 12, 2020, 10:12:40 AM
Hi,

We recently encountered the following situation playing with the abbot and the Flying Machines tiles: The abbot was flown to a monastery already owned by the same player.

I haven't found a clarification about this situation in the CAR, and I imagine it can also occur via interactions with different expansions.

We applied the following "rules":
a) The abbot can be placed on the monastery already owned by the same player. It makes no difference who owns the monastery.
b) The abbot can be recovered (as usual, at the end of a normal turn where no other follower has been placed) and the appropriate points are scored. The original follower stays on the monastery and scores upon full enclosure or game completion. Thus, the same player can obtain points for the same monastery twice.
c) If the game ends with both followers on the monastery, it is only counted once. This follows usual practice for cities, roads, or fields.
d) Same logic as in c): the monastery only scores once.

Did I miss something in the CAR? Otherwise, what are your thoughts?
Title: Re: Abbot and regular meeple on same Monastery
Post by: Meepledrone on January 12, 2020, 12:33:27 PM
Hi Ireneu,

Welcome to the forums. Hope you enjoy browsing all the stuff available...

Regarding your question, I agree with you in how the various scenarios would work... Flying Machines can lead to having several meeples (including abbots) placed on a monastery or on a garden. In this case abbots can benefit from partial scoring even not having the player the majority. When completed (or if incomplete at the end of the game), monasteries and gardens with several meeples would score applying the majority rule.

This is not covered in the official rules but it sounds right based on the current rules. I added some notes to WICA just to reflect this situation. Please check footnotes #10 in The Abbot:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Abbot (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Abbot)

...and footnote #8 in C2 Flying Machines:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier)

...and footnot #9 in C1 Flying Machines:

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier_(1st_edition) (http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Flier_(1st_edition))

Best regards!
Title: Re: Abbot and regular meeple on same Monastery
Post by: Ireneu on January 13, 2020, 09:25:55 AM
Thanks Meepledrone! Hopefully this will help the next players facing the same situation :)
Title: Re: Abbot and regular meeple on same Monastery
Post by: Meepledrone on January 13, 2020, 11:05:43 AM
I faced this situation when designing fan expansion Celestial Events, and actually it happened during play testing as you can see here:

(https://i.imgur.com/fEWf1sE.jpg)

The tile with the solar eclipse causes all meeples in the vicinity to seek refuge in a nearby religious building... Was playing orange and you can see I lost 3 features but took control over my wife's monastery (playing turquoise). She was very happy as you can imagine.  ;)

If you are interested in this fan expansion, here you are:

* The initial discussion

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4389.0 (http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4389.0)

* The C2 version in the Download Area (soon to be updated to incorporate the C1 version too, as included in the Advent Calendar 2019)

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=369 (http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=369)